The fifth largest city in a country of over a billion people, Chengdu rarely sees a moment where there isn’t something happening. More than just a metropolis of businessmen, the city which first gave the world paper currency (the jiao zi in 1023) is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a must tour you will not be disappointed. Our tour guide was great and we really got our money's worth.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Rodjack Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an amazing experience. To see the pandas up close, playing and eating, was great. Would recommend getting there early in the morning while they are awake and eating. Our guide was Andy and she was fantastic!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

irene m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing tour guide, excellent English and a lot of fun. I ran into some issues on my own, which complicated the tour a bit but they were incredibly gracious and picked me up anyway. Just amazing!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is an expensive day, especially if you have the photo too which I did and would highly recommend, plus much of that cost goes towards the wellbeing of pandas, but it is an amazing once in a lifetime, must-do, experience. cant recommend enough. This day will stay with me forever... but I do love pandas!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Angela R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This is very impressive. For me, it was a 6 hour return journey to get there and back from the hotel, which in retrospect, I'm not sure was absolutely the best use of the limited time I had in Chengdu. having said that it is a UNESCO heritage site and I saw it and did the climb around it. It is very busy there too. I had x 2 full days in Chengdu, and with what i know now, would have done pandas on both days... the Giant Panda reserve and the centre for the cubs the next day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Renee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Just a really cool experience! I opted for the Baby Panda Holding, which as other commentators noted, is only a few minutes, and goes by really quickly. However, the whole trip was really cool, and I was really pleased with the service provider. My initial confirmation called for hotel pickup at 0730... but that didn't happen. Unfortunately, the Chinese gov't canceled the morning appointments unexpectedly they do own the pandas. However, we were rescheduled for the afternoon. My guide ended up dropping me off at the airport. On the way there, my guide and I chatted about Sichuan weather, culture, and norms. It was overall a fantastic exerience.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Margaret O

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Jeli was a very knowledgeable guide who gave us a great overview of the breeding center. We would happily recommend her to anyone who would like to visit this facility using the Viator Tours.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Peter J V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyable!
Have a drink, snack and get a massage while you watch a fun performance.

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

Terry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Kevin was excellent. The best tour guide we had during our 18 day China vacation.
Highly recommend him!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

mliu01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is expensive but worth it! It gave my daughter and I opportunity to get close to the pandas. We had great fun feeding them...even cleaning the poop in the cage.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Stella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great morning visiting the Panda Centre with Andi. Something you must do when you visit Chengdu. If you go early you can still avoid the crowds. Andi was great to talk to and gave me a better understanding of life in Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

marcella.martinez9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The baby panda holding was the best! I regret not doing the two day volunteer program.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

MATTHEW H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour itself was great, guide spoke very good English and knew a lot about the pandas. The holding of the panda as others have said is quite short, but a very unique experience and well worth it. One thing that is not clearly noted is that the tour to hold the panda is at a research center that is different from the main panda base, so there are only about 6 pandas and 1 red panda on site. Still get great photos and access but description should be more clear on the location. Overall had a wonderful experience and would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Martin S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Any experience not to be missed. The facility is developing well but the process and managing volunteers still needs to be improved. In addition a better transportation option of getting from Chengdu needs to be established. Perhaps train and then private car would be much more efficient and faster.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended. Jeli was a fantastic tour guide who was very fun and helpful. She taught me a lot about the pandas and made the whole trip an even nicer experience.

The experience of holding the panda was extremely quick and rushed, but a great moment nonetheless. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Vladimir C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had time to do both to sail to the Buddha and to walk to it. The second is more interesting.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Yuk Wah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A must for everyone visiting Chengdu! Our guide tour was lovely and happily answered any questions we had.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

phillip s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was met by Jeli my guide and companion for the evening. Jeli led me through the options for the famous Sichuan hotpot. The meal was very good and she was lovely company. Afterwards we walked around the park to the Chengdu Opera. I enjoyed the show and was then returned to my hotel A wonderful start to my short stay in Chengdu

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

Peter J V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth it! Guide was helpful, friendly and knowledgable.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

phillip s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was met by my guide the wonderful Jeli from samtour and our driver. We drove to leshan. I chose to take the boat to the Buddha. The boat only spends about 5 mins in front of the Buddha but that was enough for a great view and some nice pictures. Aftrewards we had a very tasty lunch in a leshan restaurant. All in all another pleasant day compliments of viator and samtour

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Barbara K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was outstanding. Most people go to Chengdu for the pandas, which of course are must-see, but this tour got us out of the city into the nearby mountain areas. What a nice change of pace to get out of the city and into the countryside and farmland.
Lillian, our guide, spoke excellent English. She notified the hotel she was coming and picked us up in the lobby. Our driver was friendly, car was clean and comfortable with strong a/c. Lillian and driver provided so much information cultural and historical about the beautiful area.
The irrigation system is awesome! Quite an engineering feat from over 2000 years ago. So strong the 2007 earthquake didn't damage it. You can walk or ride the tram. Cross the river on a suspension bridge to see the Dao temple and choose to climb the surrounding trails.
Lunch at a local restaurant was delicious and the beer was COLD!.
Qingcheng Mountain was lovely. We took a tram, then a short walk to a short boat ride to a gondola. Then started to climb. The climb was steep at times, mostly on stairs with several flat areas to stop and rest. There were several young Chinese women doing the trek in platform spike heels! Very few handrails but steps were never too narrow or close to drop-off to be uncomfortable or scary. To avoid the climb you could choose to be carried in a sling for a nominal fee. The view from the top was stunning!
Clean western toilets in both locations.

Doing what: Qingcheng Mountain and Dujiangyan Irrigation System Day Trip from Chengdu

BA pwd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

what a fantastic day - up close to the pandas! Not too many people, so perfect for those also to the pandas experiences, feeding them by hand etc. The work programme was pretty relaxed and low energy if you wanted - broke the day up nicely, great lunch in the workers canteen, excellent food! Overall a real highlight of our China/Tibet trip and highly recommended. our guide was a star, spoke excellent English and very helpful and knowledge able etc.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

DONNA B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was lovely and her English was great.
The reserve was fantastic and it was lovely to see red pandas as well as giant pandas. There were lots of pandas in different enclosures and we could have spent all day watching them! They were soooo cute.
I added on the panda holding which was expensive but with less than 3000 pandas remaining I was happy to pay that. I had read other reviews so I knew that the holding did not last long - it literally lasted 30 seconds! The woman overseeing the holding was really rude and after 30 seconds she would screech 'Next' continuously until the next person positioned themselves beside the panda. I'm so pleased that I did it but it would be nice if you at least got a minute with the panda given the cost of the holding. You need to have someone there to take photos of you as the reserve staff do not do it. Also it is not actually panda holding - you sit beside the panda on a bench chair.
Overall I would recommend this to panda lovers as the pandas are adorable!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

BA pwd

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very busy day, started at 0530 drive to airport and ended at 2200 returning to the hotel in Chengdu but thoroughly enjoyable and well worth the long day. We had our own guide and driver she was great, learnt the fascinating history of the Emperor Xin, the Terracotta warriors story etc. Excellent experience. Good local lunch. Overall, excellent trip and well organised - for one of those, just have to, trips!

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Terracotta Warriors, City Wall Day Trip from Chengdu by Air

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message