Meaning 'Long Harbor,' Akaroa is a port town with a decidedly French flavor, as descendants of the town's original French settlers still live here. Streets have French names, and French-inspired restaurants and cafés line the harbor. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lois M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour beautiful town wish the ship could have gotten a lot closer to the wharf

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Allyson C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour was great, driver very informative and pleasant
Would recommend

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Marion E

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good trip could have been better if pa worked on coach without feedback so a lot of the time we could not hear itinerary

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Jack R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The countryside is beautiful! The ride in the minivan was horrible. The engine is up front and the ride as very noisy, rough, and the vibration being so close to the engine extremely distracting. The driver had a lot of good comments, however, I could have understood him. It wasnt the accent, it was the sound system. On top of the engine noise and the static, feedback of the sound system we could usually make out about half of what was said. I just wish we could have spent more time in Christchurch. The museum was fantastic, especially the Antarctic displays.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

TANIA S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We really enjoyed this trip. Boat was comfy even in the rough conditions. The commentary was information and didn't waffle on like so many do. The only negative for us was that a number of other passengers were sick and the behaviour of those passenger, leaving their used sick bags lying on the seats and coffee tables. Those passengers then decided to lay down across 4 seats leaving no room for those returning from the upper decks to sit. The cabin crew could have handled this better.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Fred C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

WE were not aware that the tour would take 1 1/2 hours each way to reach the touring area. The transport did not have restroom facilities and there were no stops at the start of the tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

YUI S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

this is the worst tour I've ever done
I put ☆ because I can't put zero
It was wasting time and money. I do NOT recommend this company.

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Stephen S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Useless tour operator. Should have just bought a bus ticket on a bus that had air conditioning that worked and a transmission that worked properly. Nice to see the same ugly sights in Christchurch 6 times.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour drivers very informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour drivers very informative

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

hobbit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was such a fun cruise. We saw so many beautiful sights and the Hector Dolphin sightings were so much fun to watch these little guys Wonderful crew and alot of information about the harbor.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Nigel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was our 14th and best ever cruise. No one item was outstanding but food, the crew, entertainment and fellow passengers were all excellent.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Amit P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Took this tour on Dec 26, 2015. It was one of the best activities we did on South Island. My kids didn and #39;t swim with dolphins but afterwards were whining for missing the best part. The staff was super friendly and polite.

They provide swim suit which keeps warm and float.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

Georgina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guys from Black Cat were amazing. We had such a great time. Swimming with the Hectors Dolphins a once in a lifetime experience Awesome

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

Gerard C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day even though the dolphins weren't in the mood to swim with us. The staff were excellent. We had great views of the dolphins from the boat but once we got in the water they took off. We received a partial refund which was unexpected. Will do this again if we are ever in Akaroa again.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Swim with Dolphins in Akaroa Harbour

Vui L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tireless and excellent tour guide and coach driver. But the devastating remnants of Christchurch earthquake still leave one heavy hearted.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Such an amazing experience. I love the fact that this is based on the conservation of the dolphins, they do not feed or make sounds to encourage the dolphins but rather leave it up to the natural curiosity of them to some check out the humans floating in their waters. The crew was great, very knowledgeable and ensured we had a fabulous time.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

Kai A

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Had an amazing time with the Dolphins and will remember this day for ever.... So stunning and beautiful!!! However please please make sure to call the tour operator if you choose to be picked up from your hotel!... I was told a certain time but had to call them after waiting for an hour for them to arrive! They then told me they wouldn't be able to drop me back off at the end of the day Gratefully the coach did drop me at my hotel I think more information needs to be put on this advert... You are picked up by minivan and dropped into the city center were you transfer to a separate coach company that transport you to Akaroa with amazing stops on the way.... But I will defiantly be contacting the tour operator after their attitude towards their customers .... But the swim made up for it all to be honest!

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Jack M W United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was an excellent trip with a delightful tour guide.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Albert B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and very informative guide - experienced many aspects of this beautiful area

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Merrill D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Good tour, was able to see a pile of country side in half a day

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

gmf4

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour itself was good but the experience was marred by the poor quality of the sound system on the bus which was frustrating for both passengers and driver alike. Otherwise it was well worthwhile, the scenery was beautiful and there were plenty photo opportunities. Very sad to see beautiful Christchurch in such a state, hope it can be restored to it's former glory.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Troy m. M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyable. Interaction with the Dolphins on that day was limited, but the experience was great non the less.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Swim with Dolphins in Akaroa Harbour

Lois F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very good scenic tour and the guide was great. The Eco Marine tour is not for everyone because the boat goes extremely close to the rocks and can be unnerving but it was a good tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour and Banks Peninsula Eco Marine Harbour Cruise Small Group Tour

Mrs. Kathleen M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was excellent. We were met at the Akaroa Pier when our cruise ship docked by a very friendly and knowledgeable driver. The day was spent driving through the magnificent sights of New Zealand and visiting the interesting city of Christchurch. Christchurch is still trying to recover from the massive earthquakes they have endured recently and to see how they are doing this is quite remarkable.
Our lunch stop was very unique.
We were thrilled with this tour and can certainly recommend it.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message