Chiang Mai ATTRACTIONS See all

Chiang Dao Elephant Camp

The elephant training center at Chiang Dao combines training and jungle activities, with a one-on-one elephant encounter you’ll never forget. The Chiang Dao Elephant Camp's crew of 32 elephants help log the surrounding teak forests and provide ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 123 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was the best day!!! The guide was so friendly and answered so many of our questions about Thailand and elephants. Riding an elephant through the Thailand jungle was an absolutely unforgettable experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone!!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommended! It is probably the most adventurous trip I have ever had! Going through the jungle and across the river with an elephant! And my son has rated this the highest score for the whole Thailand trip!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Definitely recommend, and the river rafting was the best!!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

We had a great day, met nice people and learned a lot about the Asian elephant. The ride was awesome, especially when we came out of the canopy into the river! Knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This trip was amazing!! Riding the elephants was one of the most incredible experiences of my lifetime. My husband and I were on our honeymoon in Thailand. We saw so many spectacular things, but this trip was by far our favorite thing we did in Thailand. Do it!! You will not regret it.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was great! The staff was amazing and had a great time! The elephants were well treated and the stops along the way was fun. Also, the lunch was great not your typical buffet but a plated meal that was the best I had a tour on my whole trip to Thailand!!!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful day from beginning to end! The elephant training was breath taking; the jungle trek was the perfect length; the rafting tour was a delight. We had lunch at a lovely resort restaurant. The servers treated us like VIP's. A midst of all that fun, our guide managed to make our trip educational. We strongly recommend this particular tour.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The location of the area was excellent. The trip took you to the best places and the ride of the elephants was fantastic. You are making different stops at different places to buy stuff along the way and those are expensive bit high quality.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I was ok... kind of disappointing. You can't sit on the elephants, you ride in a basket. I had wanted to do the rafting too, but the water was too high so the tour guide tried to appease me by showing me other activities, though I really didn't want to (think monkeys in chains being mistreated :/).

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The elephant trekking was amazing, we spent about an hour and a quarter on the elephant, followed by a stunning rafting trip. Followed by a great meal and then visiting a hill tribe. Our guide Peo was fantastic, he knew so much, and was really friendly. This day was the highlight of our holiday!!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I know some people think that working animals is cruel. But these elephants are treated very well. I absolutely loved this tour. Riding the elephant through the jungle was a bucket list moment for me. I was very lucky that I was the only person on this tour. Pong my guide was excellent. The raft ride down the Mae Ping River was excellent as well very peaceful. The buffet lunch was great and was at the orchid, butterfly park. Hotel pickup and drop off is included in this tour. I stayed at the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel which is excellent. Great day out in this beautiful region of Thailand.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very nice tour. And our guide Tien was fantasctic, very knowledgable and a loveley person.

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We had a great time with the elephants, especially the 90-min ride from the camp to the hill tribe and back, and the 45-min bamboo rafting at the Ping River.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message