Insider's Guide to Christchurch

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

Akaroa Cruise Port

Akaroa Cruise Port Akaroa is a historic French and British settlement not far from Christchurch on New Zealand’s South Island. Set on a long harbor and surrounded by volcanic hills, Akaroa’s French influence is still evident today. With a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lois M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour beautiful town wish the ship could have gotten a lot closer to the wharf

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Allyson C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour was great, driver very informative and pleasant
Would recommend

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Gerard C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day even though the dolphins weren't in the mood to swim with us. The staff were excellent. We had great views of the dolphins from the boat but once we got in the water they took off. We received a partial refund which was unexpected. Will do this again if we are ever in Akaroa again.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Swim with Dolphins in Akaroa Harbour

Nigel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was our 14th and best ever cruise. No one item was outstanding but food, the crew, entertainment and fellow passengers were all excellent.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour drivers very informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour drivers very informative

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. Really enjoyed the Willowbank Wildlife Reserve and admittance to reserve was hassle free.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Willowbank Wildlife Reserve

franky Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour and excellent driver who went out of his way to please us.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Willowbank Wildlife Reserve

newyorkmaya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

this tour was wonderful. the antarcic center is not to be missed.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Max B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A really interesting tour of Christchurch and scenic drive back to Akaroa

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

relly1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wow! What can i say loved Akaroa.And then to take a trip to Christchurch was Great.
The tour was also worth doing.I will be back!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Brenda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I throughly enjoyed our trip. Our driver was amazing, giving us personal experiences along with lots of information. He stopped numerous times so we could take pictures, which I really appreciated. The trip through the mountains was great and I would do it again in a minute.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing! We enjoyed the tour very much, however, it would be even more perfect if there were more sheep in the demonstration!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Sheep Farm Tour

yun fun p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well organized, completed all events as advertized. Good value for money.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent way to see all of the sights, the drivers were very knowledgable and gave excellent commentary all the way through. Fow someone who has never visited before, it is the best way to get around.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

susan d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Was everything promised, and really enjoyed the history given by our bus driver as well, book the tour you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

pvregan45

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Boat driver excellent. We went about 60-65 miles an hr in about 2 inches of water. Great thrill.
Would do it again!!!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

gaymans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

absolutly stunning excursion. withthe best personal tuch in a small group.
highly recommended

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Yolanda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our driver made the day with his enthusiasm and personal knowledge of the area. Enjoyed seeing Christ Church with him. His explanations and tour areas were very good. The guide in the Reserve was also very good. You could tell he loved his work and loved showing the animals in the Reserve. He even called them by name!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Willowbank Wildlife Reserve

Valerie A J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very good tour. We wanted to know how the earthquake had affected the city and its people and we felt we came away with a very good knowledge of both the tragic and positives of this horrific time. Highly Recommended... take your camera!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

linnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

By far one of the best tours I've been on. The itinerary was perfect. Christchurch was a highlight but the jet boat ride was awesome and a must do. A very very special mention to Kevin our guide. He definitely made,our day extra special. Thanks.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A great day out. It was sobering to see the extent of the devastation of Christchurch but heartening to see the efforts at rebuilding. The tour was well organized with plenty of great photo opportunities both to and from from Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message