Thought to be the oldest wat in Chiang Mai, Wat Chiang Man is a typical northern Thai temple, with massive teak columns holding aloft the central sanctuary. The wat has two important Buddha images; one on a marble bas relief, the other a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Natalyia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An amazing tour... Very relaxing and the guide was super accommodating and knowledgeable. I recommend this tour to anyone visiting Chang Mai, one of the highlights!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Don C

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The Chiang Mai City and Temples tour we are rating 3 stars. There was virtually very little info provided by the guide regarding the city itself. The 2 temples we visited were very interesting and beautiful....must sees for Chiang Mai. The guide needs to go back to tourist guide 101 and be more personable and make us, the clients, feel that he, the guide, is actually interested in his job. The driver provided a comfortable and safe driving experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Megan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour! The guide was a lot of fun and very knowledgeable. Easy tour through back alleys and temples...delightful!

Doing what: Historic Old Chiang Mai Bike tour

Shannon N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was one of my favourite tours!!! Schwin was a wonderful tour guide of the city! So kind, generous and knowledgeable. He had everything all ready to go and even filled a water bottle for me that was already on the bike. The bike was great and pretty brand new I would have to say I parked my bike at the end of the tour with so much information passed on to me. Now to remember it all haha! Seriously tho, it was a great ride and top notch guide! I reccommend to anyone and everyone Happy Cycling

Doing what: Historic Old Chiang Mai Bike tour

Richard D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very good guide. interesting tour

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Leah M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Guide was 30min late meeting us at the hotel and only 2 hours later we were dropped back off at our hotel. Just okay....

Doing what: Private Tour: City and Temples of Chiang Mai

Roy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and guide. We went to number of prominent temples and enjoyed having own guide with family to keep you fully informed. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Latoussaint T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our half day tour of Chiang Mai City and Temples was excellent!! The transportation was on time, clean and cool air. The tour guide spoke clear english and was very professional. Enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Caroline E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide - Sid, was excellent and our driver went above and beyond to ensure we were happy.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Lisa G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

I really enjoyed the temple we visited but our guide was so so. I think there was a mix up because our tour guide is a French speaking guide and we speak English. So there was quite a bit of a language barrier. A bit of a let down how little time we spent at the temples versus how long we spent at different factories.

Doing what: Private Tour: City and Temples of Chiang Mai

Prana77

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very informative 1/2 day tour of Chiang Mai temples. The guide was on-time and knowledgeable about all temples visited. Doi suthep was the highlight and the climb up the snake staircase to the top is well worth it if you can. Would not hesitate to recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Mohan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Exceptional tour guide and the entire tour was very fun and informative.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

JORGE G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Too few sights seen in the 5 hours. Guide too intense and lengthy about some topics religion for one, could have spent the time better. At least 2 more sights could have been accommodated if the guide had been more focused and more precise. By the second hour wanted to continue without the guide.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

John W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Our tour guide told us almost nothing during driving and walking. Which was about 90 of the tour time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Lauren N M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was punctual, highly knowledgeable, and incredibly friendly! Transport was excellent and everything we did was very well planned. I highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Trey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous tour and our guide was phenomenal!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Sabina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Incredible tour! A great way to start your trip to introduce you to the history of Chiang Mai!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Dhirajlal P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was very nice experience, Elephant owner for the day was fantastic,learning , some of place spectacular, lot to cover. Thank you Chaing Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Katherine R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Recommended to those who want to see a few temples and get some history/culture of ChiangMai. I really enjoyed this tour because we kept it moving but wasn't too fast - Mam was an amazing guide too, gave the best honest answers to questions.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

cuquita

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

There was no city involved. Just two temples that we finished over an hour early so we were given the option of going to a silver and silk factory. The silver one was a huge waste of time and uncomfortable the silk factory and shop was interesting but took 5 minutes. The temple part was fine.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Gordon H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

fascinating view of the city and good quality temples

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

rtelford18

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We only seen 2 temples and were then taken to a shop where they tried to force us to buy things. The tour guide did the minimum. She took us to the temples then said meet me outside when youre done. Unlike other tours where we were shown around and given information on the sights.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Noy, was absolutely amazing. She was very knowledgeable in Buddhism and the different temples. She was friendly and went out of her way to help us buy local food at vendors. The tour gave us a better understanding of the culture in Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Gill C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really well planned and our guide's English was excellent. We did not walk up to Doi Sethup but went up in a lift and walked down the many steps. Fasinating tour which included hearing the monks chant.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Marija P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Waste of time and money on 2 average temples, that's all we were taken to see. Guide barely spoke English, f he knew something about city history he sure couldn't say it. Just take a walk ypurself, there's nothing of real artistic or historical importance anyway

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message