As the ancient capital of northern Thailand, Chiang Mai is resplendent with temples and historic sites. It may lack the buzz of Bangkok, but it also lacks the traffic jams and pollution and visitors are known to fall in love with Chiang Mai’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing! We had a wonderfull guide who has told us and showed us so much about culture, buddhism and Chiang Mai. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about Thai Culture.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Small-Group Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Noy, was absolutely amazing. She was very knowledgeable in Buddhism and the different temples. She was friendly and went out of her way to help us buy local food at vendors. The tour gave us a better understanding of the culture in Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was my favorite part of Chiang Mai! There is something so magical about being up before the sun and being blessed by the monks. We stopped at an overlook on the way up the mountain and the sun was just beginning to rise. I had friends who went to Doi Suthep in the afternoon and it was very crowded. It was nice and quiet in the morning. Our tour guide Nook was also excellent with explaining customs and traditions. I highly recommend this.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

muzicbaby
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I am so glad I booked this tour! The guide, Thongbang Thotsadon, was AMAZING! She came to pick me up right on time, at which point I discovered this was going to be a private tour. She was an absolute pleasure to speak with and so knowledgable! She took the time to get to know a bit about me and answered all my questions patiently and thoroughly.

The early wake up was worth it to go through the morning market to get breakfast for the monks. I got to give alms to the monks and get their blessing to start my day. Next, I got to experience a breakfast restaurant that was nearby. We then drove to Wat Umong and I was able to see the new monks bless the gifts they received and do a bit of ritual with them. We walked through the temple grounds and she explained a lot about Thai Buddhism to me and took me to the monk meditation caves where she and I had excellent discussion about meditation and the monk lifestyle. We next went to feed catfish on the nearby bridge and met another foreigner who was doing a meditative study stay at the temple.Thongbang took me to the meditation center and explained how I could arrange a stay the next time I was in Chiang Mai.

We next went to Wat Mahachula, which was celebrating its 30th anniversary as a monk and layperson university. I was able to speak with her former teacher and find out some information about studying at the school in English. We walked around the temple and she gave me the history of the structures there and of the Thai culture. I learned so much from her.

This is one of the best tours I have ever been on. Thongbang is a superb guide and so caring. She ensured I had a great experience In Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Small-Group Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Trip Advisor Review:

What a well spent morning with Thongbang! She arrived on time to let me know I would be the only one on the tour but she still made sure I had every experience expected and more. As an avid photographer, she made sure I had the best opportunities and best positions to get some wonderful photos. She is also a great conversationalist and we had some good talks about life and our views of the world. Although I was somewhat familiar with Buddhism, she provided so much more information to help me understand this faith and philosophy better.

We started the early day at the market where we gave food to the monks, some barely teenagers and we received their blessing and I got some good photos. Just wandering through the market with a local guide to explain was a good experience in itself.

We spent a good bit of time at the Forest Temple and I even got to present the monks with food for their breakfast. They were so friendly and the place so peaceful. Although part of the city, it was an oasis of quiet and solitude. We were also fortunate to catch an ordination ceremony and we watched the young men getting their heads shaved as their families looked on with such pride. Next she took me to a more urban Temple and, again, luck was on our side as they were celebrating the 30th anniversary of the Temple with many dignitaries and much color. I even got to meet one of her old teachers who was a delightful, friendly monk. They were also having an art show with some excellent paintings by students and monks.

We ended the morning with coffee and more good conversation before I was returned to my hotel.

Many people come to Chiang Mai just to have "fun" but there's so much to learn about another culture and this tour is the perfect way to learn. Thongbang is a great teacher as well as guide and I learned much on this tour.

Visited December 2014

Doing what: Chiang Mai Small-Group Cultural Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Perfect tour for people who look for a bit of adventure in Chiang Mai. Highlight of our trip to Thailand!

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We took a 20km cycling tour around Chiang Mai's botanic gardens and the surrounding countryside, both beautiful places to cycle. A leisurely boat paddle and the feeding of animals within the botanical gardens was also included in the tour - a lovely surprise that we didn't expect but certainly worth doing. The team took great care of us. Not only did they easily accommodate our heights with the bicycles provided, provided us with fruit breaks and gave us recommendations for dinner, but they also provided us with great insights into everything we were seeing, including local history, knowledge and introductions to the local people. The lunch stop on the tour was also excellent. So many times on tour is one disappointed with the lunch provided - usually another production styled tasteless buffet. The restaurant we were taken to provided individual service and used only the freshest of ingredients. An excellent reward to the hard peddling we just endured in Thailand's heat. Thanks Would recommend the team to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

