As the ancient capital of northern Thailand, Chiang Mai is resplendent with temples and historic sites. It may lack the buzz of Bangkok, but it also lacks the traffic jams and pollution and visitors are known to fall in love with Chiang Mai’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Perfect tour for people who look for a bit of adventure in Chiang Mai. Highlight of our trip to Thailand!

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We took a 20km cycling tour around Chiang Mai's botanic gardens and the surrounding countryside, both beautiful places to cycle. A leisurely boat paddle and the feeding of animals within the botanical gardens was also included in the tour - a lovely surprise that we didn't expect but certainly worth doing. The team took great care of us. Not only did they easily accommodate our heights with the bicycles provided, provided us with fruit breaks and gave us recommendations for dinner, but they also provided us with great insights into everything we were seeing, including local history, knowledge and introductions to the local people. The lunch stop on the tour was also excellent. So many times on tour is one disappointed with the lunch provided - usually another production styled tasteless buffet. The restaurant we were taken to provided individual service and used only the freshest of ingredients. An excellent reward to the hard peddling we just endured in Thailand's heat. Thanks Would recommend the team to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

I was actually traveling solo so the food turned out to be a feast for one person. The food was scrumptious and the two shows were simply icing on the cake! From pick up to drop off, the service was professional and this experience added to the great memories of Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Traditional Khantoke Dinner and Show from Chiang Mai

Michael H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

An excellent tour. We were collected exactly on time and the guide was very professional, very informative and also very nice. We visited three temples, one on top of a mountain quite a distance from Chiang Mai city, so it was much better and easier than trying to find our own transport. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Piew was our private tour guide for the Chiang Mai city and temples tour and he was excellent. He taught us so much about the culture and about Buddhism. I feel like we learned a lot about day to day life in Chiang Mai while getting to see quite a few beautiful sites. He was very helpful in suggesting restaurants/activities for us later on as well.

Wassan was also a great driver. I recommend this tour for anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good tour that included the highlights and main temples in Chiang Mai. Very punctual in picking us up from our hotel. Nice not to have to worry about transportation and they provided us with free bottled water and umbrellas. The temples were beautiful though it was particularly helpful to have a guide explainthings to us. It made the temples much more enjoyable to understand what we were looking at.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. It was a 4-hour drive from Chiang Mai but it's all worth it. The tour guide and the driver were really accommodating and friendly. :)

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Viator did an excellent job, pick up was on time and very good value for the price. Unique experience with presentation of the food and the dance. We had front row floor seats. Provide insight to the Thailand Hill People culture. We had the opportunity to experience several tours conducted by Viator while visiting Thailand and they did not disappoint. Chiang Mai was a great experience.

Doing what: Traditional Khantoke Dinner and Show from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Viator did an excellent job, pick up was on time and very good value for the price. Unique experience with presentation of the food and the dance. We had front row floor seats. Provide insight to the Thailand Hill People culture. We had the opportunity to experience several tours conducted by Viator while visiting Thailand and they did not disappoint. Chiang Mai was a great experience.

Doing what: Traditional Khantoke Dinner and Show from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This tour was mainly a drive through the "old city" and we visited a few temples. One of the temples visited was the one on top of the hill. We were told that it is the most visited temple in Chiang Mai. Sorry, I can't remember the name of it at this moment. The weather was crappy that day and it rained a bit, so I was not able to enjoy driving through the city like I normally would have had it not rained. It is a good tour to take to fill your morning or afternoon. This was the 3rd tour that I had taken, and it was a day before my departure, so at this point I was somewhat mentally and physically tired. Nong is the name of the tour guide that led this tour, and the other 2 tours that I took. He spoke English well, was knowledgeable, accommodating and nice. After the first tour, him being the tour guide for my tours was by request.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good tour to see the major temple of chiang mai including the one on the mountain

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Interesting tour and the guide was very informative. A good way to start any visit to Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour itself was excellent. The local guide ( I forget her name!) was fantastic - she knew a lot about the sites we were seeing and took very good care of us (very service oriented). The only challenge I experienced was in booking the tour. I went online early in the morning to book the 3 hour afternoon tour starting at 1, and I got an email confirming my attendance. I went to the hotel lobby 45 minutes early as directed to wait to be picked up, but no one came. The hotel clerk called the company delivering the service and I guess they said that they had received my registration too late. Having rearranged my schedule to take this tour, I ended up wasting a few hours of the little time I had in Chiang Mai because of this. There seems to be a glitch in the online registration process and the communication of my registration to the tour provider. I was able to receive my confirmation almost instantly - I'm not sure why the tour provicer didn't receive a similar email as quickly as I did with the registration request, and respond to me directly or to my hotel that they were not able to accommodate the request (they had about 4 hours to do so). In the end they arranged to take me at a another time. If there is a deadline by which clients must register for tours on viator (e.g. 24 hours in advance), then the viator web site should not allow you to even book the tour in the first place.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The tour guide was very informative and it was a pleasant way to spend the afternoon and see the major temples of Chiang Mai - I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Good food - Dancing was interesting to see. I would recommend this for one night in Chiang Mai!

Doing what: Traditional Khantoke Dinner and Show from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message