The fifth largest city in a country of over a billion people, Chengdu rarely sees a moment where there isn’t something happening. More than just a metropolis of businessmen, the city which first gave the world paper currency (the jiao zi in 1023) is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 154 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicola T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Superb tour with an excellent guide who was very knowledgeable about the pandas and the centre and allowed us as much time as we wanted to enjoy the pandas. Car used was high quality - overall would highly recommend.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing five start experience and family friendly. The staff were helpful and knowledgable, worth every penny! Def do the photo with a panda portion -- the absolute best!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Derek G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great day out. Its still hard to grasp the scale after seeing it. Great food included too

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Derek G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow, you get so close. Brillant place to visit.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

steaders

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Firstly our guide 'Coral' was excellent, very friendly, spoke good English and the driver was first class especially with the traffic and 'non existent rules of the road it would appear'. The journey to Lesham takes about 2 hours and Coral gave us an excellent commentary during this journey. Unfortunately the weather was dreadful, luckily had umbrella with us. On arrival the crowds were everywhere, good job did not arrive in height of season. Throughout the visit to the Buddha, Coral gave a good history and explanation and we had a laugh. The wait to walk down the Buddha and up again was around 2 hours so we declined due to the weather conditions but Coral made up for this with her commentary. The lunch was superb. One observation perhaps to improve this visit is to climb up and be given the commentary and visit the temples then proceed to the 'boat option' rather than waiting up to 2 hours to fully view the statue then followed by the lunch, that way everybody would see everything. The return journey to the hotel took again another 2 hours so a very full day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Keith C Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Really great experience with up and close experience with one year old Panda. Great facilities at venue and a change from the hustle and bustle of Chengdu. Tour guide Jenny and driver Kevin spoke very good English and well extremely pleasant and helpful. 'Well done guys'.

Would recommend this tour, but Panda close encounter not cheap photo session around 30 seconds

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

MARTIN S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour with a good English speaking tour guide, Jessica. Pandas are amazing creatures and we learn a great deal about them from Jessica. Unfortunately, it rained near the end of the tour. Never the less, we had a great time.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Keith C Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour with plenty of time to visit the breeding centre and museum. Andy, the tour guide very knowledgeable and pleasant and made the day enjoyable. A must to go early to the breeding centre if you want to see the panda's active.

Doing what: Chengdu Full-Day Tour: Panda Breeding Center and Sanxingdui Museum

Wolfgang K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

perfect organized tour with excellent tour guide.
thank you very much

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

waferworld USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful day and best tour guide and driver we could have, worth everyminute and dollar

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a must tour you will not be disappointed. Our tour guide was great and we really got our money's worth.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Rodjack Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an amazing experience. To see the pandas up close, playing and eating, was great. Would recommend getting there early in the morning while they are awake and eating. Our guide was Andy and she was fantastic!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

irene m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing tour guide, excellent English and a lot of fun. I ran into some issues on my own, which complicated the tour a bit but they were incredibly gracious and picked me up anyway. Just amazing!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is an expensive day, especially if you have the photo too which I did and would highly recommend, plus much of that cost goes towards the wellbeing of pandas, but it is an amazing once in a lifetime, must-do, experience. cant recommend enough. This day will stay with me forever... but I do love pandas!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Angela R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This is very impressive. For me, it was a 6 hour return journey to get there and back from the hotel, which in retrospect, I'm not sure was absolutely the best use of the limited time I had in Chengdu. having said that it is a UNESCO heritage site and I saw it and did the climb around it. It is very busy there too. I had x 2 full days in Chengdu, and with what i know now, would have done pandas on both days... the Giant Panda reserve and the centre for the cubs the next day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Renee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Just a really cool experience! I opted for the Baby Panda Holding, which as other commentators noted, is only a few minutes, and goes by really quickly. However, the whole trip was really cool, and I was really pleased with the service provider. My initial confirmation called for hotel pickup at 0730... but that didn't happen. Unfortunately, the Chinese gov't canceled the morning appointments unexpectedly they do own the pandas. However, we were rescheduled for the afternoon. My guide ended up dropping me off at the airport. On the way there, my guide and I chatted about Sichuan weather, culture, and norms. It was overall a fantastic exerience.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Margaret O

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Jeli was a very knowledgeable guide who gave us a great overview of the breeding center. We would happily recommend her to anyone who would like to visit this facility using the Viator Tours.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Peter J V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyable!
Have a drink, snack and get a massage while you watch a fun performance.

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

Terry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Kevin was excellent. The best tour guide we had during our 18 day China vacation.
Highly recommend him!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

mliu01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is expensive but worth it! It gave my daughter and I opportunity to get close to the pandas. We had great fun feeding them...even cleaning the poop in the cage.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Stella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great morning visiting the Panda Centre with Andi. Something you must do when you visit Chengdu. If you go early you can still avoid the crowds. Andi was great to talk to and gave me a better understanding of life in Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

marcella.martinez9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The baby panda holding was the best! I regret not doing the two day volunteer program.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

MATTHEW H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour itself was great, guide spoke very good English and knew a lot about the pandas. The holding of the panda as others have said is quite short, but a very unique experience and well worth it. One thing that is not clearly noted is that the tour to hold the panda is at a research center that is different from the main panda base, so there are only about 6 pandas and 1 red panda on site. Still get great photos and access but description should be more clear on the location. Overall had a wonderful experience and would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Martin S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Any experience not to be missed. The facility is developing well but the process and managing volunteers still needs to be improved. In addition a better transportation option of getting from Chengdu needs to be established. Perhaps train and then private car would be much more efficient and faster.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended. Jeli was a fantastic tour guide who was very fun and helpful. She taught me a lot about the pandas and made the whole trip an even nicer experience.

The experience of holding the panda was extremely quick and rushed, but a great moment nonetheless. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message