Despite unpredictable weather and often chilly temperatures, winter can be a great time to travel to Chicago. However, it also takes a bit of preparation to make sure your trip goes smoothly. Here are a few Chicago winter travel tips to keep in mind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 740 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

All our tour guides were entertaining and pleasant. You get a taste of the history of Chicago taking this tour. We highly recommend this tour to anyone's visit to the city.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Shelly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour guides were extremely knowledgeable, tour took you to great parts of the city. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Cyn D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

absolutely wonderful!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Dale S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour guides were very knowledgable. We learned a lot about Chicago

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

kathleen e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Robby our New Zealand native guide was very knowledgable and fun. He was always very engaging and made sure we were treated very special. How he remembered our names I do not know. It was my husband 60 th and he made us feel very special. Great itinerary Great food tour Robby was wonderful. 5 stars

Doing what: Chicago Holiday Stroll and Food Tour

Andy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour allowed me to see so much in just a short amount of time. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and was helpful in pointing out information that visitors would like to know.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

iris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Not our first time doing a Chicago Food Tour...LOVED it again.

Doing what: Chicago Holiday Stroll and Food Tour

prunella w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

helped by really great weather this tour gave an overview of the city.we enjoyed your informative guides and would recommend your tour 100prue waite york uk

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an interesting tour and worth the value. Needs to be promoted as a complete day excursion with all the stops listed. Also it would be helpful if a map was provided time of purchasing of tickets on line, especially when you are visiting the city for the first time. .

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Belle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We hopped on and hopped off 3 times yesterday. We enjoyed the experience very much, as it was informative, educational and entertaining. Hope to hop on and hop off again next year.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Doreen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to get your bearings of the city and to determine what points of interest you may want to revisit. Our guides were very knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jason P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lively, informative guides and great schedule. Price was right, and a free t-shirt and popcorn was an added bonus!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Joel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved seeing Chicago from Lake Michigan. Ticketing and boarding was efficient

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We started our tour on 10/8/15 at the Willis Tower. Before our first stop our bus was involved in an accident. A woman backed her car into our bus, twice! We waited forever to get going and then pulled over a couple streets up. We sat for at least 15 minutes waiting to get a narrator and then had to change buses because ours had a cracked windshield. This process seemed very unorganized. The rest of our tour was very informative and delightful!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Martin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Whenever we are in a new city we always try to book a bus tour. It is simply the best way to make the most of the time available and with the option to hop off you can take in all the attractions that take your fancy. Our guide, Kevin, was particularly good. His dry sense of humour appealed to us and he had great knowledge of the Windy City.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Aida A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

i enjoyed my tour very much! The time was perfect because there were not many people on board. The description of the historic Chicago buildings was clear and very interesting. I highly recommend other to enjoy this tour!

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Kristen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was informative, interesting, and fun. I wish I could recall the name of the young lady who was the tour guide for the first part of our tour she was educational and was obviously passionate about sharing her love for the city.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

annie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We did the 48hr tour which is great value not only allowing us take the daytime but also the nighttime tour which shows Chicago in a different light literally ! A great way to get to know your way around

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Joanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really good and informative. never waited long for a bus. went on the night tour which was great. only small complaint is they clean the buses and don't wipe the seats so first people on end up with wet bottoms!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Fadi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I really enjoyed the tour and the knowledge the guides had. I would do this again and recommend to others.
Thanks again for giving me a great experience.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Love Viator's hop on hop off. We used this for 2 days and were able to see all the relevant sites of Chicago. Avoid Little Italy, as it is no longer Little Italy - maybe it's now Asia Town. There is absolutely nothing to see there. The thing with us going to Little Italy is that it is one of the last stops on the neighborhood tour, so instead of waiting 45 minutes for the bus to loop around we just took the subway back to downtown. Go to Pilsen and Germantown instead. The bus is very convenient and a pleasant experience. Take the loop once around and then figure where you want to stop. Our guide was very informative. Bus was clean, etc.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jose B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our favorite experience in Chicago, we loved it! The city looked amazing from the lake, and it was relaxing and soothing. We purchased drinks and snacks on the pier and brought them onboard, so it was even better. The staff was lovely and attentive, we highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very friendly and knowledgable drivers and tour guides. The routes cover all of the areas that a tourist would wish to visit and the timetables allow for visits to all of the tourist attractions. The free tee shirt that is available for all ticket holders was a bonus.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Mae K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Enjoyed every moment of the tours. The tour guides were fantastic.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Elaine Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Knowledgeable guides, but some did not speak clearly, so hard to understand

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message