Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

Arthur's Pass National Park

This superbly scenic national park is in Central Canterbury, rising out of the plains. A magnet for wintertime skiers and summertime hikers, Arthur’s Pass National Park is also a popular day trip from Christchurch. Easy day walks fan out from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were very fortunate to have an experienced , knowledgeable and professional guide for the day.
Please pass on our many thanks to Michael

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was a beautiful day which would make any activity pretty great. Our guide Gavin was very knowledgeable and a excellent source of information about the natural environment surrounding us. One of the best things about this trip is you get to experience the train ride an d vistas, yet get off before it becomes boring. Commentary on the train was good. Scenery was awesome and the lunch was very good at Beally's hotel. It turned out to only be my husband and I in the tour, so we reaped the benefits of a very personalized tour. A great experience.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our guide Chris was wonderful, it was just my husband and myself. Train trip was fantastic, Chris met us at Arthurs Pass station and showed us around the National Park, due to the Coast to Coast race being on we had a picnic lunch instead, which was a wonderful idea beside a beautiful lake. I would highly recommend this tour to family and friends, out of ten I would rate this a 10. Thank you Chris for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

What a great day! We had guide Sally all to ourselves and boy did she know her stuff! We saw and learned all sorts of details we would never have found on our own. Thank you for a great day out!

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Outstanding-highly recommend. Alan our guide was great- lots of knowledge

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

The trip was superb. The tour in the van was better than the train.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A great day out the train trip was great and the Guided tour through Arthurs Pass was fantastic. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Fairly expensive tour compared to other tours we had joined at Viator However, the scenery that we have seen is very nice.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Excelent trip higly recommend it! The train open view platform can be busy but you can see just as much from your seat. The guide was great with a fountain of knowledge on the area.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We saw some of the most breathtaking views of natural landforms we have ever experienced during this trip - well worth every cent. Advice - a DVD of the Trans Alpine trip is available on the train which is worth buying. The return from Arthur's Pass by small bus was also very good with more beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

My tour guide was great, knowledgeable, accommodating and a fantastic tour guide. I would highly recommend this tour!!!!

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

The highlight of our trip. The owners and our personal tour guides, were excellent. They took care of us and made sure that we enjoyed our trip. We definitely would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Jennifer T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This would have to be the best tour that I had been on. The guide John very informative and most of all the tour went ahead even though I was the only in the tour for that day. Train journey was spectacular and the vehicle used was comfortable. Morning Tea and Lunch acceptable. Most enjoyable day!

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Karen R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

From the moment of booking this trip everything was handled in a swift and professional manner. Our guide on the trip, John, could not be faulted. He was extremely knowledgeable, his manners were impeccable, his vehicle spotless and the places he took us to were amazing. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who, not only wants to learn about New Zealand,but who wants to see places that are not necessarily on the usual tourist map.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Cynthia P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Rail tour was good but highlight was the guided tour in the afternoon. Informative, local guide provided us with one of the highlights of our stay in NZ. Worth every penny and would do again!

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message