Meaning 'Long Harbor,' Akaroa is a port town with a decidedly French flavor, as descendants of the town's original French settlers still live here. Streets have French names, and French-inspired restaurants and cafés line the harbor. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 107 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marion E

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good trip could have been better if pa worked on coach without feedback so a lot of the time we could not hear itinerary

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

YUI S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

this is the worst tour I've ever done
I put ☆ because I can't put zero
It was wasting time and money. I do NOT recommend this company.

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Stephen S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Useless tour operator. Should have just bought a bus ticket on a bus that had air conditioning that worked and a transmission that worked properly. Nice to see the same ugly sights in Christchurch 6 times.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour drivers very informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour drivers very informative

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

hobbit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was such a fun cruise. We saw so many beautiful sights and the Hector Dolphin sightings were so much fun to watch these little guys Wonderful crew and alot of information about the harbor.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Nigel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was our 14th and best ever cruise. No one item was outstanding but food, the crew, entertainment and fellow passengers were all excellent.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Amit P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Took this tour on Dec 26, 2015. It was one of the best activities we did on South Island. My kids didn and #39;t swim with dolphins but afterwards were whining for missing the best part. The staff was super friendly and polite.

They provide swim suit which keeps warm and float.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

Georgina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guys from Black Cat were amazing. We had such a great time. Swimming with the Hectors Dolphins a once in a lifetime experience Awesome

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

Vui L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tireless and excellent tour guide and coach driver. But the devastating remnants of Christchurch earthquake still leave one heavy hearted.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Such an amazing experience. I love the fact that this is based on the conservation of the dolphins, they do not feed or make sounds to encourage the dolphins but rather leave it up to the natural curiosity of them to some check out the humans floating in their waters. The crew was great, very knowledgeable and ensured we had a fabulous time.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

Kai A

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Had an amazing time with the Dolphins and will remember this day for ever.... So stunning and beautiful!!! However please please make sure to call the tour operator if you choose to be picked up from your hotel!... I was told a certain time but had to call them after waiting for an hour for them to arrive! They then told me they wouldn't be able to drop me back off at the end of the day Gratefully the coach did drop me at my hotel I think more information needs to be put on this advert... You are picked up by minivan and dropped into the city center were you transfer to a separate coach company that transport you to Akaroa with amazing stops on the way.... But I will defiantly be contacting the tour operator after their attitude towards their customers .... But the swim made up for it all to be honest!

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Jack M W United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was an excellent trip with a delightful tour guide.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Albert B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and very informative guide - experienced many aspects of this beautiful area

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Merrill D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Good tour, was able to see a pile of country side in half a day

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

gmf4

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour itself was good but the experience was marred by the poor quality of the sound system on the bus which was frustrating for both passengers and driver alike. Otherwise it was well worthwhile, the scenery was beautiful and there were plenty photo opportunities. Very sad to see beautiful Christchurch in such a state, hope it can be restored to it's former glory.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Lois F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very good scenic tour and the guide was great. The Eco Marine tour is not for everyone because the boat goes extremely close to the rocks and can be unnerving but it was a good tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour and Banks Peninsula Eco Marine Harbour Cruise Small Group Tour

Mrs. Kathleen M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was excellent. We were met at the Akaroa Pier when our cruise ship docked by a very friendly and knowledgeable driver. The day was spent driving through the magnificent sights of New Zealand and visiting the interesting city of Christchurch. Christchurch is still trying to recover from the massive earthquakes they have endured recently and to see how they are doing this is quite remarkable.
Our lunch stop was very unique.
We were thrilled with this tour and can certainly recommend it.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

kathryn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing trip. We saw heaps of sea life and the tour guide was full of local knowledge. I would highly recommend this trip for anyone visiting Akaroa

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Max B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A really interesting tour of Christchurch and scenic drive back to Akaroa

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

jacqueline e

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a bit of a dull day weatherise, but the trip itself was well worth the effort. We saw, Hector's dolphins, blue penguins and New Zealand fur seals. the boat was comfortable and there was plenty of seating and vantage points to observe and photograph the wild life.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

relly1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wow! What can i say loved Akaroa.And then to take a trip to Christchurch was Great.
The tour was also worth doing.I will be back!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Matthew S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

No Dolphins, but still a great experience, I gained an amazing photo of an Albatros

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Brenda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I throughly enjoyed our trip. Our driver was amazing, giving us personal experiences along with lots of information. He stopped numerous times so we could take pictures, which I really appreciated. The trip through the mountains was great and I would do it again in a minute.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Colin United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our driver/guide on the small coach was very interesting and full of facts. He ensured that we saw everything. The biggest complaint is that not enough time spent at the botanical gardens and a 1 hour lunch break was to long. The tour company bus that was provided severely struggled to get up hills to the point we frequently thought it would breakdown. We arrived back at the ship with 30 minutes to spare purely because the coach was so slow.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message