The fifth largest city in a country of over a billion people, Chengdu rarely sees a moment where there isn’t something happening. More than just a metropolis of businessmen, the city which first gave the world paper currency (the jiao zi in 1023) is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A must for everyone visiting Chengdu! Our guide tour was lovely and happily answered any questions we had.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was met by Jeli my guide and companion for the evening. Jeli led me through the options for the famous Sichuan hotpot. The meal was very good and she was lovely company. Afterwards we walked around the park to the Chengdu Opera. I enjoyed the show and was then returned to my hotel A wonderful start to my short stay in Chengdu

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth it! Guide was helpful, friendly and knowledgable.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was met by my guide the wonderful Jeli from samtour and our driver. We drove to leshan. I chose to take the boat to the Buddha. The boat only spends about 5 mins in front of the Buddha but that was enough for a great view and some nice pictures. Aftrewards we had a very tasty lunch in a leshan restaurant. All in all another pleasant day compliments of viator and samtour

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was outstanding. Most people go to Chengdu for the pandas, which of course are must-see, but this tour got us out of the city into the nearby mountain areas. What a nice change of pace to get out of the city and into the countryside and farmland.
Lillian, our guide, spoke excellent English. She notified the hotel she was coming and picked us up in the lobby. Our driver was friendly, car was clean and comfortable with strong a/c. Lillian and driver provided so much information cultural and historical about the beautiful area.
The irrigation system is awesome! Quite an engineering feat from over 2000 years ago. So strong the 2007 earthquake didn't damage it. You can walk or ride the tram. Cross the river on a suspension bridge to see the Dao temple and choose to climb the surrounding trails.
Lunch at a local restaurant was delicious and the beer was COLD!.
Qingcheng Mountain was lovely. We took a tram, then a short walk to a short boat ride to a gondola. Then started to climb. The climb was steep at times, mostly on stairs with several flat areas to stop and rest. There were several young Chinese women doing the trek in platform spike heels! Very few handrails but steps were never too narrow or close to drop-off to be uncomfortable or scary. To avoid the climb you could choose to be carried in a sling for a nominal fee. The view from the top was stunning!
Clean western toilets in both locations.

Doing what: Qingcheng Mountain and Dujiangyan Irrigation System Day Trip from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

what a fantastic day - up close to the pandas! Not too many people, so perfect for those also to the pandas experiences, feeding them by hand etc. The work programme was pretty relaxed and low energy if you wanted - broke the day up nicely, great lunch in the workers canteen, excellent food! Overall a real highlight of our China/Tibet trip and highly recommended. our guide was a star, spoke excellent English and very helpful and knowledge able etc.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was lovely and her English was great.
The reserve was fantastic and it was lovely to see red pandas as well as giant pandas. There were lots of pandas in different enclosures and we could have spent all day watching them! They were soooo cute.
I added on the panda holding which was expensive but with less than 3000 pandas remaining I was happy to pay that. I had read other reviews so I knew that the holding did not last long - it literally lasted 30 seconds! The woman overseeing the holding was really rude and after 30 seconds she would screech 'Next' continuously until the next person positioned themselves beside the panda. I'm so pleased that I did it but it would be nice if you at least got a minute with the panda given the cost of the holding. You need to have someone there to take photos of you as the reserve staff do not do it. Also it is not actually panda holding - you sit beside the panda on a bench chair.
Overall I would recommend this to panda lovers as the pandas are adorable!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very busy day, started at 0530 drive to airport and ended at 2200 returning to the hotel in Chengdu but thoroughly enjoyable and well worth the long day. We had our own guide and driver she was great, learnt the fascinating history of the Emperor Xin, the Terracotta warriors story etc. Excellent experience. Good local lunch. Overall, excellent trip and well organised - for one of those, just have to, trips!

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Terracotta Warriors, City Wall Day Trip from Chengdu by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great experience and great tour. Expensive but in the end, worth every penny. Picked us up on time in the morning from hotel in a clean spacious car. We went to a panda center about 1.5 hours away which is not open to general public. Only organized tours. In 8 hours, maybe only saw another 30 tourists. No crowds but tons of pandas. We got to clean the cage a little, feed pandas, walked around and ate lunch with the local workers. The best thing was we paid the additional RMB 1,800 for our kid to sit with panda. The panda even looked over and put his paw on her at one point. Amazing. Such a wonderful day.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The food was great the show was great. I wish our tour guide would've explained more about what we were eating and what was going on with the show/performances.

