Home to many of India’s manufacturing plants and IT companies, Chennai, the country’s fourth largest city, makes a great home base for a handful of excellent excursions in the area. When you’re not day tripping around Tamil Nadu, there’s plenty ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Guide was super friendly and very knowledgeable. Especially good if you don't have much time in Chennai, but want to get a taste of something other than the city itself. We are glad we did it.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Day Trip to Mahabalipuram and Dakshinachitra from Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Just amazing! This tour gets you really close to an authentic Indian food market, colorful and chaotic. Be prepared to a unique experience. Andrew is a very good guide. You cannot leave Chennai without seeing this part of town.

Doing what: Small-Group Bazaar Walking Tour in Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip was excellent. The driver picked us on time. The guide at Pondicherry was very knowledgeable.
Both went above and beyond to give us the best tour possible.
Highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pondicherry Day Trip from Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lovely driver, went above and beyond to make our trip great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pondicherry Day Trip from Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very interesting tour with Akila, the best guide that told us so many things about India and its people. I could have listen to her stories for hours!

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Walking Tour of Mylapore Neighborhood in Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent. Both guide and driver were very knowledgeable, spoke good English and made sure we had seen everything on the itinerary and some! Lunch was a great experience with good local vegetarian ingredients. Would recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Chennai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour! Our guide and driver were very attentive and courteous. They even worked it out to pick us up at the port and then drop us off at the airport. We highly recommend using Viatour. They have many options and will work for you from all over the world!

Doing what: Private Tour: Half-Day Chennai Sightseeing with Government Museum and Kapaleeshwar Temple

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This was very interesting to see, a couple+ hours out of town with good photo ops.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Day Trip to Mahabalipuram and Dakshinachitra from Chennai

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgeable guides. I enjoyed the storytelling style of the walk. BTW there is notice walking involved. 95 percent of the time is spent on religious sights. I would have preferred a little less of this and more of the day to day people and stories of the area. Despite this still highly recomm

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Walking Tour of Mylapore Neighborhood in Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very nice en compete tour! Very nice and friendly guide! Nice restaurant, no problems, thank you!

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Day Trip to Mahabalipuram and Dakshinachitra from Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I enjoyed the visit a lot and specially that the guide was so expert and he gave me lots of information about the place. It was a well organised journey to that must see place.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Day Trip to Mahabalipuram and Dakshinachitra from Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide did an excellent job and told me in details what the fort,the peacock temple and the museum about.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The tour guide was exceptional but the back end service was appalling. First , they did not contact me to reconfirm my tour although i had sent them an email to reconfirm my tour. In their reply to my email they said someone from their Chennai office will contact me and I waited until one day before tour and still no contact. I had to call Delhi long distance to confirm my tour. Slack service . The only positive was that the guide they gave us was outstanding.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Day Trip to Mahabalipuram and Dakshinachitra from Chennai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Exceeded expectations. Guide really knew the detail history and his English was great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message