I was actually traveling solo so the food turned out to be a feast for one person. The food was scrumptious and the two shows were simply icing on the cake! From pick up to drop off, the service was professional and this experience added to the great memories of Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Traditional Khantoke Dinner and Show from Chiang Mai

Michael H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

An excellent tour. We were collected exactly on time and the guide was very professional, very informative and also very nice. We visited three temples, one on top of a mountain quite a distance from Chiang Mai city, so it was much better and easier than trying to find our own transport. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Piew was our private tour guide for the Chiang Mai city and temples tour and he was excellent. He taught us so much about the culture and about Buddhism. I feel like we learned a lot about day to day life in Chiang Mai while getting to see quite a few beautiful sites. He was very helpful in suggesting restaurants/activities for us later on as well.

Wassan was also a great driver. I recommend this tour for anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good tour that included the highlights and main temples in Chiang Mai. Very punctual in picking us up from our hotel. Nice not to have to worry about transportation and they provided us with free bottled water and umbrellas. The temples were beautiful though it was particularly helpful to have a guide explainthings to us. It made the temples much more enjoyable to understand what we were looking at.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. It was a 4-hour drive from Chiang Mai but it's all worth it. The tour guide and the driver were really accommodating and friendly. :)

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Viator did an excellent job, pick up was on time and very good value for the price. Unique experience with presentation of the food and the dance. We had front row floor seats. Provide insight to the Thailand Hill People culture. We had the opportunity to experience several tours conducted by Viator while visiting Thailand and they did not disappoint. Chiang Mai was a great experience.

Doing what: Traditional Khantoke Dinner and Show from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This tour was mainly a drive through the "old city" and we visited a few temples. One of the temples visited was the one on top of the hill. We were told that it is the most visited temple in Chiang Mai. Sorry, I can't remember the name of it at this moment. The weather was crappy that day and it rained a bit, so I was not able to enjoy driving through the city like I normally would have had it not rained. It is a good tour to take to fill your morning or afternoon. This was the 3rd tour that I had taken, and it was a day before my departure, so at this point I was somewhat mentally and physically tired. Nong is the name of the tour guide that led this tour, and the other 2 tours that I took. He spoke English well, was knowledgeable, accommodating and nice. After the first tour, him being the tour guide for my tours was by request.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good tour to see the major temple of chiang mai including the one on the mountain

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Interesting tour and the guide was very informative. A good way to start any visit to Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour itself was excellent. The local guide ( I forget her name!) was fantastic - she knew a lot about the sites we were seeing and took very good care of us (very service oriented). The only challenge I experienced was in booking the tour. I went online early in the morning to book the 3 hour afternoon tour starting at 1, and I got an email confirming my attendance. I went to the hotel lobby 45 minutes early as directed to wait to be picked up, but no one came. The hotel clerk called the company delivering the service and I guess they said that they had received my registration too late. Having rearranged my schedule to take this tour, I ended up wasting a few hours of the little time I had in Chiang Mai because of this. There seems to be a glitch in the online registration process and the communication of my registration to the tour provider. I was able to receive my confirmation almost instantly - I'm not sure why the tour provicer didn't receive a similar email as quickly as I did with the registration request, and respond to me directly or to my hotel that they were not able to accommodate the request (they had about 4 hours to do so). In the end they arranged to take me at a another time. If there is a deadline by which clients must register for tours on viator (e.g. 24 hours in advance), then the viator web site should not allow you to even book the tour in the first place.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The tour guide was very informative and it was a pleasant way to spend the afternoon and see the major temples of Chiang Mai - I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Good food - Dancing was interesting to see. I would recommend this for one night in Chiang Mai!

Doing what: Traditional Khantoke Dinner and Show from Chiang Mai

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Good tour showing the sights of Chiang Mai. The jade factory visit was a little unnecessary and we could have had a little more time at the temple with views on the top of the mountain.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

This is a very interesting way to visit the Golden Triangle and enjoy the scenery along the way from Chiang Mai to Chiang Rai.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Another good city tour. Would recommend to those who want to see the highlights of Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very good tour. Was fun watching Chiang Mai come to life in the morning. Tour guide was friendly.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Small-Group Cultural Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Visiting the temples in Chiang Mai was a wonderful experience. The difference between this tour and the many I have taken in other places is the tour guide mostly delivers you to the destination and tells where to meet when done. We didn't get the history or insider information we would have expected on this type of tour. With that said, we would still do it again, the sites were saw were just great and the price was excellent.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

The tour guide ('Fitch') was very friendly and his English was perfect. He could tell us a lot of facts about the temples and Buddhism. Chiang Mai itself is not really a beautiful city, so there is not much to see, except temples and the surrounding hills and jungle.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message