You haven’t truly been to Chiang Mai until you’ve visited its beautiful Buddhist temples. With the exception of Wat Phra That Doi Suthep in the mountains outside the city, the must-see temples are located inside the old city wall within walking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was such a great way to see the temples. Our guide was hilarious.informative and she made an effort to drop us off at another temple just so we got the full experience. They were late in picking us up, but that was due to traffic.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and ehanced the whole tour with the small and large details of the temples. She was Thai and spoke English well.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Loved our tour guide and seeing the city and all the temples was completely unforgettable. It will stay etched in my mind forever.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Certainly worth doing this tour. The tour company was very professional and had arranged my pickup from the hotel even before I had checked-in. The tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. We visited three temples plus had a little drive around the old town. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour with great. The guide was really knowledgable and customized the tour when we asked to visit a temple not on his itinerary. The scenery is beautiful and I feel we would have missed a lot without a guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Michael H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

An excellent tour. We were collected exactly on time and the guide was very professional, very informative and also very nice. We visited three temples, one on top of a mountain quite a distance from Chiang Mai city, so it was much better and easier than trying to find our own transport. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Katie S
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Our guide was excellent and extremely knowledgeable - we learned a lot! It was a perfect half day excursion to get the most out of temple spotting in Chaing Mai. The air conditioned transport just added to the convenience and was very well worth it!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Loved it. Turned out to be a private tour. The tour guide was very friendly and knew everything there is to know about the temples etc. A must.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

relaxed and easy tour of the temples and city...private tour is nice, because the guides are happy to stop when you need another iced coffee:-)

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Darren S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A great tour of some truly amazing temples. The guide was excellent and very informative. Definitely one to consider if you have a spare afternoon or morning.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Piew was our private tour guide for the Chiang Mai city and temples tour and he was excellent. He taught us so much about the culture and about Buddhism. I feel like we learned a lot about day to day life in Chiang Mai while getting to see quite a few beautiful sites. He was very helpful in suggesting restaurants/activities for us later on as well.

Wassan was also a great driver. I recommend this tour for anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

HUGO G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This was a superb tour in which I got to see three very different Temples. Dom Suthep was particularly interesting as it was so busy and it was possible to observe the immense variety of religious rituals being performed there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good tour that included the highlights and main temples in Chiang Mai. Very punctual in picking us up from our hotel. Nice not to have to worry about transportation and they provided us with free bottled water and umbrellas. The temples were beautiful though it was particularly helpful to have a guide explainthings to us. It made the temples much more enjoyable to understand what we were looking at.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a wonderful day the only thing I didn't like was the compulsory stops om the way back at a silver shop and a silk factory not interested in them really and way over priced. overall its was good and the tour guide was very informative about the temples

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This tour was mainly a drive through the "old city" and we visited a few temples. One of the temples visited was the one on top of the hill. We were told that it is the most visited temple in Chiang Mai. Sorry, I can't remember the name of it at this moment. The weather was crappy that day and it rained a bit, so I was not able to enjoy driving through the city like I normally would have had it not rained. It is a good tour to take to fill your morning or afternoon. This was the 3rd tour that I had taken, and it was a day before my departure, so at this point I was somewhat mentally and physically tired. Nong is the name of the tour guide that led this tour, and the other 2 tours that I took. He spoke English well, was knowledgeable, accommodating and nice. After the first tour, him being the tour guide for my tours was by request.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message