Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Temple-hopping, river rafting and elephant trekking are just some of the activities that make Chiang Mai northern Thailand’s most popular destination. Day 1: Walls and Temples The large square you see on a map doesn’t just define central Chiang ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We were afraid about a group tour, because we didn't find a private option here, but we were luck and it was only me and my husband. The tour was GREAT. The guide was very very smart and patient. We loved the Elephant Camp and the ride to the tribes. The lunch at the orchid farm was very very good. Usually buffets are not very good, but this one was special.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

My husband, 5 and 1/2 year old daughter and I really enjoyed this tour. Fortunately we only had 3 other travellers on the tour with us. Bob, our tour guide was excellent, he was very friendly and informative. There was a lot of variety over the 3 days. We enjoyed stopping at the roadside markets which broke up the long stretches in the minibus.
We enjoyed all the food, especially enjoyable was our dinner at the Chiang Rai Night Bazaar.
We thought the accommodation in Chiang Rai was better.
We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Chiang Mai and Golden Triangle Tour Including Doi Mae Salong

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

I wouldn't recommend this to my enemies. We waited for an hour for a tour guide to come and pick us up. Eventually we called them and they said that they hadn't gotten our confirmation from Viator and that the tour had already started. Why would you send a payment and a confirmation email if the tour is not actually confirmed with the tour company? Seems very shady to me. I'll be staying away from Viator.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was my favorite part of Chiang Mai! There is something so magical about being up before the sun and being blessed by the monks. We stopped at an overlook on the way up the mountain and the sun was just beginning to rise. I had friends who went to Doi Suthep in the afternoon and it was very crowded. It was nice and quiet in the morning. Our tour guide Nook was also excellent with explaining customs and traditions. I highly recommend this.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Possibly the best tour we did in Chiang Mai. Would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful day from beginning to end! The elephant training was breath taking; the jungle trek was the perfect length; the rafting tour was a delight. We had lunch at a lovely resort restaurant. The servers treated us like VIP's. A midst of all that fun, our guide managed to make our trip educational. We strongly recommend this particular tour.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. It was a 4-hour drive from Chiang Mai but it's all worth it. The tour guide and the driver were really accommodating and friendly. :)

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic day out the elephant safari was brilliant the mahout even caught a snake for tea this really is in the rain forest what a privilege to be in there with these magnificent animals, our guide "Oi "was great too very knowledgable and easy to talk too, the raft ride was at the end was possibly a little too long but nevertheless a fantastic day out and well worth every penny, the last bit if the elephant ride is something else try it you will love it

