Chiang Mai ATTRACTIONS See all

Chiang Dao Elephant Camp

The elephant training center at Chiang Dao combines training and jungle activities, with a one-on-one elephant encounter you’ll never forget. The Chiang Dao Elephant Camp's crew of 32 elephants help log the surrounding teak forests and provide ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Viewing how the elephants are cared for, feed, washed and played with was wonderful. Riding on them through the forest was such a unique experience and then up the river was unforgettable. Lunch was lovely after rafting down the river and we shared it with a great bunch of people. our visit to the Orchid farm on the way to the elephants was just beautiful and we snapped off many photos. great tour. thank you

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Brian Evans United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Elephants were happy and appeared to be well taken care of. Great demonstration of their intelligence and strength. Great ride on the back of a beautiful animal both up the hillside as well as up the river.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Sanjeev P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The trip was ok but not really great. The itinerary mentioned 'hill tribe' visit in trip details ,but it was actually just stalls of sales items so should not be mentioned as such since its quite misleading.

The highlight is the Elephant Camptraining etc and Trek which was good.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Michael W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

I'm not touchy, feely or a strong animal rights person, but I think everyone felt worse leaving this tour. Maybe it was an expectations problem or naivety on my part, elephants were chained up and you could see injury marks on them. I definitely would not recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Tsz Chuen Sunny H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

More than 60 minutes ride on a natural stream, several minutes on a 1m deep river.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Nicholas M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

I paid for this in Australia and found when I got to Chang Mai, the online price was way way too much. The guide was really just a helper getting me on elephants and a raft, didn't engage with the people very much at all. The elephant trek was way too long as was the raft experience, 20 minutes would have been more in line. To have spent over AUD200 for this was was not worth it

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

JORGE G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Well paced, informative guide, covered a few sights in the 8 hours spent.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Mohan K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The elephant show could be made more interactive and time can be given about the history of each elephant and their past and their daily routine.

The river rafting is really just sitting in the river on a catamaran, so definitely could be renamed accordingly.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

martin p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant very helpful guide who really looked after us. The elephant sanctuary really seemed to look after the elephants, the show was great we bought the elephant's painting and my mahout was hilarious! Would definitely recommend it for all ages.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Yosef A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide PEO was absolutely the best! The elephant trekking was incredible through a jungle in the river. The raft down the river was pretty cool to. PEO Even stopped in the village to show us what it was like to live with the locals. It was very informative and a wonderful experience. Romantic, unique, and a special experience - and we even made wonderful friends with another couple on their honeymoon from Canada.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Marc L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The elephant ride and raft ride was great but the visit to the village was dis appointing.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Mael Maeng

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Had good fun with the elephant jungle trek and river rafting. Almost a good whole day trip out with a very friendly tour guide!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Kevin F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Had a great time. Tour is fun. The river rafting was rough on me with back.problems. No back rests.Food was good. Had a good time.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Roong was a wonderful guide, explaining local customs, sights, and clearly explaining what was going to happen during the day. As an added bonus, Roong and our driver stopped at the Tiger Kingdom for about an hour to let us take pictures with the tigers.

The elephant trek was quite enjoyable and we did hike up the Ping river just like in the pictures on Viator. We spent only a few minutes in the hill tribe village. I would have preferred a few more minutes there to look at how they lived.

The river rafting tour took about an hour and was very relaxing. The kids took turns poling the raft down the river, which thrilled them. Fair warning: there's a lot of sun out on the river, so be sure to wear strong sunblock.
-Rob

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

SUSAN G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved it!! would definitely recommend been one of holidays highlights

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. We had just a small group and everything was efficient from pick up right through the day. The Elephant trek was great along with the river rafting. One of the best trips I have completed in Thailand.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

PATRICIA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Simply brilliant - as with other tours we booked via Viatour - far exceeded our expections.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Darren Meg L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

My husband, 5 and 1/2 year old daughter and I really enjoyed this tour. Fortunately we only had 3 other travellers on the tour with us. Bob, our tour guide was excellent, he was very friendly and informative. There was a lot of variety over the 3 days. We enjoyed stopping at the roadside markets which broke up the long stretches in the minibus.
We enjoyed all the food, especially enjoyable was our dinner at the Chiang Rai Night Bazaar.
We thought the accommodation in Chiang Rai was better.
We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Chiang Mai and Golden Triangle Tour Including Doi Mae Salong

Kushatha F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

I wouldn't recommend this to my enemies. We waited for an hour for a tour guide to come and pick us up. Eventually we called them and they said that they hadn't gotten our confirmation from Viator and that the tour had already started. Why would you send a payment and a confirmation email if the tour is not actually confirmed with the tour company? Seems very shady to me. I'll be staying away from Viator.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

sam.griffin31

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The transfer and guide for this tour were fantastic, i was dissappointed with the elephants wearing chains and made to perform. The Rafting was great but the whole day was a dissappointing experiance. we booked to visit Ran Tong Elephant park the next day which was fantastic

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Shawna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was the best day!!! The guide was so friendly and answered so many of our questions about Thailand and elephants. Riding an elephant through the Thailand jungle was an absolutely unforgettable experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone!!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message