Despite unpredictable weather and often chilly temperatures, winter can be a great time to travel to Chicago. However, it also takes a bit of preparation to make sure your trip goes smoothly. Here are a few Chicago winter travel tips to keep in mind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 647 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was very educational and the views was great!

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great way to see the city. Easily located stops throughout Chicago, wonderful guides and lots of flexible touring options.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Handled well and efficiently. Good tour. Would recommend to others and friends. No negative experiences relative to the whole tour.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus ride was the best ever. My son and I had the time of our lives. The guides were the best! He and she gave us information about Chicago we never knew. I Highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to learn about Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a wonderful view of not only Lake Michigan but the city of Chicago from Lake Michigan - one word of advice - do NOT go on a cool day - makes for an uncomfortable boat trip otherwise Fantastic!!!

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We did the two day tour. Both days were excellent. Frank the guide did an excellent job.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great itenary and supplying plastic smocks during brief rain shower was a great idea by your tour operator

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Every tour guide was terrific. Never waited more than 5 minutes for a bus. Saw everything and enjoyed the beautiful city.Loved the free shirt and chocolate bars and popcorn. Used this site for SanFrancisco and had the same great experience.Thank you.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour Guide Chris was SMART, Funny and super knowledgable about Chicago and history. He made the tour so enjoyable. Well done!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very informative tour with great knowledgeable tour guides who made the trip fun as well as giving lots of tip and ideas. well worth doing and we were so pleased we did this at the start of our adventure in Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

On the first day of our two day pass, it was unseasonably cold and very rainy so everyone sat inside the bus which made it next to impossible to see the buildings. On the second day, the weather was perfect. The guide was knowledgeable, well spoken and passionate about Chicago. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great and funny guides!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

the boat tour was awesome. I recommend anyone who has not went yet to check it out to go. I really enjoyed the boat tour and thinking about doing it again before the year is over. Anyone who thinking about taking the tour do it u will be happy that u did.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great tour guides--extremely knowledgable about chicago. really good neighborhood tours--highly reccomend doing this one!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

awesome tour,very informative

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful ride on a beautiful day. Very informative. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoed the tour very much. The guides were fun and informative. It was a great way to see your city in the short time we had!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour......driver was hysterical and informative. Very friendly!.....I recomend!!!!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were on the double decker bus. We had a great time..yes it could have been warmer. Something no one has any control over. Maria was our tour guide an along with being very cherry she was very knowledgable. and informative. We really enjoyed her and the whole trip.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a great time. Very happy I did the 3 day pass, it's the way to go.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very convenient way to get an over-view of the city! We got on and off 4 times and only once was the wait a little longer than we expected. Each tour guide was great - adding their personality to the tour.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message