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was amazing! Firstly watching the elephants being washed and then a trip through the jungle finishing with a stroll up the river. I was in awe of the elephants!
My only criticism would be the rafting but only because we went straight from the elephants to the raft without any time to get a drink or go to the toilet etc. and the trip down the river was for 50minutes!!! It was also very hot and there was no shade so need to take lots of sun cream with you!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Laney T
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Chiang Mai is a beautiful place. This tour was small, only 2 people, so it was very easy to enjoy the time provided with the elephants.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were met at our hotel and was taken to the Botanical gardens where we picked up our bikes. The bikes were not the most comfortable and only after 30 mins my husband was very uncomfortable. They need to have padded seats! We cycled around the botanical gardens which was quite nice and then went on a paddlow, which for us was not what we wanted to do, but if you had children perhaps would have been fun. We then cycled out of the botanical gardens and went along the main road only a short distance until we turned off down a little road and which took us to the rice fields. We kept stopping at small places, where they made wooden figurines, and paper making which we weren't really interested in. There wasn't much cycling really and was disappointing. We stopped at a restaurant for lunch but it was closed so we were taken by car to another restaurant which was also closed. Third time lucky but the restaurant was on the side of a major road, not ideal. Disappointed with the cycling although we did get to see some nice scenery. The Zipline Adventure was fantastic. After being scared/nervous at the height and walking off the platform for the first couple of times, after that it was just brilliant. Enjoyed it very much and great being so high up in the forest. Our two guides were great and spoke good English. Very enjoyable afternoon. I would give the cycling 2 stars and the zipline 4 stars.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Wasn't sure if we got ripped off on this trip because when we were picked up we were told that it was too far to travel to the border to see the long necked people there and it would make more sense to visit them at the closer village. So instead of a 3 hour drive we would only have to drive for just over an hour which seemed appealing but I'm left wondering if i would have recevied a more authentic experience at the tribe further away. Also we only visited one village not 4 as specified. Then to kill time we were taken to an elephant sanctuary which was pretty cool but we'd seen and ridden elephants the day before, and the day before that so we were a bit over elephants but the venue put on a great show. The tour of the long necked village was pretty good but I state again that we were wondering if we were being ripped off because this village looked very commercial and i was expecting something a little more remote. Then we needed to kill time so I suggested we visit the Monkey Show (we happened to drive past it) which we had to dish out money for. The show lasted for 20 mins and there wasn't much to do there after the show. Then we stopped for lunch which was a nice spread at a place with tigers running around. Afterwards we drove to the boat (which wasn't long tailed as mentioned in the tour) but the boat took us down the river in Chiang Mai which was pretty uneventful. Once back in Chiang Mai we still had more time to kill so she showed us a market then we went home.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Since your review, we have contacted our local tour operator and updated the tour's itinerary to provide a better experience for our customers.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We took a 20km cycling tour around Chiang Mai's botanic gardens and the surrounding countryside, both beautiful places to cycle. A leisurely boat paddle and the feeding of animals within the botanical gardens was also included in the tour - a lovely surprise that we didn't expect but certainly worth doing. The team took great care of us. Not only did they easily accommodate our heights with the bicycles provided, provided us with fruit breaks and gave us recommendations for dinner, but they also provided us with great insights into everything we were seeing, including local history, knowledge and introductions to the local people. The lunch stop on the tour was also excellent. So many times on tour is one disappointed with the lunch provided - usually another production styled tasteless buffet. The restaurant we were taken to provided individual service and used only the freshest of ingredients. An excellent reward to the hard peddling we just endured in Thailand's heat. Thanks Would recommend the team to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Perfect tour for people who look for a bit of adventure in Chiang Mai. Highlight of our trip to Thailand!

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Everything was great - even though we didn't get to go on the river raft as the water was too high - the guide made every effort to keep us happy by offering a stop at the Tiger Kingdom where (for a price) you can sit/play/touch/take photos with the tigers. I paid for this experience and it was great. He also stopped at the long neck tribe village since we asked and it was next door to the Tiger Kingdom. We had to pay a fee directly to the village but it was great that the guide/driver were so accommodating. FYI, you don't ride the elephants in the river like the photo shows unless it is a time of year where the river level is low. So we rode on a trail through the woods. In addition to riding the elephants, they have you sit in a small stadium and show you how they work with the elephants. They show you how elephants can carry logs. One elephant even painted a picture!! Also a photo is taken of you by the elephant staff - on the elephant and put into a frame and at the end, you have an option of buying it, which I did. There also was a GREAT lunch. It was a great day and the tour guide, Van, was awesome sharing all of his knowledge along the ride.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great day. One of the things you must do while in chaing mai.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2013

The trip could have been done at the half of the price if we booked it at a local guesthouse in Chiang Mai, which was a bit dissappointing us of course. The trip self was very nice, everything mentioned in the planning was covered. I would not recommend it however as you are almost an entire day sitting in a car, 13 hours away of which certainly 8 hours you are driving.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

