Chiang Mai ATTRACTIONS See all

Chiang Dao Elephant Camp

The elephant training center at Chiang Dao combines training and jungle activities, with a one-on-one elephant encounter you’ll never forget. The Chiang Dao Elephant Camp's crew of 32 elephants help log the surrounding teak forests and provide ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

doudou-mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The elephant trek is a great pleasure, ue to the dry season and lacking water the rafting was cancelled and replaced by a monkey show. The latter was regrettable.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Chris S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Appalling and overpriced!! This was the worst tour I have ever undertaken. Firstly, we were notified upon pick up from the hotel that the rafting would most likely be cancelled due to the drought. As we had only booked 2 days ahead, this would already have been known in advance and we would have selected another tour. Our guide did not interact with the group all day. We boarded the van with no idea where we were going nor how long it would take to get there. We passed many interesting sights food markets/temples along the way without commentary by our guide. No insight into Thai culture nor pointing out the sights on the way. There was no commentary at the elephant camp at all by the camp nor our guide. We climbed onto the elephant for our jungle ride which was great. I had to ask how long we would take and what happens next. He said we would stop at the hill tribe on our elephant ride. The hill tribe was the biggest disappointment. It was a group of 3 random people staged in a makeshift village that was not inhabited trying to sell us supposed handcrafted items of which I had seen replicas in the markets everywhere. When they realised we weren't interested, they started to pack up their wares to move onto their next assignment. Noone explained to us the purposes of the couple of buildings. We got back to the van and were told we were going to lunch with no idea how far it might be and my kids were hungry. The lunch was good but we did not have long to eat. We were given 15 mins to look at the orchids and butterflies. Everyone was at the van at the alloted time but the guide was over 10 mins late. We could have kept looking. I will never use Viator again. My Viator tour of Provence in France last year was amazing and informative. This was rubbish and overpriced. I could have taken a taxi myself for 1/4 of the price and have lost nothing.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a wonderful day! The elephants were amazing, the trek up into the mountain to the hill tribe village was great. Riding the elephant for 1.5 hrs up a stream and back through the river....amazing.
The rafting down the river on a bamboo raft was a great experience, despite the low water which made it a bit difficult...water buffalo as water hazards in the river... unforgetable!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A truly amazing day, elephants were so clever and very well looked after, the rafting down the river was peaceful and just awesome....top day would recommend b

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

REJEAN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Every thing was well organized. Nice elephant ride in jungle river, stream, etc.. Nice rafting. Not much water this time of year, but they can't control that.Very good lunch.
We ask to complete the day by visiting hills tribes to see the long neck women and they organised that easily.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Paul P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The trip was quite a long way from our hotel, but the transport was roomy and air-conditioned, and the guide was informative and spoke excellent English. The elephant show and jungle ride was amazing - my only criticism is that we did not get the opportunity to interact with the elephants - they were taken away as soon as we dismounted. The hill tribe was interesting and illustrated the contrast between them and those Thai people who lived in cities. The river rafting was very relaxing, and there was also a lunch of excellently cooked Thai food.

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

ADRIAN B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Guide and elephant trek excellent,bamboo rafting too long and boring and driver of raft could not handle it,drop this bit.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Ewa H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We enjoyed the trip very much, however the water level for rafting was insufficient and we got stuck on our way numerous times.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Mrs C Thompson t

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

It was to circus act for me and after going to the elephants camp day previous it is better you don't do this trip if you actually care for elephants they are chained up and pocked with a hook by the man that takes you on the elephants its really not for us .the ping river and meal was lovely however this is just our opinion other options may be its ok

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Donna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Viewing how the elephants are cared for, feed, washed and played with was wonderful. Riding on them through the forest was such a unique experience and then up the river was unforgettable. Lunch was lovely after rafting down the river and we shared it with a great bunch of people. our visit to the Orchid farm on the way to the elephants was just beautiful and we snapped off many photos. great tour. thank you

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Brian Evans United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Elephants were happy and appeared to be well taken care of. Great demonstration of their intelligence and strength. Great ride on the back of a beautiful animal both up the hillside as well as up the river.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Sanjeev P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The trip was ok but not really great. The itinerary mentioned 'hill tribe' visit in trip details ,but it was actually just stalls of sales items so should not be mentioned as such since its quite misleading.

The highlight is the Elephant Camptraining etc and Trek which was good.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Michael W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

I'm not touchy, feely or a strong animal rights person, but I think everyone felt worse leaving this tour. Maybe it was an expectations problem or naivety on my part, elephants were chained up and you could see injury marks on them. I definitely would not recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Tsz Chuen Sunny H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

More than 60 minutes ride on a natural stream, several minutes on a 1m deep river.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Nicholas M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

I paid for this in Australia and found when I got to Chang Mai, the online price was way way too much. The guide was really just a helper getting me on elephants and a raft, didn't engage with the people very much at all. The elephant trek was way too long as was the raft experience, 20 minutes would have been more in line. To have spent over AUD200 for this was was not worth it

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

JORGE G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Well paced, informative guide, covered a few sights in the 8 hours spent.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Mohan K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The elephant show could be made more interactive and time can be given about the history of each elephant and their past and their daily routine.

The river rafting is really just sitting in the river on a catamaran, so definitely could be renamed accordingly.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

martin p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant very helpful guide who really looked after us. The elephant sanctuary really seemed to look after the elephants, the show was great we bought the elephant's painting and my mahout was hilarious! Would definitely recommend it for all ages.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Yosef A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide PEO was absolutely the best! The elephant trekking was incredible through a jungle in the river. The raft down the river was pretty cool to. PEO Even stopped in the village to show us what it was like to live with the locals. It was very informative and a wonderful experience. Romantic, unique, and a special experience - and we even made wonderful friends with another couple on their honeymoon from Canada.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Marc L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The elephant ride and raft ride was great but the visit to the village was dis appointing.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Mael Maeng

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Had good fun with the elephant jungle trek and river rafting. Almost a good whole day trip out with a very friendly tour guide!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message