• USD ($)
  • English

Chiang Mai ATTRACTIONS See all

Chiang Dao Elephant Camp

The elephant training center at Chiang Dao combines training and jungle activities, with a one-on-one elephant encounter you’ll never forget. The Chiang Dao Elephant Camp's crew of 32 elephants help log the surrounding teak forests and provide ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 107 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic day out the elephant safari was brilliant the mahout even caught a snake for tea this really is in the rain forest what a privilege to be in there with these magnificent animals, our guide "Oi "was great too very knowledgable and easy to talk too, the raft ride was at the end was possibly a little too long but nevertheless a fantastic day out and well worth every penny, the last bit if the elephant ride is something else try it you will love it

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing! The elephant tour was excellent and one of the elephants even painted a picture of a tree. The elephants walk trought the jungle streams which was a real adventure! They added the tiger kingdom on at the end of the tour which was also one of my favorite parts of Thailand

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was amazing! Firstly watching the elephants being washed and then a trip through the jungle finishing with a stroll up the river. I was in awe of the elephants!
My only criticism would be the rafting but only because we went straight from the elephants to the raft without any time to get a drink or go to the toilet etc. and the trip down the river was for 50minutes!!! It was also very hot and there was no shade so need to take lots of sun cream with you!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a long day, but I enjoyed this tour. I was on the tour with 2 other people that I met on the previous day's tour. The three of us got along well on the previous day's tour. I was already scheduled to take this tour, the other two people, who were traveling together, were interested in doing this tour, so we requested to do this tour as a private group. You trek on land for about an hour and then if you get to ride in the Ping River, that's another 30-45 minutes of riding. If the river waters aren't high enough, you will not be able to ride through the Ping River. Fortunately we were able to ride through the river. This tour consists of a short elephant show (where the elephants do tricks, obey commands, etc.). One elephant even paints a picture. A pretty decent looking pic at that. At this camp, they seem to treat the animals kindly. Prior to booking this tour, I had read that some camps were not so humane. I did not notice any abuse while I was at this camp. After the elephant ride, there was lunch at a nice secluded restaurant not terribly far from where the elephant camp was. River Rafting is also part of this tour, which you are on the river for at least 45 minutes. Visiting the Hilltribe people is also a part of the tour. This visit consists of looking at handmade items by the people and you possibly buying something. You don't have to buy anything though. We had some extra time, so we did a side trip to the Tiger Kingdom. Nong was the tour guide. Very good guide, accommodating, and he spoke English well.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Chiang Mai is a beautiful place. This tour was small, only 2 people, so it was very easy to enjoy the time provided with the elephants.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a majestic experience. One that will never be forgotten. Tour guide went the extra mile to accommodate our needs and spoke great English. Door to door pick up made it stress free. The jungle was spectacular in nature, the elephants graceful and the rafting peaceful. I went home feeling thoroughly content - and pleasantly exhausted. A must do tour!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Such a great experience and so relieved to know they chose a camp where they animals are treated very well. The hill tribe village part, was not the long neck, and was super small, almost looked set up just so people could buy souvenirs.

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

DeanC
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was a good tour, our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Only two hours of the whole day tour were spent doing what we actually signed up for. The elephant ride was 20 minutes long, not one hour, and we didn't even touch water, never mind wade down a river as advertised in the photo. The elephants were all chained up and didn't seem particularly happy or well cared for as advertised. The river raft part was pretty decent though. The tour guide tried to take us to every single shopping outlet possible on the way home, no doubt in an effort to receive commission. We ended up hiring a private taxi to get home half way through the tour. A complete waste of time and money.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Loved the small group of five. The elephants seemed to be treated well. The trek to the village was just a chance to shop, not to see their way of life. The rafting was very relaxing. The lunch stop was lovely.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

We took our 3 kids on this tour and they loved the elephant show and ride. However, the "hillside village" was little more than a stop at what appeared to once be an actual hillside village, but now was just a souvenir stand. It would have been better if some history had been shared, etc. The rafting portion was also a bit anti-climatic in that it wasn't really all that scenic. But, it was a good opportunity to just relax and talk as you float down the river.

Our guide - Ung - was outstanding, as was our driver. She was engaged and looked after us the entire time, and shared the history of the area and much of what we were seeing as we drove to and from the site.

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

love the tour, will recommend to friends and family.

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Everything was great - even though we didn't get to go on the river raft as the water was too high - the guide made every effort to keep us happy by offering a stop at the Tiger Kingdom where (for a price) you can sit/play/touch/take photos with the tigers. I paid for this experience and it was great. He also stopped at the long neck tribe village since we asked and it was next door to the Tiger Kingdom. We had to pay a fee directly to the village but it was great that the guide/driver were so accommodating. FYI, you don't ride the elephants in the river like the photo shows unless it is a time of year where the river level is low. So we rode on a trail through the woods. In addition to riding the elephants, they have you sit in a small stadium and show you how they work with the elephants. They show you how elephants can carry logs. One elephant even painted a picture!! Also a photo is taken of you by the elephant staff - on the elephant and put into a frame and at the end, you have an option of buying it, which I did. There also was a GREAT lunch. It was a great day and the tour guide, Van, was awesome sharing all of his knowledge along the ride.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Outstanding from start to finish. Very well done!

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message