Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Chiang Mai, Thailand’s northern temple-filled city, is popular with travelers for the wealth of experiences available there. There’s plenty to do in the city, but some of the area’s best attractions involve half or full day trips from Chiang Mai.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour and guide were exceptional. our family group of 7 ranged in age from 81 to 40 and each of us felt catered for. The lunch choice was fantastic as we are all wary of the ubiquitous buffet so to be allowed an a la cart that was so tasty was much appreciated.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour, the elephant show and ride was very entertaining, and the stop at tiger-land was exciting.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

we had a very good day. our guide was very professional, super great English and always paying attention to each member wishes (we were lucky- just 3 in comfortable van).

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, our guide Sid was very informative and gave us lots of tips on what else we should see and do in Chiang mai. Wonderful experience.

Doing what: Wat Doi Suthep Temple and White Meo Hilltribe Village Half-Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fabulous e is the only way I can describe this trip, to be snuggled by a baby elephant is indescribable !! This is definitely a trip worth going on, we would have liked to ave done the whole day trip but my husband has had major surgery, so we thought tis was second best.... It wasn't, it was an amazing experience.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Elephants at Work Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

From the moment we were picked up to the moment we were dropped off we were flooded with information, facts, stories and history. Our guide Suda was terrific. She was extremely outgoing, fun and super knowledgable. She made our time spent with the hill tribes so intimate, it felt as though we were a part of their family. We even got to go inside one of their houses! We were able to ask her so many questions, getting honest answers.

The only unfortunate part of the trip was the lunch. The food was not good, and catered to Western tourists. We would have loved real local spicy Thai food! But the rest of the day made up for it entirely.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hill Tribes and the Golden Triangle Tour from Chiang Rai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were met at our hotel and was taken to the Botanical gardens where we picked up our bikes. The bikes were not the most comfortable and only after 30 mins my husband was very uncomfortable. They need to have padded seats! We cycled around the botanical gardens which was quite nice and then went on a paddlow, which for us was not what we wanted to do, but if you had children perhaps would have been fun. We then cycled out of the botanical gardens and went along the main road only a short distance until we turned off down a little road and which took us to the rice fields. We kept stopping at small places, where they made wooden figurines, and paper making which we weren't really interested in. There wasn't much cycling really and was disappointing. We stopped at a restaurant for lunch but it was closed so we were taken by car to another restaurant which was also closed. Third time lucky but the restaurant was on the side of a major road, not ideal. Disappointed with the cycling although we did get to see some nice scenery. The Zipline Adventure was fantastic. After being scared/nervous at the height and walking off the platform for the first couple of times, after that it was just brilliant. Enjoyed it very much and great being so high up in the forest. Our two guides were great and spoke good English. Very enjoyable afternoon. I would give the cycling 2 stars and the zipline 4 stars.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Interesting place to visit, love to come back again.

Doing what: Wat Doi Suthep Temple and White Meo Hilltribe Village Half-Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Tour guide and driving person are super nice.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

love the tour, will recommend to friends and family.

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Perfect tour for people who look for a bit of adventure in Chiang Mai. Highlight of our trip to Thailand!

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We took a 20km cycling tour around Chiang Mai's botanic gardens and the surrounding countryside, both beautiful places to cycle. A leisurely boat paddle and the feeding of animals within the botanical gardens was also included in the tour - a lovely surprise that we didn't expect but certainly worth doing. The team took great care of us. Not only did they easily accommodate our heights with the bicycles provided, provided us with fruit breaks and gave us recommendations for dinner, but they also provided us with great insights into everything we were seeing, including local history, knowledge and introductions to the local people. The lunch stop on the tour was also excellent. So many times on tour is one disappointed with the lunch provided - usually another production styled tasteless buffet. The restaurant we were taken to provided individual service and used only the freshest of ingredients. An excellent reward to the hard peddling we just endured in Thailand's heat. Thanks Would recommend the team to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent tour. It requires a long day, but it's completely worth the drive. Each part of the tour was interesting and fun. Our guide was terrific.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My tour guide was great! It ended up being a private tour. Just myself, the driver and the guide. She was fantastic though! We even stopped at the Tiger Kingdom, place that makes silver, and a place that makes Thai silk! So worth it!

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message