Chiang Mai ATTRACTIONS See all

Chiang Dao Elephant Camp

The elephant training center at Chiang Dao combines training and jungle activities, with a one-on-one elephant encounter you’ll never forget. The Chiang Dao Elephant Camp's crew of 32 elephants help log the surrounding teak forests and provide ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 128 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Roong was a wonderful guide, explaining local customs, sights, and clearly explaining what was going to happen during the day. As an added bonus, Roong and our driver stopped at the Tiger Kingdom for about an hour to let us take pictures with the tigers.

The elephant trek was quite enjoyable and we did hike up the Ping river just like in the pictures on Viator. We spent only a few minutes in the hill tribe village. I would have preferred a few more minutes there to look at how they lived.

The river rafting tour took about an hour and was very relaxing. The kids took turns poling the raft down the river, which thrilled them. Fair warning: there's a lot of sun out on the river, so be sure to wear strong sunblock.
-Rob

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved it!! would definitely recommend been one of holidays highlights

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. We had just a small group and everything was efficient from pick up right through the day. The Elephant trek was great along with the river rafting. One of the best trips I have completed in Thailand.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

My husband, 5 and 1/2 year old daughter and I really enjoyed this tour. Fortunately we only had 3 other travellers on the tour with us. Bob, our tour guide was excellent, he was very friendly and informative. There was a lot of variety over the 3 days. We enjoyed stopping at the roadside markets which broke up the long stretches in the minibus.
We enjoyed all the food, especially enjoyable was our dinner at the Chiang Rai Night Bazaar.
We thought the accommodation in Chiang Rai was better.
We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Chiang Mai and Golden Triangle Tour Including Doi Mae Salong

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

I wouldn't recommend this to my enemies. We waited for an hour for a tour guide to come and pick us up. Eventually we called them and they said that they hadn't gotten our confirmation from Viator and that the tour had already started. Why would you send a payment and a confirmation email if the tour is not actually confirmed with the tour company? Seems very shady to me. I'll be staying away from Viator.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was the best day!!! The guide was so friendly and answered so many of our questions about Thailand and elephants. Riding an elephant through the Thailand jungle was an absolutely unforgettable experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone!!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommended! It is probably the most adventurous trip I have ever had! Going through the jungle and across the river with an elephant! And my son has rated this the highest score for the whole Thailand trip!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Definitely recommend, and the river rafting was the best!!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

We had a great day, met nice people and learned a lot about the Asian elephant. The ride was awesome, especially when we came out of the canopy into the river! Knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This trip was amazing!! Riding the elephants was one of the most incredible experiences of my lifetime. My husband and I were on our honeymoon in Thailand. We saw so many spectacular things, but this trip was by far our favorite thing we did in Thailand. Do it!! You will not regret it.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was great! The staff was amazing and had a great time! The elephants were well treated and the stops along the way was fun. Also, the lunch was great not your typical buffet but a plated meal that was the best I had a tour on my whole trip to Thailand!!!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful day from beginning to end! The elephant training was breath taking; the jungle trek was the perfect length; the rafting tour was a delight. We had lunch at a lovely resort restaurant. The servers treated us like VIP's. A midst of all that fun, our guide managed to make our trip educational. We strongly recommend this particular tour.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The location of the area was excellent. The trip took you to the best places and the ride of the elephants was fantastic. You are making different stops at different places to buy stuff along the way and those are expensive bit high quality.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I was ok... kind of disappointing. You can't sit on the elephants, you ride in a basket. I had wanted to do the rafting too, but the water was too high so the tour guide tried to appease me by showing me other activities, though I really didn't want to (think monkeys in chains being mistreated :/).

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message