• USD ($)
  • English
The fifth largest city in a country of over a billion people, Chengdu rarely sees a moment where there isn’t something happening. More than just a metropolis of businessmen, the city which first gave the world paper currency (the jiao zi in 1023) is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Awesome experience. If you want to be able to get behind the scenes and feed Pandas, prepare their bamboo food, clean up their enclosures, a volunteer day is a great way to do it. My English speaking tour guide picked me up at my hotel in the morning. It's roughly a 2 hour drive from Chengdu. When we arrived we walked around viewing Pandas for a little while before I put in the overalls and gloves and reported for 'duty'. There were 6 volunteers that day and we got bamboo ready to feed them, swept and mopped up, then it was time to take turns feeding one of the Pandas. Then I had free time for the guide to show me around the facility to view other Pandas in their enclosures. Periodically during the day I went back for more duties and feeding Pandas. Had a delicious lunch with my guide and driver across the road (with free wifi too). Whilst I would have loved to have taken a photo holding a Panda, the cost was too much for my budget. As a volunteer I was able to take as many photos as I wanted while they were being fed and feeling their warm breath on my hand while feeding them and hearing their sounds of contentment when eating the food - especially apples being their favourite was such a special experience I will treasure.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Volunteer at Panda Breeding Center with Optional Panda Holding

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

It was great spending time up close with the panda, but I wouldn't really call this a volunteering experience. Also the guide provided was not very knowledgeable or needed really, as the panda centre provide their own guide. I wouldn't recommend this, tour to other especially considering the price

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Volunteer at Panda Breeding Center with Optional Panda Holding

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was an excellent tour and the guide was great very chatty and loads of information .

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The trip was fantastic, started with a small hickup caused by very late booking, but even that was sorted out very quickly. Great guide and amazing place to see.

Doing what: Qingcheng Mountain and Dujiangyan Irrigation System Day Trip from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The breeding centre was excellent, a must do in Cheng Du. Viator's customer service was spot on and the tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I was disappointed that I wasn't able to visit Mt. Emei while in the area but found this tour and was impressed!

First of all, I did not realize that this was a personal tour. All the other trips I've taken on Viator.com are with a big group. Not for this one, just you and the guide! My guide was nice and fun, which is good since just the two of us spent the whole day together.

The irrigation system was okay, a bit crowded by the color of the water was beautiful and the bridge to see right by the entrance was neat. I like the swinging bridges, would have liked to go to the temple across the longer swinging bridge but we didn't have time, too far of a walk.

The Qingcheng Mountain was great!! First of all, it's quite the adventure to get up there: you do a hike, then a (really smooth, short) boat ride and then a gondola ride to the top! (Be prepared, you'll have to pay for these tickets extra when you get there but it's very cheap and would take you hours to walk it so this is much more fun and practical way of doing it. And don't worry, still plenty of hiking and good exercise on this excursion!) There are plenty of interesting things to do on the way up, like see the temples or eat lunch at the monastery (the best Kung Pao chicken I had in China!) One very special moment for me was there is a "lock wall" where you can buy a lock and engrave it and leave it, very fun, cheap and quick to do and a lasting memory leaving my mark on the mountain forever. Lots of great opportunities for good shots on this excursion (I travel to take pics so that was the most important thing for me.)

The one thing I'd recommend is to bring warmer clothing for the top, you're in the clouds and it gets cold. I forgot mine back at the hotel and survived but was a bit chilly, my own fault.

Doing what: Qingcheng Mountain and Dujiangyan Irrigation System Day Trip from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I was disappointed that I wasn't able to visit Mt. Emei while in the area but found this tour and was impressed!

First of all, I did not realize that this was a personal tour. All the other trips I've taken on Viator.com are with a big group. Not for this one, just you and the guide! My guide was nice and fun, which is good since just the two of us spent the whole day together.

The irrigation system was okay, a bit crowded by the color of the water was beautiful and the bridge to see right by the entrance was neat. I like the swinging bridges, would have liked to go to the temple across the longer swinging bridge but we didn't have time, too far of a walk.

The Qingcheng Mountain was great!! First of all, it's quite the adventure to get up there: you do a hike, then a (really smooth, short) boat ride and then a gondola ride to the top! (Be prepared, you'll have to pay for these tickets extra when you get there but it's very cheap and would take you hours to walk it so this is much more fun and practical way of doing it. And don't worry, still plenty of hiking and good exercise on this excursion!) There are plenty of interesting things to do on the way up, like see the temples or eat lunch at the monastery (the best Kung Pao chicken I had in China!) One very special moment for me was there is a "lock wall" where you can buy a lock and engrave it and leave it, very fun, cheap and quick to do and a lasting memory leaving my mark on the mountain forever. Lots of great opportunities for good shots on this excursion (I travel to take pics so that was the most important thing for me.)

The one thing I'd recommend is to bring warmer clothing for the top, you're in the clouds and it gets cold. I forgot mine back at the hotel and survived but was a bit chilly, my own fault.

Doing what: Qingcheng Mountain and Dujiangyan Irrigation System Day Trip from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful tour guide, comfortable cars, safe drivers. Probably the best escorted tour I've been on. The guide was knowledgeable, helpful, went out of her way to make sure I didn't miss anything, but also gave me time to myself and quiet time in the car to relax during a longer drive. Excellent.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I made a mistake of booking at the wrong date, a day later, I got mixed up with the dates. I didn't even realized I booked the wrong date just when I was waiting for pick up and I called them to ask why they weren't there that I realized I booked it a day after. I was so nervous but with no questions asked, they immediately had someone picked us up and the tour guide was there already too. Very accommodating. I was there for one day only so I couldn't afford to miss the tour. Thanks to people of Viator my one day vacation in Chengdu was a success! Everything was perfect. The tour guide Ms. GREEN was so nice and knowledgeable. The trip was absolutely perfect. I don't think there's any other tour company comparable to the greatness of Viator tours. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wow! Loved the tour and our picture with the panda! Had a terrific tour guide :) Lunch and the town we went to on the way back was great as well.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I could not ask for anything else. I was picked up on time by my guide and driver. They were very nice people, I had an amazing time. It was pricy but since it was a dream of mine, it was worth it every penny.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic day - wonderful access to the pandas but no one would answer my question of why they are breeding all of these pandas in captivity with no viable plans of releasing them back to the wild.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Volunteer at Panda Breeding Center with Optional Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A most awesome experience. My picture with the Panda was worth every dime. Lilian, my tour guide was excellent. She offered to take me hiking in the park, but I didn't have hiking shoes. If you like walking, take proper shoes so you don 't miss out on this opportunity. Lunch was yummy too.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message