When visiting Chicago, one of the best ways to explore the city is by boat on the Chicago River and Lake Michigan. Seeing the city by cruise allows you to enjoy a unique vantage point and many cruises often focus in on an interesting topic for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 128 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Eric C
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A beautiful way to explore the beauty of Chicago. Seeing the city from the water has always been a favorite of mine and this Architecture River Cruise allowed us to really get a great feel for the city and its varied buildings. Our guide was extremely informative and this was a perfect trip for our 9-hour layover in Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I've lived here for many year's and always wanted to take the Chicago Architecture River Cruise. Had a relative come to town and decided take the tour. It was a great experience! I'd recommend anyone to take this! Employees were great, the tour was great...5 stars!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The cruise was wonderful and the cruise guide was fantastic. She had a great sense of humor, was very informed and did her presentation very, very well. We loved every minute of it.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent trip. Seeing Chicago by learning about its architecture on an evening cruise was a new experience. It is an entirely different and delightful perspective of Chicago. Wonderful evening and well worth it!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture Boat Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide had thorough and fascinating knowledge of the city's architectural history, and the cruise is the best way to see the highlights of this beautiful city!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

River Cruise staff were excellent.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was wonderful, smooth embarking, excellent commentary during the cruise. Bar was well stocked. Bathrooms clean

Highly recommend!!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great, we really lucked out for a beautiful summer day and the cruise was very informative and enjoyable. It was the favorite part of our Chicago adventure.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

To be truthful, I was not all that enthused about taking this cruise. I envisioned it to be boring, but was more than pleasantly surprised. Our guide, David, was extremely knowledgable without being dry. His humor was appreciated by all on board. I learned a lot about Chicago and it's beautiful buildings. I would recommend this cruise to everyone!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a wonderful tour! We are Chicago Residents, and whenever visitors from other areas visit this great city, we take them on the Chicago Architecture River Cruise. No one has ever been disappointed with this experience.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was beautiful and relaxing cruise. The city lights were amazing

Doing what: Chicago Architecture Boat Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The cruise was fantastic, the Guide was very informative on the architecture of the city. I would recommend
It to anyone who wants to get a real feel for the city.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You must go. You will get a true sense of the cityscape and how amazing it is. The Tour Guide had a plethora of information and was very professional. In addition,you board at the base of the Pier so after a great cruise you can dine and walk to see the Lake. Great Experience all around.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We have lived in the suburbs of Chicago our whole life and have never seen a view of the city like we did on the River Cruise. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. My in-laws who are in their mid 70's just raved about it. They were visiting from out-of-town for a week and said this was the highlight of their week even though we did many other fun things. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

LOVED the VIP Tour. Deck - Awesome! Trolley City Tour, our guide Reggie was amazing! River cruise fun!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed our cruise from beginning to end! Our guide/narrator was very knowledgeable, interesting, humorous, and very willing to answer any questions. We would highly recommend this cruise to anyone visiting Chicaco - whether it was their first time there or not!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. We had our 17 year old daughter with us. She loved it too. So much to take in. Awesome Pics of D.T. Chicago. I highly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great dinner cruise!! Everyone was so helpful and the music and dancing was a blast!! It's a must if traveling to Chicago!

Doing what: Chicago Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was fantastic!. First, we were unable to make the scheduled time due to heavy traffic and the difficulty of finding parking. The cruise company was gracious in rescheduling us to a different cruise. The cruise commentator was knowledgeable. A great experience! I would recommend it!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tours! River cruise very informative! The rain didn't stop us from having fun! The trolley tour was fun! Willis Tower was on an extremely cloudy morning, but they gave us rain checks and the evening trip back was awesome!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The river cruise was stupendous in eery respect! Service, food, attentiveness, entertainment, all were more than we wxpected. Do it again in a minute! FIVE STARS PLUS!

Doing what: Chicago Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The special excitement of the day was that the river was at an historic high, so many of the usual boats, such as the one in this photo, were unable to get under the bridges. Not ours though! It was a single decker w/ no one allowed to sit behind the captain in the wheel house above.
Our guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the architecture. Adults thoroughly enjoyed it, but subject a bit over the heads and interests of the younger kids. Perhaps you could feature a different type of river cruise for younger kids- one w/ more of a Crocodile Dundee type of guide? Make it clear on your choices of river tours which one would be more entertaining, engaging for them.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Money was saved as I did booking from viator. Approx 6$ less than on spot tickets per seat. Tour was good and very,relaxing and informative. Make sure the weather us good else the tour can't be fun especially in Chicago cool days.
FInding the cruise at navi pier is not easy and can be challenging

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour and well organised. A little more explanation as to where to show voucher and get ticket for the River Cruise would be advantageous AND THE TIME OF OUR TOUR WAS OUT BY ONE HOUR. wE MANAGED TO GET ON AEARLIER BOAT, ONLY JUST. BUT OTHERWOSEW OULD HAVE HAD ATWO HOUR WAIT WITH THE nAVY pIER BASICALLY CLOSED FOR CONSTRUCTION. ttHIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN POINTED OUT IN ADVANCE.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved the cruise. Chicago is a beautiful and architecturally eclectic city!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message