Meaning 'Long Harbor,' Akaroa is a port town with a decidedly French flavor, as descendants of the town's original French settlers still live here. Streets have French names, and French-inspired restaurants and cafés line the harbor. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

trvlmore United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our driver and guide was pleasant, thorough and very informative. It was sad to see Christchurch after the earthquake and how much is still to be done to recover.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Glen E

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting day visiting Christchurch. Our driver was helpful and knowledgable. Would recommend .

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Lin S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Did not get to see the Dolphins. I know it is not in the control of your company. I did enjoy the trip, the boat driver and tour guide. I did enjoy jumping into the ocean with the wet suit on that was a great . Thank you for the experience.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

stevet1003

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

This tour was ok in that the ride from Akaroa to Christchurch was quite scenic, but touring Christchurch was dissapointing. We did learn some history and see where rebuilding was ongoing, but it wasn't as interesting as we had hoped.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Marcia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was fantastic! Even with rough seas, our pilot was able to navigate to the Hole in the Rock and gave us a fantastic view and trip.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

jemw2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A very interesting and informative cruise. The dolphins were tricky to find, but we eventually saw them close up. Highly recomended.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Ronald T H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent tour although Christchurch is still suffering from the earthquake of 2011 and many of the buildings have not yet been re-built.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Unforgettable tour! We saw lots of dolphins, penguins and seals. Cruise ships offer exactly the same tour for roughly double the price.

Bring extra clothing it's super-cold on the boat and sunscreen. Stand on the bow for the best view.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

GloriaJean G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

After several emails back and forth, we eventually got on the 1pm catamaran cruise. Was very good. We saw lots and lots of the cute little dolphins, surrounding the catamaran on several occasions. We saw all the interesting caves and rock formations and also about a half a dozen baby seals on the rocks, not too many adults. Guess they were out fishing for dinner! Very good tour, good narration.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Rosa a

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful day, very informative!!!!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Robert E

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Christchurch is an interesting city being devastated and rebuilt again . Our guide was good and the scenery was good although not breathtaking .

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Stephanie C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Interesting experience, but be forewarned that the water is really cold. Several people on our trip could not even be in the water at all. You are never very close to the dolphins, but they are amazing animals.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

Kenneth J P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Lots of bus time, but the visit to Christchurch and surroundings was worth it. The views on our return trip were wonderful.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Roger J. F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

We had an excellent excursion and were able to see quite a lot. It would have been nice to have a bit more time at the botanical garden in Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Albert R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Having seen Christchurch Cathedral some years ago, I needed to see for myself the condition it is in. I was saddened to see it.
It is shame that the harbour was damaged so much that the cruise needed to go to Akaroa. Akaroa is a quaint village but the 2 hour drive to Christchurch spoiled our day.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

CHRISTINE H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a well organized tour and was a good way to see this part of NZ.
The coach driver was average

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

KEVIN C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much.Very interesting to see Christchurch now as we had visited before the earthquake five years ago. Also interesting to see Lytellton as my wife's great grandmother was born there in 1859 after her family arrived from Deal in Kent UK

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Keith B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic day, would have been good to have our coach arrive a little earlier, we were all standing around in the cold for an hour which could have been time well spent in Christchurch, However once we got going all we saw was well described and most enjoyable except for the rush.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Claude I

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It would have been better to have a pretty day for this cruise, but the clouds did not stop us. The Akaroa harbor is full of wildlife -- Hector's dolphins zooming by so fast you can't catch them in a photo tiny penguins floating by fur seals lazing on the rocks. Enjoyed them all.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

RedWagon

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Late start due to tendering of 2 ships in port. Bus did not arrive on time. Driver was rushed to make the 3 hour round trip to Christchurch.
We did see the city sights which the city is still rebuilding. Noted the perseverance and ingenuity of the residents to keep the city alive.
We only had two 15 minute stops and one 45 minute lunch break. No time to tour the museum. The day was hot and the bus other buses too had minimum air conditioning. The Tour Guide was okay but not the best.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Marjorie N

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The organization for this tour was very poor. The Tour organizer needed an assistant to help with the large number of people trying to get on many different tours. We waited an hour for 2 people who did not receive the notice that the tour started at 9:30 rather than 10:30 am. This is not acceptable for the rest of the full bus who waited outside in the cool morning in the not so pretty park. The tour itself was fine, but we got the feeling we rushed to catch up the missed hour. Lunch on our own was fine.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Michael P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

I would not recommend this tour. I have recommended every other tour we took in Australia and NZ.
The trip to Christchurch takes over 1 1/2 hours each way. Our first bus had no air, then when we switched buses it got a flat tire.
Ever so, the city of Christchurch is still in shambles...very sad. They only started rebuilding last year. Not much beauty to see, although the trip there had wonderful views of the bays.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message