Winding its way through the heart of the Windy City, the Chicago River flows past some of the city’s most spectacular architecture, especially downtown. Here, river walks dotted with restaurants take you under some of the movable bridges that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 667 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I can't imagine how this tour could have been more entertaining. From the moment we departed we were engaged with stunning visuals and lively information. Our guide was truly one in a million. His joy and enthusiasm for Chicago was honest and uplifting.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The boat was steady and comfortable. Plenty of seats -- no bad views. Tour guide was really engaging and funny. Easy to hear thanks to microphone.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Even though it was mighty cool the day we went, it was well worth it. We had done the hop-on-off bus tour but this one takes you directly beside many buildings. The tour commentator was charming, informative and knew when to stop talking so you could just enjoy the scenery. The length of the tour was just right. The boat was open and gave you an UNOBSTRUCTED view.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a fun way to learn about Chicago. We saw things we would not have seen otherwise and learned lots of interesting facts about the town. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly and the food samples were generous. We were really pleased that the tour was not cancelled despite there being only two of us signed up.

Doing what: Tastes of Chicago Walking Tour: Chicago-Style Pizza, Beer, Cupcakes and Hot Dogs

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour. Tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable. That coupled with the amazing views make this tour very worthwhile and highly recommended.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Mike was a TREMENDOUS guide. Very knowledgeable and well-spoken and was able to quickly answer all questions. I just had knee replacement surgery so tour was a bit longer of a walk than I expected, but overall it was a GREAT tour that I would recommend to all new visitors to Chicago.

Doing what: Tastes of Chicago Walking Tour: Chicago-Style Pizza, Beer, Cupcakes and Hot Dogs

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It was a very cold day. The guide was very personable and knowledgable. The only thing is he went so fast that it was hard to absorb all the information. I would suggest leaving out some content and go a bit slower.
Back to the weather. It was so cold that I stood in the back to be a bit warmer. I don't know if it's feasible, but they should hand out blankets. Or if they sold hats and scarfs on board I, for one, would have bought them.
Also, hand out a flyer with drawings and descriptions of the buildings. I think they could afford to do that at those ticket prices.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

75 min was too long. Went on round and round on the same route more than once.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

So fun! Our tour guide, Gabe, was so great, fun, and informative. The food was delicious, and we were stuffed by the end. Money well spent! Tip your tour guide!

Doing what: Tastes of Chicago Walking Tour: Chicago-Style Pizza, Beer, Cupcakes and Hot Dogs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I enjoyed myself on this tour. The food is amazing. Karen our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable. I got a chance to see all the buildings downtown.

Doing what: Tastes of Chicago Walking Tour: Chicago-Style Pizza, Beer, Cupcakes and Hot Dogs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a fantastic tour. Taste of Chicago.
Got to learn a lot about the history of Chicago and it's amazing architecture..along with a bite to eat and a couple of nice craft beers.
Our guide Gabe was very knowledgable and very friendly, we had a great time.

Neil and Kat Williams
Australia

Doing what: Tastes of Chicago Walking Tour: Chicago-Style Pizza, Beer, Cupcakes and Hot Dogs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The guide was fantastic...great information. .

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Beautiful way to see all the great buildings as well as views of Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Interesting and good story-telling about chicago

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Excellent tour. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and new his stuff. This made for a great tour.
We did this tour in November and it was very damp and cold. We froze on this tour. Otherwise, we would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

the tour was really good, however, the guide didn't articulate her words properly and spoke far too fast. I know that she had to keep up with the speed of the boat but she mumbled the words and considering that there are many, many non-English speakers, the guide should try harder.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour guide!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very nice and relaxing tour from a boat perspective. No traffic or limited view like in a vehicle. Recommended

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We have been to Chicago several times, but was bringing a visitor and decided to do the tour. It was amazing! Food was great, lots of Chicago history, and our tour guide Gabe was outstanding! The walking tour was fantastic, but we will go back and do the bike tour also.

Doing what: Tastes of Chicago Walking Tour: Chicago-Style Pizza, Beer, Cupcakes and Hot Dogs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely incredible! The highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved the cruise. Chicago is a beautiful and architecturally eclectic city!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message