Though Sichuan is famously known for its spicy and flavorful cuisine, when it comes to arts and culture it’s the opera that usually ends up stealing the show. Just as visitors must spend one day in Chengdu seeing the giant pandas, so too must a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was met by Jeli my guide and companion for the evening. Jeli led me through the options for the famous Sichuan hotpot. The meal was very good and she was lovely company. Afterwards we walked around the park to the Chengdu Opera. I enjoyed the show and was then returned to my hotel A wonderful start to my short stay in Chengdu

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The food was great the show was great. I wish our tour guide would've explained more about what we were eating and what was going on with the show/performances.

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Redeemed the coupons for tickets without too much trouble as I speak Chinese, but I have no idea how others would have known to go to the shopping complex across the street from the park, and then to a desk in the back. As for the show, it was extremely loud too loud! and while the face changing and fire breathing at the very end were fun, there was an awful lot of non-opera felt like a US variety show in the 1940s -- slapstick, bad jokes, overall silliness -- but the audience clearly loved it! Worth every penny if you want to experience today's China..

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Redeemed the coupons for tickets without too much trouble as I speak Chinese, but I have no idea how others would have known to go to the shopping complex across the street from the park, and then to a desk in the back. As for the show, it was extremely loud too loud! and while the face changing and fire breathing at the very end were fun, there was an awful lot of non-opera felt like a US variety show in the 1940s -- slapstick, bad jokes, overall silliness -- but the audience clearly loved it! Worth every penny if you want to experience today's China..

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We did the option to be made up like the cast, it was great, unbelievable pictures.
Show was entertaining and extremely enjoyable

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Andy picked us up at our hotel and we drove to the hot pot restaurant. We had lots of fun, it was in a beautiful position overlooking the river. Andy helped us choose the different food we were putting in the hot pot and helped us know when they were cooked. After this we went on to the Sichuan culture show. Andy had explained about the show beforehand so we understood what we happening. The show was very colourful and entertaining, a perfect night in Chengdu!

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic.... we had a brilliant time. Many thanks for the tour.

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The opera was very interesting. For VIP, I showed up an hour early to have the costume and makeup done, which was a lot of fun! They offer photo services at an additional fee, and help you pose in traditional dance movements. The opera was a variety hour of different chinese performance acts

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a great night we enjoyed hot pot. The cultural show magical

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Very nice, even though I didn't know chinese. Face changing, shadow puppets and puppets were my favorite. Food was great and not as greasy as the hot pot I've had in Shanghai

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our guide was really lovely, and most informative on Sichuan lifestyle and culture. Dinner was superb - believe it when they say Sichuan food is spicy! The show had some great acts - the puppets were brilliant, the acrobatics were unbelievable and the final act - well you have to see it for yourself! (Some of the other acts were a bit ordinary though.) Over all a most enjoyable evening, however we thought it a bit strange that the guide AND the driver tucked into dinner with us at our table. On our (many) other tours the guide has sometimes joined us, but never the driver as well. We had been told that our meal was very special and too expensive for local people, so we felt our Viator payment had covered an extra meal.

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message