Thought to be the oldest wat in Chiang Mai, Wat Chiang Man is a typical northern Thai temple, with massive teak columns holding aloft the central sanctuary. The wat has two important Buddha images; one on a marble bas relief, the other a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 60 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was very nice experience, Elephant owner for the day was fantastic,learning , some of place spectacular, lot to cover. Thank you Chaing Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Recommended to those who want to see a few temples and get some history/culture of ChiangMai. I really enjoyed this tour because we kept it moving but wasn't too fast - Mam was an amazing guide too, gave the best honest answers to questions.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

There was no city involved. Just two temples that we finished over an hour early so we were given the option of going to a silver and silk factory. The silver one was a huge waste of time and uncomfortable the silk factory and shop was interesting but took 5 minutes. The temple part was fine.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

fascinating view of the city and good quality temples

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We only seen 2 temples and were then taken to a shop where they tried to force us to buy things. The tour guide did the minimum. She took us to the temples then said meet me outside when youre done. Unlike other tours where we were shown around and given information on the sights.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Noy, was absolutely amazing. She was very knowledgeable in Buddhism and the different temples. She was friendly and went out of her way to help us buy local food at vendors. The tour gave us a better understanding of the culture in Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really well planned and our guide's English was excellent. We did not walk up to Doi Sethup but went up in a lift and walked down the many steps. Fasinating tour which included hearing the monks chant.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Waste of time and money on 2 average temples, that's all we were taken to see. Guide barely spoke English, f he knew something about city history he sure couldn't say it. Just take a walk ypurself, there's nothing of real artistic or historical importance anyway

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Another good city tour. Would recommend to those who want to see the highlights of Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good tour that included the highlights and main temples in Chiang Mai. Very punctual in picking us up from our hotel. Nice not to have to worry about transportation and they provided us with free bottled water and umbrellas. The temples were beautiful though it was particularly helpful to have a guide explainthings to us. It made the temples much more enjoyable to understand what we were looking at.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a wonderful day the only thing I didn't like was the compulsory stops om the way back at a silver shop and a silk factory not interested in them really and way over priced. overall its was good and the tour guide was very informative about the temples

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a very nice half day tour and turned out to be a private one which made it even more special. I loved the story about the white elephant.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very personal tour. Seeing monks praying is very moving. Also walking round a local market in the evening is great fun, as guide shows all sorts of different foods for you to try.x

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A moving experience that I look back on with deep feelings. This was a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Tour guide had a strong accent and was very hard to understand .

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and respectful.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was such a great way to see the temples. Our guide was hilarious.informative and she made an effort to drop us off at another temple just so we got the full experience. They were late in picking us up, but that was due to traffic.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Truly amazing experience. Private tour guide provided invaluable information. Spoke very good English.Pick up to and from hotel made life easier. He arrived on time and was very receptive to our questions. It felt like a very personal and comfortable experience which I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This tour was mainly a drive through the "old city" and we visited a few temples. One of the temples visited was the one on top of the hill. We were told that it is the most visited temple in Chiang Mai. Sorry, I can't remember the name of it at this moment. The weather was crappy that day and it rained a bit, so I was not able to enjoy driving through the city like I normally would have had it not rained. It is a good tour to take to fill your morning or afternoon. This was the 3rd tour that I had taken, and it was a day before my departure, so at this point I was somewhat mentally and physically tired. Nong is the name of the tour guide that led this tour, and the other 2 tours that I took. He spoke English well, was knowledgeable, accommodating and nice. After the first tour, him being the tour guide for my tours was by request.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

The tour guide doesn't really like what he is doing, or at least he gave us the impression. However I was glad to have booked the tour because they drove us up the mountain to the temple. Plus we had to ask the guide to let us see a second temple.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and ehanced the whole tour with the small and large details of the temples. She was Thai and spoke English well.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good tour to see the major temple of chiang mai including the one on the mountain

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was great having a private guide to explain the significance of the sites, and to take pictures on my camera of me interacting with the monks.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Basically it provided a ride up the mountain to get to the Temple we wanted to see. The Tour guide was not too informative about the temple, he was more interested in playing on his iPad. We asked for a rest room and were walked another 15 minutes to a Jade shop below the Temple and a chance for a demonstration - We do not like being taken to commercial establishments under the guise of a tour or demonstration. Chaing Mai City - we were taken to 2-more temples, at both of these we were on our own, the tour guide did not go with us. I think we found the one Thai person who does not smile and he was not very personable, not tour guide material. We cut our tour short as we had enough Mr. 'No-personality - play on his iPad'.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Excellent opportunity to visit the main temples. Only problem was that a half day wasn't long enough. Our guide was very good.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message