Meaning 'Long Harbor,' Akaroa is a port town with a decidedly French flavor, as descendants of the town's original French settlers still live here. Streets have French names, and French-inspired restaurants and cafés line the harbor. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Colin
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our driver/guide on the small coach was very interesting and full of facts. He ensured that we saw everything. The biggest complaint is that not enough time spent at the botanical gardens and a 1 hour lunch break was to long. The tour company bus that was provided severely struggled to get up hills to the point we frequently thought it would breakdown. We arrived back at the ship with 30 minutes to spare purely because the coach was so slow.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Good have had a little more time in Christchurch

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

absolutly stunning excursion. withthe best personal tuch in a small group.
highly recommended

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time on the harbour. The dolphins were about. The swimming was fine and the wet suits warm.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Incredible expierience! I love it!

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well organized, completed all events as advertized. Good value for money.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent way to see all of the sights, the drivers were very knowledgable and gave excellent commentary all the way through. Fow someone who has never visited before, it is the best way to get around.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

very interesting but sad to see so much devistation still visable after so many years

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What a magic cruise. We arrived on our cruise ship and boarded our nature cruise - conveniently located on the same wharf as the tender boats. The harbour is a magic place and seeing it from the water was breathtaking. The fact that the weather was perfect - with little wind - sunny skies and aqua water helped. Our skipper - Julian - was exceptional!! Providing informative and interesting commentary and making sure people on both sides of the boat were able to see the little dolphins. This is another tour that I'd highly recommend - two hours just flew.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A great day out. It was sobering to see the extent of the devastation of Christchurch but heartening to see the efforts at rebuilding. The tour was well organized with plenty of great photo opportunities both to and from from Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very good tour. We wanted to know how the earthquake had affected the city and its people and we felt we came away with a very good knowledge of both the tragic and positives of this horrific time. Highly Recommended... take your camera!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message