When visiting Chicago, one of the best ways to explore the city is by boat on the Chicago River and Lake Michigan. Seeing the city by cruise allows you to enjoy a unique vantage point and many cruises often focus in on an interesting topic for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 174 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly informative, interesting, and tour guide Jim was EXCELLENT!!! Would take tour again next time in town, at night, for a different view. Sunset cruise on lakefront was excellent too!!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Matthew Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The cruise was fantastic, definitely worth the money. Our tour guide was exceptionally good.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Rita B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had an absolutely fantastic time on our river cruise last night! Our guild Victor, was sooo full of information, history and humor. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting a different perspective of the city...

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Dan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our group had a greT time. The tour guide was informative and fun to listen to. I highly recommend taking advantage of the river cruise opportunity

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Pei Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The architecture tour is fantastic. Cruise is enjoyable and I get a great knowledge of Chicago architecture! This is my TOP 1 recommendation for things to do in Chicago! You should do it too!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Noreen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous day with an excellent tour guide! She was knowledgeable and funny and never once stopped explaining what we seeing! Highly recommend leaving from Navy Pier. So much to see before or after the cruise.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Ryan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was AMAZING - besides being a beautiful river cruise, it was highly entertaining and informative.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Martin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Terrific and interesting cruise. Excellent crew and Docent.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It would be helpful to have more detailed description on directions to the dock as there are so many cruise vendors and it can be confusing to locate.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Edward R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I'd rate the Architecture River Cruise 5 star. The guide on the 4.30pm cruise on 5/19/16 was terrific. His knowledge and attention to detail outstanding. He was telling a story and he had photos, renderings, and drawings to support his comments. I've traveled to Chicago for the past 15 years for work and this tour gave me a wonderful overview of the city. I'll do a repeat tour only the 7:30pm, cruise to see the city at night.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Sarahthesheepu United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic experience, really enjoyed being the first up the sky deck. Our Trolley driver Charley was brilliant, very informative and very funny. Victor, our cruise tour guide was the same. It was a brilliant way to see the city, especially for those with limited time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great cruise. It covered a lot of architecture and history of the city. A must do.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Robert B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Although a beautiful sunny day quickly changed to overcast and eventual light rain, this was a wonderful trip. We debarked from Navy Pier and went up the Chicago R. to see major structures and buildings in the downtown area. A very knowledgeable docent presented an almost non-stop, 70-minute program about Chicago , the river, the bridges, the buildings and the historic figures that have made this city great. Although I knew a lot of the information beforehand, there were many anecdotes and historical interjections that were new to me. Anything omitted was largely due to time constraints. Although I was born in Chicago and have always felt quite at home there, this was my first visit in almost 20 years and I learned much. Anyone who comes to Chicago and doesn't take advantage of this cruise is literally missing the boat.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Tiffany C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Shoreline Architecture River Cruise was fantastic! Our tour guide, Victor, was terrific- incredibly engaging and knowledgeable. The boat was clean and comfortable. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

tfreimarck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely loved this tour! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny. Everyone that visits Chicago for the first time like me needs to take this cruise. The tour operator was very organized and there were a lot of staff available for assistance when needed.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Raymond B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Exceptional river cruise tour of the 'windy city' and the variety of architectural styles.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a beautiful day and our leader was so very knowledgeable. He was funny and informative. He made the cruise special!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Bonnie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I had an amazing time on the speedboat cruise!!! All the beautiful buidings that you get to see on this cruise is worth the price.

Doing what: Lake Michigan and Chicago River Architecture Cruise by Speedboat

Aaron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent cruise!!!! My new wife and I were married earlier that day and thought a night cruise would add to our new marriage excitement. It did!! The staff and mgmt were very professional and treated you like royalty. The food was great! The music and enviroment were very entertaining. And up top deck watching the sunset and seeing the Chicago night lights was beautiful!! Was well worth the money and my wife and I are looking forward to going again. :

Doing what: Chicago Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

Delilah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My experience on this trip was absolutely amazing from the Manager to my server Ingrid was the most respectable people did a very good job at fulfilling their positions. The bartenders Nakia and Sharon were very good at their job every worker there made the environment most comfortable as possible very helpful they did not lack on anything. The DJ Matthew he did an amazing job the music was on point. I Highly recommend this cruise to anyone my family and myself definitely will be back loved the cruise amazing.

Doing what: Chicago Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

Rosalie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Food is great, filling and they offer other upgrades to your meal. Chicago night skyline is AMAZING! DJ could use some work but overall I had a great time w/my husband. The ship is small and the winds were blowing hard. This cruise is NOT recommended for people who suffer from the mildest of motion-sickness. Overall I would do it again and double my dose of anti-motion sickness patches

Doing what: Chicago Dinner Cruise

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful time on this cruise. So much amazing information...if only I could remember it all.
Our tour guide was great, interesting, fun and knew that he cared about what he was speaking of...I believe his name was Paul and he made it an ever better experience. Thank you.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Terri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Want to see Chicago from a different angle, a river view? Then this is the trip for you! The Architecture River Cruise was an incredible journey weaving in and out of Chicago from the most wonderful vantage point. It was amazing to see all the different styles of buildings and the different time periods in which they were built. You can't appreciate this view just from driving around Chicago, you have to see it from the river!!! We LOVED this tour.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Steven E United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The River cruise was great. The Captain and his mates did a fine job of driving and narrating. I would recommend this activity for ALL who visit the Windy City. Superb.

Doing what: Lake Michigan and Chicago River Architecture Cruise by Speedboat

Sandy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Loved it. Chicago is a beautiful city and the river cruise was a great way to see it.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message