There arguably is no better or more authentic place in the world to feast on Sichuan (Szechuan) cuisine than in the city of Chengdu. Not only is Chengdu the capital of Sichuan Province and home to its own sub-category of cooking style, but Chengdu ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant
Good english speaking guide
Good humour
Small group
Tasty dishes
Recipies to repeat at home.
I would recommend to friends

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class. I was the only student that day and asked if we could substitute gong pao chicken dish as I had learned to make that previously. The chef was very accommodating and gave me a couple of different options. In the end, we made four different dishes including mapu tofu, twice cooked pork, dandan noodles, and pork ribs with potatoes.

The class was taught at the chef's home with an ayi present to help with the dishes. The chef's English was very good. If you are looking for a fun way to learn more about the local dishes, this is an excellent option and I feel that I could make some of these at home too.

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I've done lots of cooking courses, but none quite like this. The driver picked us up promptly, but didn't speak much if any English. So no real idea where we were headed. We went to a simple but clean guesthouse with cafe. The cooking was all done in the cafe's little kitchen. The dished we cooked were all simple home cooking - nothing complicated. The teacher had a little English, but she had a helper who translated.

If you're looking for a lot of explanation of ingredients or how the flavours fit together, this probably isn't for you. But if you're looking for an idea of what a home cook would do in pleasant and clean surroundings, this is a great experience. The staff were friendly, helpful and it was great fun. The dishes we cooked were Kung Pao Chicken, sweet and sour pork (not the sickly sweet variety, but actually a really good dish), eggplant Sichuan style and pork dumplings. We got the recipes to take home.

Well worth it. M

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I did the morning class. I got picked up on time and taken to a working kitchen in a hostel. Everything was ready and although the chef had limited english, she knew all the necessary words. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Avoid eating breakfast if you do the morning slot, the cooking starts as soon as you get their and you eat each dish as you cook it. Would definetley recommend.

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour! Got picked up at my hotel and taken to a family run cafe! Asked if I could change one of the dishes which they were more then happy to accommodate ... Definitely recommend it if u are a foodie who wants to interact with the locals!

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Very nice, even though I didn't know chinese. Face changing, shadow puppets and puppets were my favorite. Food was great and not as greasy as the hot pot I've had in Shanghai

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our guide was really lovely, and most informative on Sichuan lifestyle and culture. Dinner was superb - believe it when they say Sichuan food is spicy! The show had some great acts - the puppets were brilliant, the acrobatics were unbelievable and the final act - well you have to see it for yourself! (Some of the other acts were a bit ordinary though.) Over all a most enjoyable evening, however we thought it a bit strange that the guide AND the driver tucked into dinner with us at our table. On our (many) other tours the guide has sometimes joined us, but never the driver as well. We had been told that our meal was very special and too expensive for local people, so we felt our Viator payment had covered an extra meal.

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Had a great time and the staff was friendly and full of humor. We went to the market to learn about the food firsthand, then we made delicious versions of typical Sichuan dishes. Thanks!

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

What a fantastic experience! I think I am a qualified Sichuan chef now!

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message