The northern city of Chiang Rai will appeal to those who like a slower pace of life. It may appear to lack "must-see" attractions, but its temples, hill tribe villages, and excursions into the countryside warrant staying for a few ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The guide and driver were excellent. The guide was very knowledgeable about the places we visited. The restaurant was very average compared to some other ones that we have been taken to on other tours. Overall a very enjoyable day. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

From the moment we were picked up to the moment we were dropped off we were flooded with information, facts, stories and history. Our guide Suda was terrific. She was extremely outgoing, fun and super knowledgable. She made our time spent with the hill tribes so intimate, it felt as though we were a part of their family. We even got to go inside one of their houses! We were able to ask her so many questions, getting honest answers.

The only unfortunate part of the trip was the lunch. The food was not good, and catered to Western tourists. We would have loved real local spicy Thai food! But the rest of the day made up for it entirely.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hill Tribes and the Golden Triangle Tour from Chiang Rai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Excellent, excellent, excellent!!!!!! Everything about this tour was fantastic!!!! Our tour guide was fabulous. He actually walked the entire elephant trek and was very informative about the areas we visited. What a trooper! I recommend this tour to everyone... but also warn that they should be prepared for a bit of a rough elephant ride no complaints here - it was wonderful.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Adventure, Hilltribes and Mae Kok River Trip from Chiang Rai

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a tour which almost ended up as a disaster! I misread the pickup hotel and thought it was Chiang Mai only to find upon confirmation when we arrived at our hotel it was Chiang Rai. Eventually it was worked out by your wonderful agent though we did pay $100 more than what we had already paid. So the driver picked us up (once again looking for another racial group) and drove the three hours to Chiang Rai plus giving us a private tour leaving some of the sightseeing decisions to us. All in all we had an enjoyable day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Rai City Sightseeing

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good tour. Although controversial, I enjoyed the Karen tribe tour. It was good to learn their history and the reasons why they have moved into Thailand and allow people to visit their camps. I also enjoyed the walk across the border I to Myanmar and then zipping around in the tuk tuk from temple to temple.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The guide was very good and knowledgeable and helpful. But the vehicle provided was inadequate for 6 people. People in back seat were very tight and uncomfortable !

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fabulous! Guide was knowledgeable and tour was interesting. Guide was flexible when we didn't like the first choice of restaurant he found another one that met our needs. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is guide showed up late at our hotel and we were worried that there was a problem with the arrangements.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Wonderful! The boat ride has beautiful scenery! The mountains! The visit to the tribes is interesting, but I guess I was expecting more. I don't know why I was expecting the elephant ride to take to the hilltribes. But it's separate. The ride is long and do take sunscreen and a hat. If its sunny, you will bake. The waterfalls were wonderful, specially after the elephant ride. But overall, it was a great experience. Lunch was really good..

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Adventure, Hilltribes and Mae Kok River Trip from Chiang Rai

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Loved our tour guide Tom. Tribe tour was a bit commercial but Tom gave us much information and you came away with a wealth of information

Doing what: Private Tour: Hill Tribes and the Golden Triangle Tour from Chiang Rai

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Overall our stay was pleasant. I believe at one time this was a 4star hotel. It is tired looking and needs updating. The staff is very pleasant. Beware hidden charges-water in room is free- 10 steps to restaurant and you're charged three dollarafor same item. Same is true about asking for an additional bed. Took two days to straighten out that mischarge.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Adventure, Hilltribes and Mae Kok River Trip from Chiang Rai

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

This tour was a waste of money because the tour guide was terrible. The elephant ride was the only good thing, but could have been done much cheaper by going there by taxi and hiring the elephant ourselves. The rest of the tour was a waste of time and money, the tour guide didn't know anything. We were supposed to visit 5 hill villages and the tour guide didn't know the difference, he said things like, "there is a building". When we asked the significance, he didn't know. He seemed to be some sort of Christian missionary and only talked about Christianity and pointed out churches. This might be acceptable in some places, but Thailand is not a Christian country (less than half a percent according to the guide).

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Adventure, Hilltribes and Mae Kok River Trip from Chiang Rai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message