Meaning 'Long Harbor,' Akaroa is a port town with a decidedly French flavor, as descendants of the town's original French settlers still live here. Streets have French names, and French-inspired restaurants and cafés line the harbor. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 75 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What a magic cruise. We arrived on our cruise ship and boarded our nature cruise - conveniently located on the same wharf as the tender boats. The harbour is a magic place and seeing it from the water was breathtaking. The fact that the weather was perfect - with little wind - sunny skies and aqua water helped. Our skipper - Julian - was exceptional!! Providing informative and interesting commentary and making sure people on both sides of the boat were able to see the little dolphins. This is another tour that I'd highly recommend - two hours just flew.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A great day out. It was sobering to see the extent of the devastation of Christchurch but heartening to see the efforts at rebuilding. The tour was well organized with plenty of great photo opportunities both to and from from Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very good tour. We wanted to know how the earthquake had affected the city and its people and we felt we came away with a very good knowledge of both the tragic and positives of this horrific time. Highly Recommended... take your camera!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

A good tour to see a lot of scenery for the 2 hour trip from the dock to Christchurch. The city portion of the tour, was fairly comprehensive but, unfortunately, theres not much left of the city other than looking a the earthquake ruins and results.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

First, weather was not very good with high winds. However, in general, it almost as if Christchurch is a bridge too far- ie fairly distant from Akaroa. The trip was fine, but given the distances you simply did not have the time to do much in Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Loved this trip and we saw everything we wanted.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Nice drive, plenty to see, excellent coach driver, couldn't do enough for us.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Real value for money and a very full day Would have benefited if water had been provided on the coach as the day was a full one with limited time for stops

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a full day tour, leaving from Akaroa and heading straight to Queenstown. A tour of the city was undertaken, including a trip to Sumner Bay for lunch. Back to the ship at Akaroa over the mountain for some of the most spectacular scenery I have ever seen. The driver/guide was full of knowledge, and I was very , very impressed with his high level of safe driving, especially over the mountain range where the road was narrow. A great day.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour with lots of interesting places to visit and see. Tour guide was excellent. Well worth seeing!! I appreciate the small groups with lots of interaction with tour guide and other participants.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour and Banks Peninsula Eco Marine Harbour Cruise Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an enjoyable day. Our tour driver/guide is very knowledgeable, not cutting short but still we meet the ship onboard time. Highly recommended

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I purchased this for my daughter, who was vacationing in New Zealand. She said it was AMAZING. There were around 30 dolphins playing with them. They swam and played with them for a long time and had a blast. Highlight of her trip.

I'd also like to commend the tour operator for their flexibility. We had to change the date of the tour 3 times and they were always very accommodating.

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The drive was pretty to the small town of Akaroa. We arrived, and it was an overcast drizzly morning. By the time we got out on the water, the sun came out and the clouds cleared away. We sighted 10-15 dolphins, and were able to get out of the boat twice. The second time, the dolphins were more interested and started swimming through the group. It was fun vocalizing in the water through our snorkels to attract the dolphins. When we got back to the dock, the clouds came back and it started raining hard. We had the perfect window to go out. And the entire staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. I highly recommend the hot water poured into the back of our wetsuit! :-)

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message