The fifth largest city in a country of over a billion people, Chengdu rarely sees a moment where there isn’t something happening. More than just a metropolis of businessmen, the city which first gave the world paper currency (the jiao zi in 1023) is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This entire experience was a bucket list for me, not only did I get to touch a Panda, but I had the chance to feed a few of the Pandas. on the down side to this tour was that I thought I was going to the Chengdu but I was in Wolong, I was nice was because it had way less tourist. You really don't hold a Panda, you sit next to them, but I totally understand, 1 1/2 year old Panda that is some what wild. overall I would do it again because I turned from 33 to a kid again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Volunteer at Panda Breeding Center with Optional Panda Holding

Note from Viator: Please note, the itinerary of this tour has changed since this review has been posted. The opportunity to hold a panda is no longer available to ensure the health and well-being of the animals.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Volunteering to work around the Panda's for a day was a magical experience. If you are looking for something different than the typical visit to the research center, don't hesitate to book the volunteer program.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Volunteer at Panda Breeding Center with Optional Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A great experience and a dream trip for a true pandaphile. My guide picked me up right on time at my hotel and we arrived at the center well before the crowds. The center was beautiful -- a Ritz Carlton for pandas -- in a lush, bamboo forested setting. My guide (Kevin) was friendly, but not overbearing, and I really enjoyed my tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great and our guide clearly knew how and where to get the best views. He was a great character and set out from the beginning to have fun with us and get us the best Panda viewings

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent experience for me and my wife. We absolutely love pandas. We had a chance to feed the pandas two different times and spend a lot of close up time with them. The panda holding was something we will remember for the rest of our lives. The whole experience was unrushed and was exclusive the day we were there. My wife is already talking about doing the experience again on a future trip to China.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Volunteer at Panda Breeding Center with Optional Panda Holding

Note from Viator: Please note, the itinerary of this tour has changed since this review has been posted. The opportunity to hold a panda is no longer available to ensure the health and well-being of the animals.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

We really wanted to see Pandas up close and personal and thought there was no better way than to sign up for this 1-day volunteer programme at the Panda Breeding Center. We read the reviews by previous participants before signing up. Our expectations were also somewhat set by what we read. We were picked up promptly at 7.30 am at the hotel by Lilian, our guide. As we speak Mandarin, she was able to offer us lots of information about the pandas and Chengdu. We thought we were going to the Panda Breeding Center just 40 min north of Chengdu but when we were in the car, we were told that it would be a 2.5 hours drive to the breeding center at Bifengxia. Apparently, at the beginning of May, the center near Chengdu stopped accepting volunteers. So essentially, an 8-hour programme has shortened to just 5 hours (3 hours on the roads).

When we arrived at the Breeding Centre, it was past 10 am and Lilian brought us around to see the pandas and told us more about them which was great. We expected that the keepers would be the ones telling us facts about pandas but they did not. I don't think they were expected to. At 11 am, we were brought behind the scenes. We expected to be able to prepare panda food and clean the enclosures as this was the impression given to us by past reviews. However, all we did was cut a piece of panda cake which was pre-made. We then fed a panda which was in a cage the panda cake and a carrot. We did this again at 2 pm. That was all we did for our volunteer work. We were told that there were too many volunteers and the enclosures were already cleaned early in the morning so there was nothing else for us to do. We asked to see the panda cubs up close but were told that it was not allowed as they have weak immunity at a young age. While we appreciated being able to see pandas up close but there was no other interaction allowed. We felt that this experience was a let down for the amount we paid. We don't think the center needs any volunteers.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Volunteer at Panda Breeding Center with Optional Panda Holding

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback, and we apologize for the inconvenience that was caused during this tour. We are working with our local supplier in Chengdu to create a better panda volunteer program as the local panda centers have recent limited availability and opportunities for visitors to volunteer. We appreciate your review and thank you for being a Viator customer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had an amazing time in Leshan. Our guide, Andy, taught us so much and made it a great day. Lunch in the village was fantastic too.
Thank you!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Seeing the Pandas was a once in a lifetime day. Our guide, Andy, was very informative and helped us have a great day.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Booked from the UK before we left, this visit was added to a different two week tour with another provider and it worked perfectly. The guide, a Panda Research Centre employee, met us at our hotel 10 minutes early, we picked up the only other couple on our tour and arrived at the Panda Research Centre ahead of the crowds. Our guide was enthusiastic, very informative and well worth the price for the trip. We had ample time to visit all the available viewing sites and he even arranged for us to meet up with our "parent" tour group who were on a locally arranged visit. It wasn't till we compared notes afterwards that we discovered what good value the Viator visit was! And, of course, the Pandas were captivating - busy eating and playing happily. We would recommend this visit to anyone lucky enough to be in Chengdu during a China holiday, but do go early - Pandas are morning creatures!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything was truly amazing, from my tour guide Andie (she's awesome; request her if you can, and tip her well, she's a wealth of knowledge and really sweet, with a very good command of English) to Sam, who ensured I got the airport on time after the tour. It seems pricey up front, but if you are a fan of pandas, this will be something you remember for the rest of your life. Can't recommend this highly enough.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting tour and good tour guide. Had a nice lunch in between sites. Thought the extra payment for transport $4 and the tram fare $13 could have been built into the tour fee.

Doing what: Qingcheng Mountain and Dujiangyan Irrigation System Day Trip from Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We had a great time, our guide was great. Loads of knowledge about pandas and weary accommodating and friendly. We were really happy with the smooth pick up and drop off from our hotel and thoroughly enjoyed or stay. We would highly recommend this for people passing through China, weekend visits if living in China and especially for families.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Great trip! We were picked up on time and Andy, our guide, was very personable and answered all of our questions. I think this trip is a little overpriced as all of it can be done by public transportation much more cheaply but if you are new to China or don't want to go without a guide, I would certainly recommend it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message