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Really good tour saw lots of pandas, great guide to show us round. Paid about £300 each which included time to get photos with a panda. The only disappointing thing was the photo time was very rushed. Must be a way to get photos without rushing when paying a lot. Great email service from the tour company.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Redeemed the coupons for tickets without too much trouble as I speak Chinese, but I have no idea how others would have known to go to the shopping complex across the street from the park, and then to a desk in the back. As for the show, it was extremely loud too loud! and while the face changing and fire breathing at the very end were fun, there was an awful lot of non-opera felt like a US variety show in the 1940s -- slapstick, bad jokes, overall silliness -- but the audience clearly loved it! Worth every penny if you want to experience today's China..

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Redeemed the coupons for tickets without too much trouble as I speak Chinese, but I have no idea how others would have known to go to the shopping complex across the street from the park, and then to a desk in the back. As for the show, it was extremely loud too loud! and while the face changing and fire breathing at the very end were fun, there was an awful lot of non-opera felt like a US variety show in the 1940s -- slapstick, bad jokes, overall silliness -- but the audience clearly loved it! Worth every penny if you want to experience today's China..

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Terribly disappointing experience. We were contacted two days ahead of time to let us know that we could not hold the pandas . Apparently there was a dog flu and this was prohibited. Upon researching, it looked like this had been the case for several months, so I don't understand why we were given such little notice. By then it was too late to try and look for another option, which is probably the exact reason they waited that long.

They talked us into volunteering instead, which was more like paying to do labor. We picked up poop, weeded cages very hard, sweaty work, and really didn't have interaction with pandas at all.

The place they took us to for this tour had very few pandas. It was definitely not the main panda place you read about in Beijing, so that in and of itself was a letdown.

Lastly- there was no actual guide. This was not a tour. We were dropped off and picked up, that was it. A guide from the tour company did not accompany us or even share any info along the drive- he barely spoke English and couldn't even communicate the length of the drive he kept saying one half hour which we took to mean 30 min, and later figured out he must have meant an hour and a half

Considering this was a dream for over a decade, and we flew to China solely for this experience, it couldn't have been more of a heartbreaking letdown.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely loved this! Our guide, Kevin, was a courteous, knowledgeable and friendly companion; he gave us insights which helped us make a return visit the following day (including heading to the quieter parts of the centre). He was also very efficient in making arrangements for the highlight of the tour - meeting a young panda. He cheerfully took photos and amused us with stories and information about the centre and its inhabitants. He also shared much about life in Chengdu.

I can't recommend this tour too highly. Our guide was outstanding - thank you Kevin! And visiting the centre was an amazing, unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic tour. Guide was amazing. She didnt rush us and explained things as we went. Would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the pandas. We even got to see one playing in the water like it was giving itself a bath.
Roger and Kaye
New Zealand

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The whole trip was smooth. A very nice welcoming guide, speaking a very good english and most of all, knowing well the Pandas and the Research Centre. A great souvenir!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We did the option to be made up like the cast, it was great, unbelievable pictures.
Show was entertaining and extremely enjoyable

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Andy picked us up at our hotel and we drove to the hot pot restaurant. We had lots of fun, it was in a beautiful position overlooking the river. Andy helped us choose the different food we were putting in the hot pot and helped us know when they were cooked. After this we went on to the Sichuan culture show. Andy had explained about the show beforehand so we understood what we happening. The show was very colourful and entertaining, a perfect night in Chengdu!

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Tour leader very good. The breeding centre is very interesting, would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour leader and driver very good. very interesting trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic.... we had a brilliant time. Many thanks for the tour.

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely amazing experience. Our guide and driver were both incredibly friendly and polite. We got to spend a lot of time walking through the different exclosures and our guide helped us to take lots of photos. We also opted for the photo with a panda.. I wasn't sure what to expect but everyone involved was very accommodating. My mum and I both had individual photos and photos together. The staff took our cameras for us and were just snapping away the entire time. We also received amazing gift bags for our 'donations' which included framed photos of our panda cuddle, a tshirt and a panda toy which we were not expecting. The tour was also very informative about pandas and their extinction troubles. We arrived at the park at around 8.45 and we left at around 1pm. We probably could have spent more time just watching the Pandas if we had been on our own but the park was definitely starting to fill up with people by that time so it was great that we had been there so early and got such a good look at these amazing animals.
I would highly recommend for anyone who loves pandas or animals.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message