Akaroa Cruise Port Akaroa is a historic French and British settlement not far from Christchurch on New Zealand’s South Island. Set on a long harbor and surrounded by volcanic hills, Akaroa’s French influence is still evident today. With a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I throughly enjoyed our trip. Our driver was amazing, giving us personal experiences along with lots of information. He stopped numerous times so we could take pictures, which I really appreciated. The trip through the mountains was great and I would do it again in a minute.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing! We enjoyed the tour very much, however, it would be even more perfect if there were more sheep in the demonstration!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Sheep Farm Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well organized, completed all events as advertized. Good value for money.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent way to see all of the sights, the drivers were very knowledgable and gave excellent commentary all the way through. Fow someone who has never visited before, it is the best way to get around.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Was everything promised, and really enjoyed the history given by our bus driver as well, book the tour you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Boat driver excellent. We went about 60-65 miles an hr in about 2 inches of water. Great thrill.
Would do it again!!!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

absolutly stunning excursion. withthe best personal tuch in a small group.
highly recommended

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our driver made the day with his enthusiasm and personal knowledge of the area. Enjoyed seeing Christ Church with him. His explanations and tour areas were very good. The guide in the Reserve was also very good. You could tell he loved his work and loved showing the animals in the Reserve. He even called them by name!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Willowbank Wildlife Reserve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very good tour. We wanted to know how the earthquake had affected the city and its people and we felt we came away with a very good knowledge of both the tragic and positives of this horrific time. Highly Recommended... take your camera!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

By far one of the best tours I've been on. The itinerary was perfect. Christchurch was a highlight but the jet boat ride was awesome and a must do. A very very special mention to Kevin our guide. He definitely made,our day extra special. Thanks.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A great day out. It was sobering to see the extent of the devastation of Christchurch but heartening to see the efforts at rebuilding. The tour was well organized with plenty of great photo opportunities both to and from from Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an enjoyable day. Our tour driver/guide is very knowledgeable, not cutting short but still we meet the ship onboard time. Highly recommended

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Real value for money and a very full day Would have benefited if water had been provided on the coach as the day was a full one with limited time for stops

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a full day tour, leaving from Akaroa and heading straight to Queenstown. A tour of the city was undertaken, including a trip to Sumner Bay for lunch. Back to the ship at Akaroa over the mountain for some of the most spectacular scenery I have ever seen. The driver/guide was full of knowledge, and I was very , very impressed with his high level of safe driving, especially over the mountain range where the road was narrow. A great day.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Janice N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very happy with this tour. Driver/guide was excellent. He kept us entertained with his information and stories about everything we saw. Was hard to see the devastation in Christchurch, but the way he gave us the details made it easier to deal with.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Murray T
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Such a pretty scenic drive into Christchurch from Akaroa and Hank our driver returned another way and it to had views to die for .Excellent trip and felt very sad for christchurch when we saw what 22seconds of quake could do. Great day

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Convenient pickup on the pier. Driver/guide was very informative. Gave us lots of photo ops along the way.
Great value.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a wonderful tour of Akaroa and Christchurch. Christchurch was very sad to see but was certainly an impact on tourists who had been there before, like ourselves. We didn't recognise anything. Our driver stopped many times for photos.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were picked up from our cruise ship on time. Tour of Christchurch was just a quick overview only had 40 min stop in gardens for a walk around. Jet boat ride was amazing we all but had the river to ourselves. I would recommend trip to anyone.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A high quality tour taking in the beautiful coves and viewpoints along the Bank's Peninsula and the city of Christchurch raised to the ground in many parts by the terrible earthquake of February 2011. It is still very much a building site with plenty of temporary parking on the land cleared and awaiting re-building. It is a miracle that a lot more people were'nt killed. Also passed Lyttelton the former port of entry (now too shallow). Still plenty to see which one shouldn't miss. Again very price competitive, particularly against the cruise ship alternative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful day, tour operator had heaps of local knowledge. Bus Driver was also very good as the roads out of Akaroa are very steep and lots of bends. The bus was very comfortable and smooth. Would highly recommended to anyone wanting to do this shoretour from the cruisers. This would have been the best tour ever.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We were delayed getting ashore due to poor conditions for tenders; not to worry, the tour waited and we didn't miss anything. Driver very enthusiastic and informative. The drive into Christchurch was very picturesque. Our driver was very keen to show us lots relating to the 2011 earthquake and we saw many interesting sights. Personally would have liked more time at the Botanic Gardens - this was literally little more than a toilet stop!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message