Chicago is famous for its Art Deco and skyscraper architecture, so taking a tour of the Windy City's architectural highs and lows is a great way to get to know the Windy City. The city has fostered landmark modern architects like Frank Lloyd ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 610 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A valuable insight into the interior architecture of some of Chicago's best buildings. A knowledgeable and friendly guide too.

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Inside the Architecture of the Loop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I can't imagine how this tour could have been more entertaining. From the moment we departed we were engaged with stunning visuals and lively information. Our guide was truly one in a million. His joy and enthusiasm for Chicago was honest and uplifting.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Benjamin was fun, entertainig, informative and made the 2hrs go by very quickly. Lots of tidbits of info you wouldn't normally come across unless you did a tour like this. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Chicago Segway Art & Architectural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The boat was steady and comfortable. Plenty of seats -- no bad views. Tour guide was really engaging and funny. Easy to hear thanks to microphone.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Even though it was mighty cool the day we went, it was well worth it. We had done the hop-on-off bus tour but this one takes you directly beside many buildings. The tour commentator was charming, informative and knew when to stop talking so you could just enjoy the scenery. The length of the tour was just right. The boat was open and gave you an UNOBSTRUCTED view.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kevin the tour guide was very knowledgeable about the rich history of Chi-town. He added so much more to the tour with his singing and playing the harmonica absolutely fabulous time. Highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to know about Chi-town!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great moderator, great city. A highlight of our first trip to Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour. Tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable. That coupled with the amazing views make this tour very worthwhile and highly recommended.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It was a very cold day. The guide was very personable and knowledgable. The only thing is he went so fast that it was hard to absorb all the information. I would suggest leaving out some content and go a bit slower.
Back to the weather. It was so cold that I stood in the back to be a bit warmer. I don't know if it's feasible, but they should hand out blankets. Or if they sold hats and scarfs on board I, for one, would have bought them.
Also, hand out a flyer with drawings and descriptions of the buildings. I think they could afford to do that at those ticket prices.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

75 min was too long. Went on round and round on the same route more than once.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour! Vicky was great! Very knowledgeable, interesting and made the tour very fun. I learned a lot and enjoyed the tour very much!!

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Inside the Architecture of the Loop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a fantastic walking tour. Our guide was delightful and the outside and inside of the buildings we went into were quite spectacular. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Art Deco Architecture

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An informative tour highlighting key buildings and information about Chicago. A very pleasant and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Inside the Architecture of the Loop

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Tour guide was excellent. The tour was interesting and could have been made better by being longer so we could see more example of Art Deco in Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Art Deco Architecture

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

the guide is helpful and informative. It's a special experience for us to immerse in the Art Deco Architecture by walking through these fantastic building.

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Art Deco Architecture

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It's a definately a great detour tour! Knowing Chicago and those interesting secrets could never be so amazing! Our guide was so funny and was making interesting conversations throughout the tour! I'll definately recommend to someone who's interested to know chicago a different way!

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Inside the Architecture of the Loop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Chicago insider in more ways than one. You will learn all sorts of info even the natives don't know and this is the perfect tour for a super hot or super cold day or rainy day since it's mostly inside. The trip is enriched by iPad videos and photos that put what's in front of you in historic and cultural perspective and the info is supported by extensive research which is delivered by an enthusiastic and informed guide. This is definitely worth the time and money.

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Inside the Architecture of the Loop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Vicki was terrific, a great two hours of history ! We especially liked the photos and videos that she had that helped us see what Chicago had been like or what a building had looked like . Super tour!

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Inside the Architecture of the Loop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The guide was fantastic...great information. .

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Beautiful way to see all the great buildings as well as views of Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This your was super informative and full of surprises

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Inside the Architecture of the Loop

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Interesting and good story-telling about chicago

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Excellent tour. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and new his stuff. This made for a great tour.
We did this tour in November and it was very damp and cold. We froze on this tour. Otherwise, we would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

the tour was really good, however, the guide didn't articulate her words properly and spoke far too fast. I know that she had to keep up with the speed of the boat but she mumbled the words and considering that there are many, many non-English speakers, the guide should try harder.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message