Winding its way through the heart of the Windy City, the Chicago River flows past some of the city’s most spectacular architecture, especially downtown. Here, river walks dotted with restaurants take you under some of the movable bridges that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1553 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laura L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Crew did a great job! It was cold and they were sensitive without making too big a deal! Jaime, Tila, spinach, hack? and Brenden at sales were very helpful and well informed. We plan to go again and bring other visitors.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Annabelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome tour with an awesome guide! Very entertaining and great to learn a lot about the beautiful Chicago!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Danny G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

A very nice boat ride.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

habsfan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

It was uncomfortably cold and the lower level did not have the sides covered up to retain heat.

Unless you are a big architecture enthusiast, I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

habsfan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Very cold and staff could have covered lower level to retain heat.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Petra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice people, even stopped the bus to get me a hot dog. Loved it

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

MR A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Just the right length. Our amusing guide made the time fly!

Doing what: Chicago City Tour with Optional River Cruise

Kim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The driver was very informative.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Tracey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic experience! Our tour guide was well-informed...on the structural features of the architecture, the history of the city and current events surrounding the changes of the riverside landscape. The bartender was congenial, full of recommendations and the prices were totally reasonable. I highly recommend this tour, even if you aren't sure if you are interested in the architecture, she made it interesting! Highly recommend...for sure!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Kris K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fun tour with very generous servings of food and drinks. We had a lot of trouble 'finding' our guide and spent a lot of time trying to phone the company to no avail ... no answer! Communication needs improving but the tour was good.

Doing what: Tastes of Chicago Walking Tour: Chicago-Style Pizza, Beer, Brownies and Hot Dogs

Mary Ellen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was excellent. Ray was our tour guide and did an awesome job. He kept us laughing with his jokes and was very informative. Only wish was that we could have stopped for photos at the bean. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Chicago City Tour with Optional River Cruise

norm.fisk Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour was very good. Covered all the major city architecture.

Doing what: Chicago City Tour with Optional River Cruise

Elayne A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour was enjoyable and gave a good overview of Chicago neighborhoods

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Hoang N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Awesome bus driver/tour guide.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Jakob F

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Ok but not that exciting.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Marina

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

We like the tour but have a driver and tour guide in one person wasn't the best. We didn't feel connected, the driver couldn't see the group's reaction to his narrative. Also it was somewhat difficult to understand our guide.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

calambert

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It was a great way to know about the city and the special points of interest.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Jakob F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Ok but kind of boring. Got to get youself oriented though.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Susan F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour itself was wonderful. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. FIVE STARS. The booking process is another story. ONE STAR. We were booked on tour across the river, but all of the information was from a competitor company. We parked where we were told that there was a discount with a ticket, and arrived on time where directed and were surprised to see that the tour was now at noon. On trying to board, we were told that our tickets were only good across the river. After a long walk and many stairs, we got to the right place. The person in the booth was most helpful and got us on the next tour. It all worked out. There was no discount on parking with this tour.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Cynthia S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I fully expected to have a bus driver and tour guide, but ended up with one person doing both jobs. He seemed very knowledgeable and gave a great tour. However, I would recommend that he be given a headset so that he doesn't have to hold a microphone with one hand and drive a full-sized coach bus with the other.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Camilo R

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The driver is the guide too, poor interaction. Very old bus.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Diana U

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Tour was interesting if you enjoy driving through neighborhoods and almost running over pedestrians and hitting cars. I know the tour guide tried hard, but his voice squealed up and down for 4 hours. He spoke. Like. This, And then. This. I found it incredibly hard to understand what he was saying because my ears hurts so badly. The tour does give you a warm ride in a coach bus through the cold, windy city however.

Finding the actual tour office/ meet up place proved a task. I kept calling but the person answering couldn't give me a clear description. It's inside a gift store inside a building. The taxi driver dropped us off at the wrong building also because he was unfamiliar with where the office was as well.

Overall, it was a decent tour.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Jennifer V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

If your not familiar with the city and how to get around to see the amazing architecture then this is the way to go.. our driver was very nice and informative about the city and its history

Doing what: Chicago City Tour with Optional River Cruise

Richard M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour was ok but we definitely has issues. The bus that came to pick us up at the hotel crashed into a taxi so we were about an hour late to our tour. Tour guide spoke so fast very hard to understand. He was very knowledgeable about the city but we only got about 70 percent of the info.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

David S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

This was the most disappointing part of our Chicago visit. Before making this reservation, we read scores of reviews on Trip Advisor, Viator and other sites. We knew from these reviews to absolutely avoid Gray Line Chicago. Well, only after we made the Viator reservation did we find out the tour was operated by Gray Line. We now see may virtually every user gave Gray Line 1 star many wanted to give Gray Line a ZERO.

This Grand Half-Day Tour actually involved about 2 hours, 40 minutes of actual touring. Clearly our guide was more concerned about watching NFL playoff games and pre-game activities. Even some of the advertised sights were skipped.

We feel that Viator mislead us, and we will trust neither Viator nor Trip Advisor in the future due to this fraudulent lack of disclosure.

PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message