The northernmost town in Thailand, and one of the few official crossings to Myanmar, Mae Sai is an ideal starting point for tours of the Golden Triangle. The Mae Sai Valley is in Chiang Rai province, and the busy border town at its heart is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent, accommodating guide and driver. Went out of way to be helpful., informative. Just wonderful - made the trip. Excellent driver. Went out of way to be helpful., informative. Just wonderful - made the trip. Excellent driver on tough roads. Went out of way to assist for the one disabled tourist. Really appreciated that. great sense of humor. Got us to places before the crowds.

Doing what: 6-Day Northern Thailand Tour: Ayutthaya, Sukhothai, Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

From the moment we were picked up to the moment we were dropped off we were flooded with information, facts, stories and history. Our guide Suda was terrific. She was extremely outgoing, fun and super knowledgable. She made our time spent with the hill tribes so intimate, it felt as though we were a part of their family. We even got to go inside one of their houses! We were able to ask her so many questions, getting honest answers.

The only unfortunate part of the trip was the lunch. The food was not good, and catered to Western tourists. We would have loved real local spicy Thai food! But the rest of the day made up for it entirely.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hill Tribes and the Golden Triangle Tour from Chiang Rai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were picked up on time by our guide Shannon. We were the only ones on this tour and so we had a chauffeur driven car together with our guide. The car was extremely comfortable and our guide spoke very good English and was excellent. As we was now on a private tour we spent longer at some places than if on a group tour you would have been able to. The places we saw and having the guide tell us all about them was absolutely brilliant. We even slotted in some extra places that the guide thought we should see. The hotel accommodation was very good, although we have found not only on this trip but when you have buffet type food in the restaurants of the hotels, the food lets the hotel down. Perfectly acceptable but not as good as it should be. The evening at Khum Khantoke was very enjoyable and the food was good there. We saw and done so much on this tour and found it fascinating, very enjoyable a great way to see Thailand away from Bangkok.

Doing what: 6-Day Northern Thailand Tour: Ayutthaya, Sukhothai, Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Tour guide and driving person are super nice.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent tour. It requires a long day, but it's completely worth the drive. Each part of the tour was interesting and fun. Our guide was terrific.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Got picked up from our hotel on time and we were the only passengers so the tour guide gave us other options to add to our tour which was great, got to see so much country side and the long neck tribe village, the white temple, the golden triangle and up to the Burmese border, great day! Well worth

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

It was well organised and friendly guide.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

ChrissieX
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

We were blessed that we were the only two on the tour, so we could tweak for what we preferred - ie we added the boat to Laos at Mekong River rather than the village tribes, as had done that before on a hike during previous visit. Excellent day ... very full but not "too long". The drive was full of great views and commentary when required, quiet time when needed. The whole itinerary was superb and rewarding.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Trip very well organized, just as advertised.
For those who have more time, I would consider sleeping in Chiang Rai as it is a long trip.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very cool tour...opted to go into Myanmar (another passport stamp) and I know that stretched the day a bit more, but our guide Meow was more than happy to accomodate us.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Darren S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Fantastic tour, the guide and driver were first rate. Got to see all the fun sites (including a visit to Laos) with fantastic scenery along the way and did not feel hurried at any time during the tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Adnan H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A great fun filled adventure. Good experience of dropping into Myanmar and also a Laotian island. The guide was very friendly and took some lovely pics.
The White Temple is gorgeous.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Andrew F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Excellent guides, terrific places, well worth doing for a new visitor to the area.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Absolutely wonderful. Guide was great and arrived at hotel on time. Would recommend this trip and online booking service to anyone. Thanks for making this wonderful experience so simple and easy.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message