Chicago ATTRACTIONS See all

Museum of Science and Industry

There's no chance of visitors to the Museum of Science and Industry being under-stimulated. With some 2,000 exhibits to see, this massive Chicago museum is touted as the largest science museum in the Western Hemisphere and enlightens children and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marcia C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent for line cutting at skydeck. Down side - city pass had the longest line at the museum of science and industry.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Frederick T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I was very happy with my Chicago City Pass experience. The best result was being able to skip the enormous line for the Willis Sears Tower Sky Deck. At other places, especially the Museum of Science and Industry, the City Pass line was actually longer than the other lines, alas. Even so, the clerks at the tour sites knew exactly what to do with the Passes.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

robert f

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Ordered tickets online night before I flew got immediate email back confirming confirmation and voucher to print
Went to museum of science on Presidents' Day it was very busy but walked to the front of the line handed over my voucher and received my city pass booklet Very easy

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

dpaluch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

You definitely need the 3 day pass. This includes the neighbourhoods as well as the night tour for the lights. Tour guides were excellent especially Alessia that does the trolley to the South for the Museum of Science and Industry..........A MUST!! Don't miss the Shedd Aquarium also. What a great city.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

SarahCA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We got the 5 day and did some research to make sure it was worth it. Totally was. We did on average about 2 attractions today and saved about $70. Our favorites were the architecture tour, science and industry museum, and the art institute. We have already recommended getting the go card to others.

Doing what: Chicago Explorer Pass

curlysue_316

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was great because I was able to do a lot more with this pass. The sky deck had a really long line and we went passed a ton of people I actually felt sorry for them. It came with a few discounts at some of the gifts shops so that was nice. I went to the art institute I am no into art at all so I should have done something else. My fav was the museum of science that is not to be missed,

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Rebekah A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

I booked the 3 day ticked via Viator and picked up the bus one block from my hotel at the base of Hancock Tower. The routes combine the double decker buses and smaller trolleys. The week I visited it rained every day! So the trolleys were more favourable to keep dry! I did go upstairs on a double decker once and was given a free plastic poncho but when it poured with rain even the poncho couldn't save us - the weather was awful!
All of the guides that I had were great (all except one called Ebony that hardly said anything and when she did she told us what were were passing but we could read it ourselves eg 'there is Prada, there is Gucci'....um thanks we can see that! I only realised how bad she was when i hear all the others!).
Ok but back to the positive! The rest of the guides were great! I don't remember names I'm afraid but I had one that knew loads about movies, one that knew loads about history, one that knew about the music scene etc. I learnt loads! Most were quite funny too and all upbeat. One african- american trolley driver was so good - and it turns out it was only his 2nd day on the job so he was apologising for missing stuff - but truth is he was one of the best already! Good job!
On the first day i rode the whole signature route just to see everything. The next 2 days I used it to get to specific places. I rode the 'south route' to get to the Science Museum and I was the only customer on board so had a great one on one tour with the driver who drove me past the Obama house, and coming back the driver took me through the University campus! Fantastic!
The agents kerb-side offer discount tickets on the main attractions like Hancock Tower etc.

I recommend this company for an easy and fun was to see all the highlights of Chicago as a first time visitor.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Michelle U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

City Pass is Great. We went to the aquarium and enjoyed the 4D movie- Creatures of the Deep and the beluga whale show. We spent half a day at the Field Museum and loved being able to see the speical exhibits- Biolluminescence and the Bug Room. the three D movie was great. At the Art Insitue we were impressed by the special exhibit of Impressionism and fashion. The SkyLedge was amazing! What a fantastic view. My daughter really liked the Museum of Science and iNdustry and I enjoyed the Hancock Observatory. Excellent product to offer visitors!

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Philip S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Brilliant offer to see some of the major - and therefore busy - spots in town. We bypassed a ninety minute wait at the Skydeck which straight away made it worthwhile. Plan your day around the other offers; the science museum in Hyde Park is definitely worth the trip out to Obama territory. I'd skip the Planetarium and use the ticket for the Art Museum which, contrary to advice in our guide book, is not free on Thursday evenings. So, good to structure your visit and beat the crowds.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

atorres

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Please add the science museum on your list next time. Overall, it was great. I will try your Paris hop on hop off next year. Thanks.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Andrew Dennis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Used the card over five days and saw all the museums the favourite being the Science and Nature museum although we brought add ons to see the animal inside out, U boat and mine exhibits. Good card if staying for a weeks vacation as best to do a museum a day as it becomes tiring and you can get museumed out. Plenty of other things to see in Chicago as well, enjoy.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Mak

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent...City Pass made us VIP and we entered the lift bypassing the huge queue. People in the queue was looking on us and admiring. Our two friends who do not have the City Pass, they have to be queued and arrived after 1:30 hrs at the Skydeck. The only thing I want to suggest for the PASS that it should offer to visit 5 places of our own choice. As we want to visit Museum of Science and Industry instead of Art Museum, but it didn't allow. So, our Art Museum ticket was wasted. Overall, its a very good PASS

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Brendan D Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Great value for money and you must see the museum of science it is well worth it

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Shaun P Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Well worth the money. Be smart and don't try to do too much at once. The Shedd and the Planetarium can be accomplished in one day, but the Field will take a day by itself as will the Museum of Science and Industry. Be prepared for a big line-up coming down from the Willis Sears Tower..City Pass allows you to skip the line going up but not coming down.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Susanne B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This pass was brilliant! Not only do you skip the majority of the line but you end up with bonuses like 2 IMax shows for the price of 1 etc. The only down side, sometimes the museums have free entry days. In my case the Museum of Science and Industry was free all month so I paid to get in when I didn't need to. Check out what the free days are during your trip and you might save yourself some money.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Yuriy P Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Museum of Science and Industry not interesting. Exhibition is pretty old. Better change to museum like Art Institute of Chicago or give a chance to make a choice.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Joyce H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

Our City Pass was for museums. My twelve-year old son said it was too much to do, but we visited The Museum of Science and Industry on the first day and watched a chick hatch (my son's favorite thing). Day two was the Adler Planetarium and the Hancock Observatory. Day three Shedd's Aquarium and The Field Museum. It was a fabulous trip, the City Pass was worth every penny. I brag to my friends what a value it was considering admittance for two to most of these museums is $40! City Pass also covered movies and special attractions at each museum.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The Chicago City Pass allowed us to avoid the long lines of people waiting to buy tickets. It was definitely a saving over individual admission tickets. A person could spend an entire day at either the Field Museum or Museum of Science and Industry. However, at both of these museums there were exhibits that were not covered by the price of admission, but cost extra. There were nice exhibits, but should have been included in the admission price. This is more of an issue with the museum pricing policy than the City Pass.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message