The fifth largest city in a country of over a billion people, Chengdu rarely sees a moment where there isn’t something happening. More than just a metropolis of businessmen, the city which first gave the world paper currency (the jiao zi in 1023) is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 106 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic.... we had a brilliant time. Many thanks for the tour.

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely amazing experience. Our guide and driver were both incredibly friendly and polite. We got to spend a lot of time walking through the different exclosures and our guide helped us to take lots of photos. We also opted for the photo with a panda.. I wasn't sure what to expect but everyone involved was very accommodating. My mum and I both had individual photos and photos together. The staff took our cameras for us and were just snapping away the entire time. We also received amazing gift bags for our 'donations' which included framed photos of our panda cuddle, a tshirt and a panda toy which we were not expecting. The tour was also very informative about pandas and their extinction troubles. We arrived at the park at around 8.45 and we left at around 1pm. We probably could have spent more time just watching the Pandas if we had been on our own but the park was definitely starting to fill up with people by that time so it was great that we had been there so early and got such a good look at these amazing animals.
I would highly recommend for anyone who loves pandas or animals.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The opera was very interesting. For VIP, I showed up an hour early to have the costume and makeup done, which was a lot of fun! They offer photo services at an additional fee, and help you pose in traditional dance movements. The opera was a variety hour of different chinese performance acts

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a really great day. Its a long drive out to Leshan from Chengdu but we arrived in plenty of time to beat the big rush of people. Our guide was very friendly and spoke excellent English. The actual trek itself was a little more challenging than I had anticipated, especially going up.. but with a few little breaks it was very manageable. We were very lucky with lines, we barely had to wait at all and our guide said that in peak seasons it can be a 4hr wait to see the buddha.. something people should keep in mind when booking this tour during the popular months. The included lunch was also good… Not the best food I had while in Chengdu, but warm and filling after our big climb. It was a pretty perfect day, my only complaint (and its not an overly big one) is that neither our driver or our guide wore seat belts in the car despite being on a freeway at over 100kms an hour. It made the journey a little nerve wracking, especially considering how insane traffic is in China compared to what were used to at home. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Chengdu

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour. Great guide. Safe driver. Sam spoke excellent English. He picked us up at 7.30am to get to the base early. It's 92 acres so a fair bit of walking but Sam took us to all the best places, without a guide you may get lost! He was v informative. By 11.30 it's v crowded, get there early!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Everything you thought it should be. The guide was very good and helpful, covers a big area so a lot of walking was involved.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful experience- good guide, interesting information, fabulous experience getting to be so close to a live Panda. The organization and implementation of getting up close and personal was certainly worth the additional fee.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We certainly enjoyed this tour.
From the drive into the mountains to a tasty Sichuan home cooked meal. Tea sipping. Collecting tea flowers. All Brilliant

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Private Tea-Making Tour of Mengdingshan Tea Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a great night we enjoyed hot pot. The cultural show magical

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The weather was overcast making it dificult to get a view of the Buddah. While this is booked as a full day tour, I was back at the hotel by 3 in the afternoon. I thought it was overpriced for what it was. I do understand that most of the money goes toward the long ride and the driver waiting. There should be some back-up plan if the weather does not cooperate. The tour guide was knowledgeabl but didn't know what to do to compensate for the poor visability

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent - the guide was knowledgeable and friendly, spoke good English and picked me up on time. It's worth starting early since we saw the pandas at their best, before the massive crowds came out.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The whole experience was great. Kevin was fantastic and told us not only of the pandas but also more about Chengdu and China. Your driver was also very good and drove us around savely.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely recommend this tour. Communication was great. They picked us up at our hotel with Enflish speaking guide. Took us to panda reserve, provided tour and facilitated the extra panda interaction. Finished mid-day just as crowds were growing and brought us back to our hotel. Perfect all around!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting day of work. My center guide was very knowledgeable and I learned much about the Pandas. When you volunteer to work, you work! It was a once in a lifetime experience and I was glad that I could help support the Center.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time at the Chengdu Panda Breeding Center. To us, it was the main reason to visit Chengdu and we were not dissapointed. Our tourguide (Kevin) picked us up at the right time, spoke very good English and could explain all that he knew about the panda's and could guide us to all the good spots in the park. Even after the tour he dropped us of at a good spot in Chengdu he recommended. We would certainly recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message