Chennai ATTRACTIONS See all

Kapaleeshwar Temple

Near the San Thome Cathedral in the Tamil Nadu capital of Chennai sits the Kapaleeshwar Temple (spelled Kapaleeshwarar or Kapaleshwar too). The most impressive temple in the city by far, Kapaleeshwar honors the god Shiva with shrines dedicated to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very interesting tour with Akila, the best guide that told us so many things about India and its people. I could have listen to her stories for hours!

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Walking Tour of Mylapore Neighborhood in Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour! Our guide and driver were very attentive and courteous. They even worked it out to pick us up at the port and then drop us off at the airport. We highly recommend using Viatour. They have many options and will work for you from all over the world!

Doing what: Private Tour: Half-Day Chennai Sightseeing with Government Museum and Kapaleeshwar Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent. Both guide and driver were very knowledgeable, spoke good English and made sure we had seen everything on the itinerary and some! Lunch was a great experience with good local vegetarian ingredients. Would recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Chennai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide did an excellent job and told me in details what the fort,the peacock temple and the museum about.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Exceeded expectations. Guide really knew the detail history and his English was great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Such an enriching experience, very well-put together! The stories provided much needed context to the sights and sounds of enchanting Mylapore. Many thanks to our story teller, she made it an thoroughly amazing walk.

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Walking Tour of Mylapore Neighborhood in Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Guide excellent, tour very informative, great value for money

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Walking Tour of Mylapore Neighborhood in Chennai

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Very interesting and informative. The guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. Great tour!!

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Walking Tour of Mylapore Neighborhood in Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This is our 2nd tour with you & Both have been excellent. Very knowledgeable guide with good English. Thank you

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Walking Tour of Mylapore Neighborhood in Chennai

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgeable guides. I enjoyed the storytelling style of the walk. BTW there is notice walking involved. 95 percent of the time is spent on religious sights. I would have preferred a little less of this and more of the day to day people and stories of the area. Despite this still highly recomm

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Walking Tour of Mylapore Neighborhood in Chennai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

After confirming the tour a week in advance, I was disappointed that the driver was not at the hotel to pick us up at 9 a.m., the pre-arranged meeting time. The hotel was wonderful and called the number that had been provided, only to find out that the number belonged to someone in New Delhi. That person gave the hotel another number to call that was based in Chennai, and contacted them to inform them that we were waiting on our driver. The driver then showed up an hour after the initially agreed upon time at 10 a.m.

We went to the Government Museum and our tour guide was terrific although based on her comments it was evident that the tour was put together at the last minute. She was extremely knowledgeable and made the day very enjoyable. Unfortunately, it seemed that neither the driver nor the guide knew the itinerary. After the Government Museum, we went to the Kapaleeshwar Temple, and then to Fort St. George, followed by a late lunch. We were dropped back at the hotel by 3:30 p.m. which was a much shorter day than we had anticipated and paid for. We missed out on the experiences of visiting the Madras High Court, the Ripon Building, and the flower market that had been promised.

I was so disappointed, as this was our only day in Chennai for sightseeing and given my previous experiences with Viator, failed to meet my expectations.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message