The fifth largest city in a country of over a billion people, Chengdu rarely sees a moment where there isn’t something happening. More than just a metropolis of businessmen, the city which first gave the world paper currency (the jiao zi in 1023) is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour. Great guide. Safe driver. Sam spoke excellent English. He picked us up at 7.30am to get to the base early. It's 92 acres so a fair bit of walking but Sam took us to all the best places, without a guide you may get lost! He was v informative. By 11.30 it's v crowded, get there early!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Everything you thought it should be. The guide was very good and helpful, covers a big area so a lot of walking was involved.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful experience- good guide, interesting information, fabulous experience getting to be so close to a live Panda. The organization and implementation of getting up close and personal was certainly worth the additional fee.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We certainly enjoyed this tour.
From the drive into the mountains to a tasty Sichuan home cooked meal. Tea sipping. Collecting tea flowers. All Brilliant

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Private Tea-Making Tour of Mengdingshan Tea Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a great night we enjoyed hot pot. The cultural show magical

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The weather was overcast making it dificult to get a view of the Buddah. While this is booked as a full day tour, I was back at the hotel by 3 in the afternoon. I thought it was overpriced for what it was. I do understand that most of the money goes toward the long ride and the driver waiting. There should be some back-up plan if the weather does not cooperate. The tour guide was knowledgeabl but didn't know what to do to compensate for the poor visability

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent - the guide was knowledgeable and friendly, spoke good English and picked me up on time. It's worth starting early since we saw the pandas at their best, before the massive crowds came out.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The whole experience was great. Kevin was fantastic and told us not only of the pandas but also more about Chengdu and China. Your driver was also very good and drove us around savely.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely recommend this tour. Communication was great. They picked us up at our hotel with Enflish speaking guide. Took us to panda reserve, provided tour and facilitated the extra panda interaction. Finished mid-day just as crowds were growing and brought us back to our hotel. Perfect all around!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting day of work. My center guide was very knowledgeable and I learned much about the Pandas. When you volunteer to work, you work! It was a once in a lifetime experience and I was glad that I could help support the Center.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time at the Chengdu Panda Breeding Center. To us, it was the main reason to visit Chengdu and we were not dissapointed. Our tourguide (Kevin) picked us up at the right time, spoke very good English and could explain all that he knew about the panda's and could guide us to all the good spots in the park. Even after the tour he dropped us of at a good spot in Chengdu he recommended. We would certainly recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great experience and our Guide was very knowledgeable. Especially when having very limited time this tour is amazing as the Guide knows exactly where to go to see the pandas. The research base is enormous and we would have easily wasted a couple of hours in the park just by searching for the pandas. All in all it was a wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, it was a very early start and was organised through Samtours. We booked 2 tours through this company with Viator but needed details for our visas and Sam was very helpful so we ended up using his company for the whole week. We were picked up from the airport when we arrived in Chengdu and driven to our hotel. We did this tour and had an excellent guide called Rosa who organised a wheelchair for me at The Terracotta Warriors Museum and took lots of photos of my daughter and me. We also used Samtours to do a chengdu City tour including a visit to the panda garden, to do a volunteer day at the Woolong Panda Centre, to visit the Lehsan Giant Buddha, The Chinese Opera and the irrigation system and mountain.Samtours also took us back to the airport when we returned home. We had the same driver all week Mr Cheung who was an excellent driver and we always felt safe with him even though Chengdu is very busy. We had excellent tour guides all week. I would like t say a big thank you to Sam, Mr Cheung, Lilleth, Andy, Rosa, and Carol for looking after us and giving us excelent memories of China

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Terracotta Warriors, City Wall Day Trip from Chengdu by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a brilliant day, we helped to look after pandas all day had a lovely lunch and my daughter and me had photos with a 2 year old panda. This tour was organised through Samtours and Sam picked us up from our hotel and looked after us all day at this wonderful place. We used Samtours all week including airport transfers. We had an excellent driver Mr Cheung and Andy, Lilleth, Rosa and Carol were our tour guides. We had a brilliant time in Chengdu with wonderful memories. Thank you Sam

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This entire experience was a bucket list for me, not only did I get to touch a Panda, but I had the chance to feed a few of the Pandas. on the down side to this tour was that I thought I was going to the Chengdu but I was in Wolong, I was nice was because it had way less tourist. You really don't hold a Panda, you sit next to them, but I totally understand, 1 1/2 year old Panda that is some what wild. overall I would do it again because I turned from 33 to a kid again.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Note from Viator: Please note, the itinerary of this tour has changed since this review has been posted. The opportunity to hold a panda is no longer available to ensure the health and well-being of the animals.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message