The fifth largest city in a country of over a billion people, Chengdu rarely sees a moment where there isn’t something happening. More than just a metropolis of businessmen, the city which first gave the world paper currency (the jiao zi in 1023) is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Terribly disappointing experience. We were contacted two days ahead of time to let us know that we could not hold the pandas . Apparently there was a dog flu and this was prohibited. Upon researching, it looked like this had been the case for several months, so I don't understand why we were given such little notice. By then it was too late to try and look for another option, which is probably the exact reason they waited that long.

They talked us into volunteering instead, which was more like paying to do labor. We picked up poop, weeded cages very hard, sweaty work, and really didn't have interaction with pandas at all.

The place they took us to for this tour had very few pandas. It was definitely not the main panda place you read about in Beijing, so that in and of itself was a letdown.

Lastly- there was no actual guide. This was not a tour. We were dropped off and picked up, that was it. A guide from the tour company did not accompany us or even share any info along the drive- he barely spoke English and couldn't even communicate the length of the drive he kept saying one half hour which we took to mean 30 min, and later figured out he must have meant an hour and a half

Considering this was a dream for over a decade, and we flew to China solely for this experience, it couldn't have been more of a heartbreaking letdown.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely loved this! Our guide, Kevin, was a courteous, knowledgeable and friendly companion; he gave us insights which helped us make a return visit the following day (including heading to the quieter parts of the centre). He was also very efficient in making arrangements for the highlight of the tour - meeting a young panda. He cheerfully took photos and amused us with stories and information about the centre and its inhabitants. He also shared much about life in Chengdu.

I can't recommend this tour too highly. Our guide was outstanding - thank you Kevin! And visiting the centre was an amazing, unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic tour. Guide was amazing. She didnt rush us and explained things as we went. Would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the pandas. We even got to see one playing in the water like it was giving itself a bath.
Roger and Kaye
New Zealand

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The whole trip was smooth. A very nice welcoming guide, speaking a very good english and most of all, knowing well the Pandas and the Research Centre. A great souvenir!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We did the option to be made up like the cast, it was great, unbelievable pictures.
Show was entertaining and extremely enjoyable

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Andy picked us up at our hotel and we drove to the hot pot restaurant. We had lots of fun, it was in a beautiful position overlooking the river. Andy helped us choose the different food we were putting in the hot pot and helped us know when they were cooked. After this we went on to the Sichuan culture show. Andy had explained about the show beforehand so we understood what we happening. The show was very colourful and entertaining, a perfect night in Chengdu!

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Tour leader very good. The breeding centre is very interesting, would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour leader and driver very good. very interesting trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic.... we had a brilliant time. Many thanks for the tour.

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely amazing experience. Our guide and driver were both incredibly friendly and polite. We got to spend a lot of time walking through the different exclosures and our guide helped us to take lots of photos. We also opted for the photo with a panda.. I wasn't sure what to expect but everyone involved was very accommodating. My mum and I both had individual photos and photos together. The staff took our cameras for us and were just snapping away the entire time. We also received amazing gift bags for our 'donations' which included framed photos of our panda cuddle, a tshirt and a panda toy which we were not expecting. The tour was also very informative about pandas and their extinction troubles. We arrived at the park at around 8.45 and we left at around 1pm. We probably could have spent more time just watching the Pandas if we had been on our own but the park was definitely starting to fill up with people by that time so it was great that we had been there so early and got such a good look at these amazing animals.
I would highly recommend for anyone who loves pandas or animals.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My guide, Andy, was friendly and spoke excellent English. She was informative and clearly loves her job.
Was picked up in time and going to centre early is best time to enjoy panda watching.
Panda holding was highlight of my trip to China.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Such an amazing tour! It ended up being a private tour for just the two of us, which I hadn't expected. Our guide was very friendly, great about taking us to all the good spots and extremely patient with my photo taking! She set up the panda holding for us which was amazing. So cool to be able to sit next to the panda and take pictures. Loved the breeding center as a whole, would go back in a heart beat! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The opera was very interesting. For VIP, I showed up an hour early to have the costume and makeup done, which was a lot of fun! They offer photo services at an additional fee, and help you pose in traditional dance movements. The opera was a variety hour of different chinese performance acts

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a really great day. Its a long drive out to Leshan from Chengdu but we arrived in plenty of time to beat the big rush of people. Our guide was very friendly and spoke excellent English. The actual trek itself was a little more challenging than I had anticipated, especially going up.. but with a few little breaks it was very manageable. We were very lucky with lines, we barely had to wait at all and our guide said that in peak seasons it can be a 4hr wait to see the buddha.. something people should keep in mind when booking this tour during the popular months. The included lunch was also good… Not the best food I had while in Chengdu, but warm and filling after our big climb. It was a pretty perfect day, my only complaint (and its not an overly big one) is that neither our driver or our guide wore seat belts in the car despite being on a freeway at over 100kms an hour. It made the journey a little nerve wracking, especially considering how insane traffic is in China compared to what were used to at home. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Chengdu

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour. Great guide. Safe driver. Sam spoke excellent English. He picked us up at 7.30am to get to the base early. It's 92 acres so a fair bit of walking but Sam took us to all the best places, without a guide you may get lost! He was v informative. By 11.30 it's v crowded, get there early!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message