Chicago ATTRACTIONS See all

Hancock Observatory and Tower

The third-tallest building in Chicago at 1,127 feet (343 meters), the Hancock Observatory and Tower stands proudly amidst affluent North Michigan Avenue. An elevator whisks you 94 floors up for stellar, panoramic views of Lake Michigan and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 317 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent choice if you have 4-6 days in Chicago and want to see the best of it.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Was a great deal.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

No problems. Good commentary and all buses arrived in timely fashion.

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Arrived just before 9am expecting a long queue but only 5 other people waiting, so went straight up in the lift and had the observation area to ourselves. fantastic views from all four sides of the tower grate photo experience.

Doing what: 360 Chicago (formerly John Hancock Observatory) Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We purchased the 3 day Go Chicago card. It paid for itself by day 2 so day 3 admissions and part of our lunches were free! Also being able to skip lines (some were still long but not as long as the pay admissions lines) was a huge plus and time saver. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The experience wasn't bad. No waiting time was encountered. The windows were clean enough for photos. The crowds didn't really show until sunset. Tripods are not permitted. Getting photos in low level light was difficult. The other difficult parts of the equation were waiting for too many tourists taking selfies and the rambunctious children jumping on surrogate railing used to study the camera. The views to the north (Magnificent Mile), southwest (Navy Pier) and southeast (Loop skyline) are incredible. This was a worthwhile excursion.

Doing what: 360 Chicago (formerly John Hancock Observatory) Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I would recommend getting the Go Chicago Card because it allows you to really tour the city at your leisure and to be able to get great discounts along the way. Go Chicago!

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The views were stunning but we also paid for tour but for the price I would have expected the tilt part to be included, they wanted extra for this. Staff did not seem to be aware of what we had paid for was embarrassing trying to explain. Sorted it out in end but was disappointed that it was headphones and not an actual guide. Should have received a gift which did not materialise. Having said that the views were fabulous especially on the day we went

Doing what: 360 Chicago (formerly John Hancock Observatory) Admission

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Great view. There was no benefit in wait time on buying pass from via tour, was made to wait as if we had just walked up with nothing. This facility had an additional cost for everything, the "tilt" was an extra, etc.

Doing what: 360 Chicago (formerly John Hancock Observatory) Admission

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

We reached Chicago around 9AM that day and went to collect the GoChicago cards around 9:15AM at the office. There were no 1-Day cards available at this place and the we were asked to go to Macy's to collect the cards. The Macy's was not open until 11:00AM being it was Sunday. So, we lost almost 3 hours for getting the passes and effected all our plans very badly.

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everyone should buy this. It is a HUGE time and money saver.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Other than the money saved, the Fast Pass access more than justifies getting this. This is no joke -- I skipped a 2hr long line at the Skydeck and at the Acquarium and 1hr line at Art Museum n Hancock bldg as I went in the middle of the summer!!...the length of these lines-astonishing!!!

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were very happy with our decision to use the Chicago City Pass. We were able to experience 5 attractions that we wanted to see. Having the City Pass was a great value as well as convenient. One highlight was the Sky Deck where we were able to pass right by a large line of people waiting for tickets and the elevators.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Chicago Go Card is the only best way to see all of Chicago! Great value.

Doing what: Go Chicago Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message