South America may pride itself in its dedication to sports such as futbol, but the region is also home to some of the world’s best skiing and snowboarding sites. American travelers looking for the perfect powder just need to head south, where it’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great day and very accomodating staff

Doing what: Valle Nevado Ski Resort Day Trip with Optional Ski or Snowboard Lesson

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great day on the hill. Everything went smoothly and my guide/driver was amazing on such a crazy road!

Doing what: Valle Nevado Ski Resort Day Trip with Optional Ski or Snowboard Lesson

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The most amazing day with carol our tour guide and driver Rodrigues . Portillo is so beautiful with the lake swimming pools and being able to ski over the highway. A must do for any skier it will be the highlight of your trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Fabio M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Every expectation was met by the crew. Skiing was hard! But the tour was well worthwhile.

Doing what: Valle Nevado Ski Resort Day Trip with Optional Ski or Snowboard Lesson

Janet J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a fantastic trip to Portillo. The guide was helpful and friendly. He helped us with our rentals, told us about the area and was always available for helping us. The driver of the van was amazing. The hairpin turns were quite an experience but we all felt so comfortable with our amazing driver. Skiing was great. I would recommend this trip to people who want to go and ski as there is not much else to do but ski. The skiing and lifts were a highlight!

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Andrea O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Fantastic tour the scenery was amazing unfortunately as it was high summer there was very little snow. Our guide Miriam was so nice and very knowledgable about Chile. Well worth a trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Veronique A France

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Driver and guide very nice and friendly, the main problem is that we did this tour during summer time and half an hour in Portillo is enough, nothing to do there! Should definitely be combined with something else to do around during summer time

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Andrea M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Foi sensacional, apesar de não termos esquiado, pois a temporada ainda não estava aberta. O lugar é muito lindo, vale a pena! Obrigada Luis pela paciência e presteza!

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Noel C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Great driver, very funny and made us feel welcome. We got to sample local items of interest along the way.

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Ann A

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

They changed the hotel on us at the last minute so all of my research on the surrounding areas went to waste. They were not very clear about pick up times for the mornings, and wasted a lot of time getting to the mountains. Some days we did not arrive until 11am, wasting half the day. One day they were 45min late picking us up, leaving us stranded waiting in a blizzard since the mountain had closed and there was no where indoors to wait. Very unorganized and inefficient, but I could not find any other tours that provided this. Also, it might be worth going to Portillo instead, these mountains were very small and not that great.

Doing what: 5-Day Chile Ski Tour with 3 Days of Lift Tickets at La Parva, El Colorado and Valle Nevado

Nicole Cindy L

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

good but not excellent really depends on the tour guide

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Rakesh B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

I do not recommend this unless you've never skied before. They provide all gear and ski wear, but force you to take a lesson and then the lift ticket you are provided is not good for the entire mountain and is only good for the most basic trails. I also made contact on multiple occasions to confirm the pick up from Santiago and they only spoke spanish, so I had to get the hotel to make those calls.

Doing what: La Parva Ski Resort Day Trip with Optional Ski or Snowboard Lesson

travelingtexan100

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Skiing was fantastic, but time on the slopes was extremely disappointing 4.5 hours out of a 12.5 hour day due to tour company logistics for ski/boot pick-up total of three hours of wasted time. We were picked up at 7:30am at our hotel, but stopped for skis/boots at El Colorado, about 1.5 hours out of the way. Bus did not have ski rack ??? so skis/boards were shoved underneath seats and aisle, making for an uncomfortable ride to Valle Nevado, and a pretty interesting walk up the aisle of the bus in ski boots. Arrived at Valle Nevado at 11:45. Guide didn't speak English, so found out from others on the tour that we needed to be back at the bus at 4:30pm. Dropped off skis/boots another 1.5 hours out of the way. Arrived back at hotel at 8pm. Definitely do NOT recommend this tour. Very disappointed in Viator for not disclosing full details.

Doing what: Valle Nevado Ski Resort Day Trip with Optional Ski or Snowboard Lesson

vilenachua

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Among all the Viator tours we've done over the years, this is the worst! We were picked up over 30 minutes late from our hotel. Our ski instructor only spent 10 to 15 minutes with us. From the moment we started, the ski instructor told us he didn't have much time so he showed us the basics and told us to practice on our own. Our tour guide also didn't set expectations - he left us with the ski instructor and didn't tell us what time he would come back to pick us up! Going with this tour operator is not worth it at all.

Doing what: La Parva Ski Resort Day Trip with Optional Ski or Snowboard Lesson

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message