Chiang Mai ATTRACTIONS See all

Wat Phra That Doi Suthep

The golden spire of Wat Phra That Doi Suthep glitters near the summit of Doi Suthep, a 1,676 meter (5,500 foot) mountain outside Chiang Mai. The wat was established in 1383, and is one of northern Thailand's most sacred temples. Gold and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 75 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Incredible tour! A great way to start your trip to introduce you to the history of Chiang Mai!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip, enjoyed the sights and the guide was superb! The drive was excellent, including the open air transport up into the hills! And the coffee stop on the way back down was fantastic, with amazing views. The temple is incredible and definitely well worth a visit. Good value!

Doing what: Wat Doi Suthep Temple and White Meo Hilltribe Village Half-Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really well planned and our guide's English was excellent. We did not walk up to Doi Sethup but went up in a lift and walked down the many steps. Fasinating tour which included hearing the monks chant.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Noy, was absolutely amazing. She was very knowledgeable in Buddhism and the different temples. She was friendly and went out of her way to help us buy local food at vendors. The tour gave us a better understanding of the culture in Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very personal tour. Seeing monks praying is very moving. Also walking round a local market in the evening is great fun, as guide shows all sorts of different foods for you to try.x

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent, accommodating guide and driver. Went out of way to be helpful., informative. Just wonderful - made the trip. Excellent driver. Went out of way to be helpful., informative. Just wonderful - made the trip. Excellent driver on tough roads. Went out of way to assist for the one disabled tourist. Really appreciated that. great sense of humor. Got us to places before the crowds.

Doing what: 6-Day Northern Thailand Tour: Ayutthaya, Sukhothai, Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, our guide Sid was very informative and gave us lots of tips on what else we should see and do in Chiang mai. Wonderful experience.

Doing what: Wat Doi Suthep Temple and White Meo Hilltribe Village Half-Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Truly amazing experience. Private tour guide provided invaluable information. Spoke very good English.Pick up to and from hotel made life easier. He arrived on time and was very receptive to our questions. It felt like a very personal and comfortable experience which I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was such a great way to see the temples. Our guide was hilarious.informative and she made an effort to drop us off at another temple just so we got the full experience. They were late in picking us up, but that was due to traffic.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and respectful.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were picked up on time by our guide Shannon. We were the only ones on this tour and so we had a chauffeur driven car together with our guide. The car was extremely comfortable and our guide spoke very good English and was excellent. As we was now on a private tour we spent longer at some places than if on a group tour you would have been able to. The places we saw and having the guide tell us all about them was absolutely brilliant. We even slotted in some extra places that the guide thought we should see. The hotel accommodation was very good, although we have found not only on this trip but when you have buffet type food in the restaurants of the hotels, the food lets the hotel down. Perfectly acceptable but not as good as it should be. The evening at Khum Khantoke was very enjoyable and the food was good there. We saw and done so much on this tour and found it fascinating, very enjoyable a great way to see Thailand away from Bangkok.

Doing what: 6-Day Northern Thailand Tour: Ayutthaya, Sukhothai, Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and ehanced the whole tour with the small and large details of the temples. She was Thai and spoke English well.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Interesting place to visit, love to come back again.

Doing what: Wat Doi Suthep Temple and White Meo Hilltribe Village Half-Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Loved our tour guide and seeing the city and all the temples was completely unforgettable. It will stay etched in my mind forever.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Certainly worth doing this tour. The tour company was very professional and had arranged my pickup from the hotel even before I had checked-in. The tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. We visited three temples plus had a little drive around the old town. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour with great. The guide was really knowledgable and customized the tour when we asked to visit a temple not on his itinerary. The scenery is beautiful and I feel we would have missed a lot without a guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour fab day guide was super, great day

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent, excellent guide!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Chiangmai is a wonderful place, far nicer, cleaner and friendlier than Bangkok. The Royal Princess Dusitani Hotel, was excellent for its 4-star rating and obvious age. Our tours, booked through Viator were interesting and well guided.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Great guide and tour. Very informative and educational.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Michael H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

An excellent tour. We were collected exactly on time and the guide was very professional, very informative and also very nice. We visited three temples, one on top of a mountain quite a distance from Chiang Mai city, so it was much better and easier than trying to find our own transport. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

both driver and guide were polite and nice. guide was knowledgable and answered all the questions we had.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic guide with great english. She was Buddhist and was very knowledgeable about all the places we went and saw. We also stopped in at the Jade factory which was pretty cool.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Katie S
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Our guide was excellent and extremely knowledgeable - we learned a lot! It was a perfect half day excursion to get the most out of temple spotting in Chaing Mai. The air conditioned transport just added to the convenience and was very well worth it!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message