The activities themselves were ok. You get to ride an elephant through the jungle (on a chair, not bareback), see a hill tribe (or at least a tourist street fair version of one where the 5 people that are there are there to sell you expensive knick knacks), and ride a bamboo raft down a river (if sitting there staring at water for 20 minutes is really your thing). My problem with the whole thing was the passivity of the entire trip. This trip is designed for fat and lazy foreigners and you literally don't have to do much except walk between your different modes of transportation. The 90 minutes of elephant riding gets old pretty quick, especially when it's only broken up by 5 minutes in the hill tribe village (you can go through the 5 stalls in less than a minute, but we lingered for a bit...). The river rafting was the ultimate in boredom for our group of 20 somethings. We got so antsy we actually picked up the poles and started helping our guide push us down the river just to have something to do. Even they water buffalo they chased into the river in front of us were just a momentary distraction (It's like Disneyland: reset the water buffalo for the next raft!). My biggest problem with this trip though was that this same set of activities was available for a third of the price at almost every travel agency and "tourist information" booth in the city. The cab drivers and staff at most hotel desks also moonlight as tour operators, so you can literally book this anywhere for only $30. If you're trying to save money, just wait until you get to Chiang Mai before booking anything.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent! Highly recommended. It was the highlight of our Chiang Mai trip.. The local lunch was also surprisingly good. I think it was the best meal I have had in a long time. Our tour guide hung around the camp waiting for us and was always looking out for us, telling us where to sit down to eat for the best view, or when to get on the raft so we could get started earlier etc.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

Let's just say I ended up paying double for a car service to pick us up early. Little too touristy for my taste. Everything from the tour guide with a microphone to stopping randomly at orchid farms and other tourist traps along the way that we didn't sign up for and wasted a lot of time. Unfortunate because that was our main reason for going into Chiang Mai. Think if I were to do again I would choose to just visit one of the elephant rescue camps instead.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

The elephant camp was the highlight of our trip to Thailand and fulfilled all expectations. We stopped at an orchid farm for a comfort stop and it also gave the opportunity to look at some wonderful orchids. On arrival we were just in time to watch the elephants bathing in the river. There was an opportunity to feed them bunches of bananas. The elephants then gave a demonstration of their skills lifting and moving logs, working as a team in various ways. We then went on our safari through the jungle which was fabulous, stopping at the hilltribe village before returning via the river. We then enjoyed an excellent lunch, my husband is a picky eater and this is usually the worst part of any day trip for him, but he ate everything put in front of him! After lunch we went along the river on our bamboo raft which was so peaceful and a perfect end to the day. The only disappointment was that we had to share a raft with another couple (who shared the mini bus with us from Chiang Mai) whereas everybody else had individual rafts. The guide said that Tour East had only paid for one raft. This meant that there was only one professional photograph available to purchase at the end of the trip (very reasonably priced in a handmade paper frame) and the other couple purchased it. For the cost of the trip I think individual rafts should be provided. The minibus, guide and driver were all excellent

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Trip very well organized, just as advertised.
For those who have more time, I would consider sleeping in Chiang Rai as it is a long trip.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Fantastic adventure, I would recommend this trip to anyone staying in the Chiang Mai area. It was a full day adventure worth every penny. Very well organized from start to finish.
I would recommend light clothing and sandels and don't forget your hat and sunscreen!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

We really enjoyed this diversified private tour. The elephants are treated well, the camp is situated in the rain forest, food was great, the rafting tour was calm and very private. The guide gave us plenty information and spoke English well.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Definitely a "must do" if you're in Chiang Mai and looking for something to do. Guide picked us us being newlyweds from the U.S. on our honeymoon up early and even made another stop that I didn't know we were doing the orchid & butterfly farm, which was a nice plus since this was on the way and my wife really enjoyed it there. There were many more elephants there than I though which was cool and they seemed to be very smart and trained well. Food was thai and very very good, 5 stars for sure on the lunch. Riding the elephant was fun, but not too eventful and therefore made me drop the rating from 5 to 4 stars. Rafting was peaceful and romantic, saw some different animals along the way. Guide took us to the tiger kingdom after all was said in done too. Overall, a very good day. Kids would probably love it here, but not if they're afraid of large animals.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message