Riding an elephant through the jungle can be one of the most memorable experiences you can have in Thailand. There are more than a dozen elephant camps operating in the Chiang Mai area offering everything from one hour elephant rides to full-day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 126 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Harry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Couldn't Fault the day, picked me up from my hostel on time, the drive was a bit long but there is nothing they could do about that...Plus it gives you time to bond with others on the day tour with you, the elphants were well looked after and they did not allow them to be ridden, the lunch was lovely and the staff were very kind and had good rapport with all the elephants..... 10/10 , would go again

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

Russell K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyable experience interacting with the elephants and their guides. All components were as described. Pick up was on time and comfortable. Facilities were excellent and animals seemed well cared for.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Donna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Viewing how the elephants are cared for, feed, washed and played with was wonderful. Riding on them through the forest was such a unique experience and then up the river was unforgettable. Lunch was lovely after rafting down the river and we shared it with a great bunch of people. our visit to the Orchid farm on the way to the elephants was just beautiful and we snapped off many photos. great tour. thank you

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Carlynn F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great experience, definitely the highlight of our trip to Thailand. Our guide was amazing and we got ample time with the elephants. We had a special bond with our elephant and would highly recommend this excursion. The food during lunch was awesome as well.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Bryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was amazing! From the hotel pickup and drop off, to the lunch buffet, everything was included. We got to visit two orchid farms which was a nice bonus. The highlight was definitely the Mae Sa Elephant Camp. The elephant show and trek along with the tribe visit were both enjoyable.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

Ramona D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fun trip the elephants were enjoyable to watch. A visit to the orchid farm was a plus.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Elephants at Work Tour

Laura B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great experience. Was lovely to feed the elephants and learn about them. Bathing them was the best activity which did not last nearly long enough. All up a worthy day. An experience to remember

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Yosef A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide PEO was absolutely the best! The elephant trekking was incredible through a jungle in the river. The raft down the river was pretty cool to. PEO Even stopped in the village to show us what it was like to live with the locals. It was very informative and a wonderful experience. Romantic, unique, and a special experience - and we even made wonderful friends with another couple on their honeymoon from Canada.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

martin p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant very helpful guide who really looked after us. The elephant sanctuary really seemed to look after the elephants, the show was great we bought the elephant's painting and my mahout was hilarious! Would definitely recommend it for all ages.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

LARISSA R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We were afraid about a group tour, because we didn't find a private option here, but we were luck and it was only me and my husband. The tour was GREAT. The guide was very very smart and patient. We loved the Elephant Camp and the ride to the tribes. The lunch at the orchid farm was very very good. Usually buffets are not very good, but this one was special.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. We had just a small group and everything was efficient from pick up right through the day. The Elephant trek was great along with the river rafting. One of the best trips I have completed in Thailand.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Roong was a wonderful guide, explaining local customs, sights, and clearly explaining what was going to happen during the day. As an added bonus, Roong and our driver stopped at the Tiger Kingdom for about an hour to let us take pictures with the tigers.

The elephant trek was quite enjoyable and we did hike up the Ping river just like in the pictures on Viator. We spent only a few minutes in the hill tribe village. I would have preferred a few more minutes there to look at how they lived.

The river rafting tour took about an hour and was very relaxing. The kids took turns poling the raft down the river, which thrilled them. Fair warning: there's a lot of sun out on the river, so be sure to wear strong sunblock.
-Rob

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

YUQING C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommended! It is probably the most adventurous trip I have ever had! Going through the jungle and across the river with an elephant! And my son has rated this the highest score for the whole Thailand trip!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Shawna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was the best day!!! The guide was so friendly and answered so many of our questions about Thailand and elephants. Riding an elephant through the Thailand jungle was an absolutely unforgettable experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone!!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Jefferson M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This trip was amazing!! Riding the elephants was one of the most incredible experiences of my lifetime. My husband and I were on our honeymoon in Thailand. We saw so many spectacular things, but this trip was by far our favorite thing we did in Thailand. Do it!! You will not regret it.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

firebug4evr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was great! The staff was amazing and had a great time! The elephants were well treated and the stops along the way was fun. Also, the lunch was great not your typical buffet but a plated meal that was the best I had a tour on my whole trip to Thailand!!!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

killrou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful day from beginning to end! The elephant training was breath taking; the jungle trek was the perfect length; the rafting tour was a delight. We had lunch at a lovely resort restaurant. The servers treated us like VIP's. A midst of all that fun, our guide managed to make our trip educational. We strongly recommend this particular tour.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I know some people think that working animals is cruel. But these elephants are treated very well. I absolutely loved this tour. Riding the elephant through the jungle was a bucket list moment for me. I was very lucky that I was the only person on this tour. Pong my guide was excellent. The raft ride down the Mae Ping River was excellent as well very peaceful. The buffet lunch was great and was at the orchid, butterfly park. Hotel pickup and drop off is included in this tour. I stayed at the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel which is excellent. Great day out in this beautiful region of Thailand.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Nicola M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The elephant trekking was amazing, we spent about an hour and a quarter on the elephant, followed by a stunning rafting trip. Followed by a great meal and then visiting a hill tribe. Our guide Peo was fantastic, he knew so much, and was really friendly. This day was the highlight of our holiday!!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Agustin V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour, the elephant show and ride was very entertaining, and the stop at tiger-land was exciting.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

Bob.disley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic day out the elephant safari was brilliant the mahout even caught a snake for tea this really is in the rain forest what a privilege to be in there with these magnificent animals, our guide "Oi "was great too very knowledgable and easy to talk too, the raft ride was at the end was possibly a little too long but nevertheless a fantastic day out and well worth every penny, the last bit if the elephant ride is something else try it you will love it

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Lisa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing! The elephant tour was excellent and one of the elephants even painted a picture of a tree. The elephants walk trought the jungle streams which was a real adventure! They added the tiger kingdom on at the end of the tour which was also one of my favorite parts of Thailand

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fabulous e is the only way I can describe this trip, to be snuggled by a baby elephant is indescribable !! This is definitely a trip worth going on, we would have liked to ave done the whole day trip but my husband has had major surgery, so we thought tis was second best.... It wasn't, it was an amazing experience.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Elephants at Work Tour

D B Robertson G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a majestic experience. One that will never be forgotten. Tour guide went the extra mile to accommodate our needs and spoke great English. Door to door pick up made it stress free. The jungle was spectacular in nature, the elephants graceful and the rafting peaceful. I went home feeling thoroughly content - and pleasantly exhausted. A must do tour!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Laney T United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Chiang Mai is a beautiful place. This tour was small, only 2 people, so it was very easy to enjoy the time provided with the elephants.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message