When visiting Chicago, one of the best ways to explore the city is by boat on the Chicago River and Lake Michigan. Seeing the city by cruise allows you to enjoy a unique vantage point and many cruises often focus in on an interesting topic for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The cruise was fantastic, the Guide was very informative on the architecture of the city. I would recommend
It to anyone who wants to get a real feel for the city.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You must go. You will get a true sense of the cityscape and how amazing it is. The Tour Guide had a plethora of information and was very professional. In addition,you board at the base of the Pier so after a great cruise you can dine and walk to see the Lake. Great Experience all around.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We have lived in the suburbs of Chicago our whole life and have never seen a view of the city like we did on the River Cruise. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. My in-laws who are in their mid 70's just raved about it. They were visiting from out-of-town for a week and said this was the highlight of their week even though we did many other fun things. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

LOVED the VIP Tour. Deck - Awesome! Trolley City Tour, our guide Reggie was amazing! River cruise fun!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed our cruise from beginning to end! Our guide/narrator was very knowledgeable, interesting, humorous, and very willing to answer any questions. We would highly recommend this cruise to anyone visiting Chicaco - whether it was their first time there or not!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. We had our 17 year old daughter with us. She loved it too. So much to take in. Awesome Pics of D.T. Chicago. I highly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great dinner cruise!! Everyone was so helpful and the music and dancing was a blast!! It's a must if traveling to Chicago!

Doing what: Chicago Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was fantastic!. First, we were unable to make the scheduled time due to heavy traffic and the difficulty of finding parking. The cruise company was gracious in rescheduling us to a different cruise. The cruise commentator was knowledgeable. A great experience! I would recommend it!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tours! River cruise very informative! The rain didn't stop us from having fun! The trolley tour was fun! Willis Tower was on an extremely cloudy morning, but they gave us rain checks and the evening trip back was awesome!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The river cruise was stupendous in eery respect! Service, food, attentiveness, entertainment, all were more than we wxpected. Do it again in a minute! FIVE STARS PLUS!

Doing what: Chicago Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The special excitement of the day was that the river was at an historic high, so many of the usual boats, such as the one in this photo, were unable to get under the bridges. Not ours though! It was a single decker w/ no one allowed to sit behind the captain in the wheel house above.
Our guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the architecture. Adults thoroughly enjoyed it, but subject a bit over the heads and interests of the younger kids. Perhaps you could feature a different type of river cruise for younger kids- one w/ more of a Crocodile Dundee type of guide? Make it clear on your choices of river tours which one would be more entertaining, engaging for them.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Money was saved as I did booking from viator. Approx 6$ less than on spot tickets per seat. Tour was good and very,relaxing and informative. Make sure the weather us good else the tour can't be fun especially in Chicago cool days.
FInding the cruise at navi pier is not easy and can be challenging

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour and well organised. A little more explanation as to where to show voucher and get ticket for the River Cruise would be advantageous AND THE TIME OF OUR TOUR WAS OUT BY ONE HOUR. wE MANAGED TO GET ON AEARLIER BOAT, ONLY JUST. BUT OTHERWOSEW OULD HAVE HAD ATWO HOUR WAIT WITH THE nAVY pIER BASICALLY CLOSED FOR CONSTRUCTION. ttHIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN POINTED OUT IN ADVANCE.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved the cruise. Chicago is a beautiful and architecturally eclectic city!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The Architecture River Cruise was recommended by a friend, and I absolutely endorse their recommendation. Our docent was Kevin, who was fantastic! He guided us through an engaging history of the city, architecture and folk lore. Don't miss it - one of the best.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Almost didn't go due to dull, wet weather but did and the river cruise was fantastic. So facinating to see Chicago and its buildings from the river and the commentary was first class. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was so much fun. Loved the staff and how the interacted with the guests. Food was delicious. The DJ is awesome. I highly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Chicago Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Last minute decision because I had a little more time on my hands than expected because of the slow down at O'Hare. Viator was great in getting everything lined up for me on a moments notice. The Chicago Architecture Cruise was better than expected. Tour guide was extremely informative and personable. He even played the Harmonica for us..........and he was really good at it!! Snacks, Beer and Wine are available for sale onboard and everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves. Great way to see this beautiul rich city in a short period of time. Highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Chicago!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved our cruise. Our cruise director was knowledgeable and professional. Not a bad seat in the house! Even our bartender was pleasant. We arrived early and were able to change our cruise to 1/2 hour earlier than we originally scheduled. All around great experience. I'll recommend it to my friends.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed this dinner cruise. The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. The views from the observation deck were great too. We would recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Chicago Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Enjoyed the cruise, we heard a lot about the architecture of the buildings along the river, as well as some history of Chicago. I'd suggest wearing a hat since there is no shade.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

excellent cruise and good food.- the sunny weather obviously helped a lot too.

Doing what: Chicago Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really nice cruise. Chicago is a really beautiful city and the cruise allows us to see it with a really nice point of view.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing and highly recommend this tour at the beginning of your Chicago visit, we did a morning cruise which was amazing but even better are the evening cruises (so I have been told by friends).
I did not think I would be so excited and rearing to go explore Chicago after this but I was, the tour guide was funny but more importantly so knowledgeable on the city, history, present and future developments.
Get on board and soak it up.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a great tour. However, due to the major renovation of the Navy Pier, it was very difficult to navigate where to get on the boat. (There are quite a few docking spots close to each other but in different directions) There was no clear signage of what cruise goes where. Then when I reached the head of the line, I was told that I had to go the the ticket booth to validate my viator voucher first. I had to rush back and forth before I could get on the boat. But other than that, the tour guide was great and humorous and definitely loved what he was doing. It was definitely worth it if you appreciate history and architecture.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message