Riding an elephant through the jungle can be one of the most memorable experiences you can have in Thailand. There are more than a dozen elephant camps operating in the Chiang Mai area offering everything from one hour elephant rides to full-day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

doudou-mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The elephant trek is a great pleasure, ue to the dry season and lacking water the rafting was cancelled and replaced by a monkey show. The latter was regrettable.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Rickey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We are from California. Not knowing which tour would be the best, we went for the one that had good reviews that we read online. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED! This elephant experience was one of our
most memorable days. Everything about it was fabulous. Thank you so much Baanchang!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really HAPPY place...wonderful experience...great people doing a great job...and those beautiful elephants - felt very privileged to be so close to them - I am in love!
Fantastic lunch - all in all I can not recommend it too much

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

this was an incredible experience. We had no desire to ride the elephants, and this tour allowed us to get up close and personal with the elephants by feeding them, and playing with them in the river. Being able to see the 2 week old elephant was a highlight of the trip, as he was very cute. I strongly recommend this tour if you feel riding the elephants is not for you.

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

W P V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience! All well arranged: early pick up from hotel, able to really interact with the elephants and lots of information about the animals. Wonderful lunch.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A truly amazing day, elephants were so clever and very well looked after, the rafting down the river was peaceful and just awesome....top day would recommend b

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a wonderful day! The elephants were amazing, the trek up into the mountain to the hill tribe village was great. Riding the elephant for 1.5 hrs up a stream and back through the river....amazing.
The rafting down the river on a bamboo raft was a great experience, despite the low water which made it a bit difficult...water buffalo as water hazards in the river... unforgetable!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

bhavesh j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My wife and I had a great experience at Baanchang Elephant Park. We were picked up exactly on time from our hotel and it was a 45 minute drive once the rest of the group had been collected. We had an excellent guide who told us what to expect and informed us of our estimated arrival time to the park. Once we got there, they gave us uniforms and we had a guided tour around which included feeding the elephants bananas and sugarcane, then getting to know them and learning basic commands, followed by riding the elephants and then bathing them which was the highlight. Our guide stayed with us throughout, explaining each process and gave us a valuable insight into the life of an elephant, facts that we didn't know of, and a good overview of the amazing things they do at the park to look after them. The elephants were happy, healthy and really well taken care of. Typical to many elephant park reviews, we did notice the mahouts carrying bull hooks and some elephants were chained by the foot to ensure they don't run around and get out of view. There are ALOT of elephants at this park to justify the above, but the reassurance to everything was that they were happy and we'll looked after and it is evident by the area and its people, that there is a very special bond between elephants and their carers and that made the experience extra pleasant.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Maria Andreina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Best experience ever. Good guide for the day. Good food for lunch : a gentle staff. Never doubt to take this experience. You will have the opportunity to stay with the elephant all the time around 6 hrs.
--
Una de las mejores experiencias en mi vida. Buenos guías, atención y comida. El staff es bastante amable. No duden en tomar esta experiencia, 100 vale la pena. Estarán todo el día con los elefantes cerca de 6 horas.

LANNA fue mi elefante en la excursion....non long'... bai bai Lana :

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic experience, staff very friendly. Informative and above all love their elephants and treat them very well. All are so dedicated to to the elephants well being and very appreciative of the visitors that come because it enables them to continue and expand their good work.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

REJEAN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Every thing was well organized. Nice elephant ride in jungle river, stream, etc.. Nice rafting. Not much water this time of year, but they can't control that.Very good lunch.
We ask to complete the day by visiting hills tribes to see the long neck women and they organised that easily.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Mrs C Thompson t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is a must its the best trip of our holiday so special .no clown acts here just a special time in the home of the elephants feeding them walking with them the guide is very in love with her elephants and she spends hours with you telling you all about the elephants .made our trip

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

Harry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Couldn't Fault the day, picked me up from my hostel on time, the drive was a bit long but there is nothing they could do about that...Plus it gives you time to bond with others on the day tour with you, the elphants were well looked after and they did not allow them to be ridden, the lunch was lovely and the staff were very kind and had good rapport with all the elephants..... 10/10 , would go again

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

Russell K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyable experience interacting with the elephants and their guides. All components were as described. Pick up was on time and comfortable. Facilities were excellent and animals seemed well cared for.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Donna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Viewing how the elephants are cared for, feed, washed and played with was wonderful. Riding on them through the forest was such a unique experience and then up the river was unforgettable. Lunch was lovely after rafting down the river and we shared it with a great bunch of people. our visit to the Orchid farm on the way to the elephants was just beautiful and we snapped off many photos. great tour. thank you

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Carlynn F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great experience, definitely the highlight of our trip to Thailand. Our guide was amazing and we got ample time with the elephants. We had a special bond with our elephant and would highly recommend this excursion. The food during lunch was awesome as well.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Bryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was amazing! From the hotel pickup and drop off, to the lunch buffet, everything was included. We got to visit two orchid farms which was a nice bonus. The highlight was definitely the Mae Sa Elephant Camp. The elephant show and trek along with the tribe visit were both enjoyable.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

Ramona D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fun trip the elephants were enjoyable to watch. A visit to the orchid farm was a plus.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Elephants at Work Tour

Laura B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great experience. Was lovely to feed the elephants and learn about them. Bathing them was the best activity which did not last nearly long enough. All up a worthy day. An experience to remember

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Yosef A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide PEO was absolutely the best! The elephant trekking was incredible through a jungle in the river. The raft down the river was pretty cool to. PEO Even stopped in the village to show us what it was like to live with the locals. It was very informative and a wonderful experience. Romantic, unique, and a special experience - and we even made wonderful friends with another couple on their honeymoon from Canada.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

martin p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant very helpful guide who really looked after us. The elephant sanctuary really seemed to look after the elephants, the show was great we bought the elephant's painting and my mahout was hilarious! Would definitely recommend it for all ages.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

LARISSA R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We were afraid about a group tour, because we didn't find a private option here, but we were luck and it was only me and my husband. The tour was GREAT. The guide was very very smart and patient. We loved the Elephant Camp and the ride to the tribes. The lunch at the orchid farm was very very good. Usually buffets are not very good, but this one was special.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. We had just a small group and everything was efficient from pick up right through the day. The Elephant trek was great along with the river rafting. One of the best trips I have completed in Thailand.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Roong was a wonderful guide, explaining local customs, sights, and clearly explaining what was going to happen during the day. As an added bonus, Roong and our driver stopped at the Tiger Kingdom for about an hour to let us take pictures with the tigers.

The elephant trek was quite enjoyable and we did hike up the Ping river just like in the pictures on Viator. We spent only a few minutes in the hill tribe village. I would have preferred a few more minutes there to look at how they lived.

The river rafting tour took about an hour and was very relaxing. The kids took turns poling the raft down the river, which thrilled them. Fair warning: there's a lot of sun out on the river, so be sure to wear strong sunblock.
-Rob

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

YUQING C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommended! It is probably the most adventurous trip I have ever had! Going through the jungle and across the river with an elephant! And my son has rated this the highest score for the whole Thailand trip!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message