• USD ($)
  • English

Chicago ATTRACTIONS See all

Hancock Observatory and Tower

The third-tallest building in Chicago at 1,127 feet (343 meters), the Hancock Observatory and Tower stands proudly amidst affluent North Michigan Avenue. An elevator whisks you 94 floors up for stellar, panoramic views of Lake Michigan and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 289 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A good deal. Luv that we could skip the lines especially at Willis tower where wait time was 2 hours and it took us 15 minutes! We saw all the attractions in 5 days as we spent in some places only a few hours. Would have felt cheated if we had paid full fare and left a venue early. A good deal for a fair price.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A lot depends how long you have in Chicago and would suggest purchase this if you are staying for 3 days or more. Chicago is a big city and things look closer on a map but to get a true picture of the city it is best to walk. The available events on this pass are far apart but well worth doing. The big advantage is you do not have to queue at venues as the pass gives you express entry. This came into its own at the Shedd Aquarium where we went straight in and others were queuing for 90 mins. in the heat - 90 degrees. The Aquarium is well worth doing and is different to your normal aquariums and even have a show arena with beluga whales. Care at the Adler Planetarium - there are several different shows but they only show once a day so look up in advance if there is something particular you want to see. However if you are into space and the moon there is lots to see and to do. We went in the Hancock tower - try the tilt if you dare and the Willis - your ears pop on the way up. If you are staying north of the river then there is a ferry from the city or Navy Pier to take you to the Shedd, Adler and History Museum that are all together

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Awesome views over the Chicago skyline and surroundings.

Doing what: 360 Chicago (formerly John Hancock Observatory) Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We arrived late afternoon - no queues and plenty of room in the Observatory. The more or less obligatory photographs on admission and when doing 'The Tilt' are unnecessary.

The views were spectacular and the information boards were very useful. Would include 'The Tilt' as part of the normal admission price and allow people to take their own photographs.

Doing what: 360 Chicago (formerly John Hancock Observatory) Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Well worth the miney. Best part was being able to get through lines quickly as there was no money being transferred.

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

I would not do this again. Granted you are not responsible for the weather (rain), but just trying to figure out how to use the card was frustrating. No one was very helpful. In short, it was a waste of money and a big disappointment.

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really enjoyed having the Go Chicago card on my recent trip to Chicago. I had just a few days to explore the city, and this made it easy to make sure I did some of the highlights including Skydeck Chicago (at Willis Tower), 360 Chicago (at the John Hancock Observatory) and a fun hop-on hop-off bus tour around the city, which gave a great introduction to the city and helped me decide which places I wanted to visit in more depth.

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great trip! The GO Chicago card was really worth the investment.

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

Michael S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent value and easy to utilise.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Owen D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great value for money entry to all the city's major attractions

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great value!!! I wish I would have had more time to enjoy!!!

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent!! New 'Tilt' feature had just opened on the day we went so that was an added bonus (extra $5.00)

Doing what: 360 Chicago (formerly John Hancock Observatory) Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good value but be warned the Shedd entry is the most basic and all extras cost a lot more. Same for the Field museum.

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We had 3 days to spend in Chicago, and wasted a lot of the morning of the second day picking up the card and information booklet. There should be advice that the card can be picked up at any time, and the two days limit does not start till the first use. That would have been very beneficial to us. We enjoyed the river cruise, and visit to Robie house, and John Hancock Tower, but could have done a lot more if we had picked the card up earlier.

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Poor value for money!! What you are not told is that the card is not valid after 5.30pm for ALL the stated attractions despite advertising the entrance times. We couldn't exchange the voucher until 9am at the earliest so realistically we had just over 8 hours to see what we wanted. Our idea was to see the Chicago skyline at night from the 360 observation deck but had to pay again to do so. Also the hop on - hop off bus company was really the poor example of the companies offering this tour. The buses were really poorly maintained, the microphones did not work and the guides had to shout at the drivers to stop at certain places. The staff were also pretty scruffy with no uniform dress. Lastly the buses only ran every 45 minutes - hardly hop on - hop off.certain

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message