Winding its way through the heart of the Windy City, the Chicago River flows past some of the city’s most spectacular architecture, especially downtown. Here, river walks dotted with restaurants take you under some of the movable bridges that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1427 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

If your not familiar with the city and how to get around to see the amazing architecture then this is the way to go.. our driver was very nice and informative about the city and its history

Doing what: Chicago City Tour with Optional River Cruise

David S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

This was the most disappointing part of our Chicago visit. Before making this reservation, we read scores of reviews on Trip Advisor, Viator and other sites. We knew from these reviews to absolutely avoid Gray Line Chicago. Well, only after we made the Viator reservation did we find out the tour was operated by Gray Line. We now see may virtually every user gave Gray Line 1 star many wanted to give Gray Line a ZERO.

This Grand Half-Day Tour actually involved about 2 hours, 40 minutes of actual touring. Clearly our guide was more concerned about watching NFL playoff games and pre-game activities. Even some of the advertised sights were skipped.

We feel that Viator mislead us, and we will trust neither Viator nor Trip Advisor in the future due to this fraudulent lack of disclosure.

PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Ted L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was the highlight of our Chicago visit! The narrator was lively and informative, the views from the river were beyond spectacular. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone planning a Chicago visit.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Guillermo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

this was awesome...thank you so much for the experience.. i can't wait to repeat it!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great boat and host - very amusing and knowledgeable. I think this is probably the best introduction to Chicago that you can get.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Henyerbert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Its a very interesting tour, the only bad thing its that the tour its moving all time and sometimes you want to stop to take some pictures and you can't.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Terri' F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Even though I am a native Chicagoan I thoroughly enjoyed the river cruise and learned some new things. It was also great to get a different perspective on so many of the buildings!

However, I was disappointed because I was told that all I had to do was present by computer generated ticket and it was disappointing that after standing in line, once we got to the front of the line we had to go back to the ticket booth to secure different tickets and therefore lost our place in line and didn't get the seats or area we planned to sit in.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Trish

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Just ordinary. Very pleasant driver who tried to entertain us. As we three family members were the only tourists on board it was probably difficult for him. The tour was over before the time was up.
However, we don't have any real co9mplaints.

Doing what: Chicago City Tour with Optional River Cruise

Mark W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Guide was so bad that we got off the bus after one hour first stop and took an Uber back to the hotel and walked the city. If he is going........to talk......with......dramatic pause ......then he should take some classes on how to use them! Horrible. Thanks for the headache.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Hector R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent service, very knowledgeable of Chicago's history and good drinks.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Bob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a must do 4 hour tour of the city. The tour was informative and include all the highlights of the city. I felt like I knew the city and it's history and where to go afterwards. A and 10 GOLD STARS!!

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

HUMBERTO B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Beautiful ride w/ amazing sightseeing !!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Debra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was fantastic! Had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Colleen C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour was great. I had never been to Chicago the bus driver and tour guide were very knowledge on Chicago and the sites. Enjoy stops to take pictures. My only complaint is I booked the tour to pick us up at our hotel and the tour company did not receive our reservation. I booked a 10am tour however, I was rescheduled for the 12pm. The tour company did pick us up at our hotel.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Jason G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This tour was excellent. The commentator was very knowledgeable about architecture and there is a lot in Chicago and kept it very interesting. He even threw in a couple of songs to entertain us. Definitely worth doing to see a different view of the city.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Tim M Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Driver is the guide and was a wealth of knowledge delivering facts as well as humour. Definitely worth the money, I thought. Hotel pickup was a night option

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Derek H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour,driver was very knowledgable and imformative,and i would recommend this trip to everybody.

Doing what: Chicago City Tour with Optional River Cruise

Jason G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The tour was great. Very informative and a great way to hear and see the city highlights if you only have a short amount of time. However the pickup process was awful. The driver was in an unmarked coach, so we were unsure if we were even getting on the right bus. The driver was rude, and did not advise what we were doing and where we were going. By the time we got to the destination we were half an hour late, and we had to shorten the trip as a result. Upon arrival at the tour start, there was still confusion about what bus we should be on. It was very poorly handled. I would be reluctant to use this company again.

Doing what: Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour

Margaret R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

So much history in the old buildings of Chicago was amazingly! Our guide was so enjoyable filled with history knowledge and humor wish the ride could have gone on longer. Day was perfect!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Amanda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was absolutely the best!!! He was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour! Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience! A treat we'd been looking forward to for quite some time. Guide was knowledgeable and well aware of points of interest. Thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous driver, Great narration, on time pick-up, and special consideration for my 94 year old mother on the tour--What more could I ask for!

Doing what: Chicago City Tour with Optional River Cruise

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was great and cannot suggest any way to improve it.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My tour guide, Sarah, was absolutely one of the best tour guides I have ever had. Her encyclopedic knowledge of Chicago's buildings, building materials, architecture, architects, and history was breathtaking. She delivered it clearly, understandably, and with great humor. I came away with a new and deeper appreciation for the city and its wonderful architecture. I would recommend this tour to anyone. And give Sarah a raise!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Beautiful city. Nice and clean. Frendly people. Our tour guide Jim was very informative with a querky sense oh humor.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message