• USD ($)
  • English

Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

Christchurch Botanic Gardens

Christchurch is known as the garden city, an Anglophile settlement of well-tended gardens and tree-lined streets. Pride of place in this flower-loving town goes to the Botanic Gardens, attractively set within a loop of the winding Avon River.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Not much to see at Christchurch. At least, we got the good weather to enjoy the jet boat ride, it was fun.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

We (the group of 6) were very unhappy with our tour guide. First of all, he bought us the wrong tickets to International Antarctic Centre and left. Then we found out that we couldn't ride on the Hagglund all-terrain vehicle because we were given the cheapest entrance bracelets. We had to waste 40 minutes resolving this issue with the Antarctic Centre's personnel. The guide didn't even apologize for his mistake. Secondly, he didn't take us to visit the Christchurch Botanic Gardens because "he didn't have time". We told him numerous times that it was supposed to be included in the tour, and we were waiting for this but he refused to take us there. Instead he took us to the downtown of Christchurch and wasn't SHOWING us the sights of the town, he was just telling us "it was lovely before the earthquake". We didn't gain anything from him as a tour guide; it was the worst tour we had in our trips!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were picked up from our cruise ship on time. Tour of Christchurch was just a quick overview only had 40 min stop in gardens for a walk around. Jet boat ride was amazing we all but had the river to ourselves. I would recommend trip to anyone.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Beautiful scenery. and the Antarctic exhibit was very interesting.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

an excellent tour. Our driver was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The boat trip was great and our driver was very experienced however I am not sure it was worth the 2 hour plus trip each way from Akoroa. Until Christchurch is rebuilt there is really no reason to go there all you see are damaged buildings that haven't even been torn down ever after three years.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The guides were very friendly, pleasant, good-humoured and knowledgeable. We enjoyed all of the tours.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We would have liked more time at the Antarctic Center and the museum. We understand the ships schedule precluded longer stays at these places.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The drive around the Banks Peninsula was beautiful. Would be nice to have more time at the gardens. Enjoyed the jet boat. Jet boat driver was great at maneuvers.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We loved the sheep farm tour. The owner was very informative and interesting to watch the dog work the sheep heard. Lunch was provided at the farm and great conversation with the owner. Not enough time at Christchurch since we had to leave the group to go to the farm. Would have liked more time there.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Sheep Farm Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

We saw from earlier reviews that there is little time in Christchurch for looking at the Museum or getting out and taking pictures which is the reason it did not get a better rating. We don't get picked up until two hour after our ship docks so they could start an hour earlier and provide more time at Christchurch but this tour chooses not to. The jet boat tour was a lot of fun and was memorable. The place we stopped to eat was adequate. This tour could be so much better with more time in Christchurch and at the Museum.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Antartic trip was great, but we only had 1 hour at the center. We were driven around Christchurch to see some sights but most of this was the devistation from the earthquake,

We had 2 children with our party of 8 and they were really looking forward to see the Antartic centre, but with on 1 hour they were really disappointed that we had such a short time there. i must say though that the drivers were very informative, I think it would be much better if we were taken to the Antartic centre first
and given 2 hours there, then the drivers could show us the wreckage of Christchurch on the way back to the ship, We changed buses during the trip and they both showed us the earthquake damage, 1 would have been plenty.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

We weren't aware that there was a 3 hour drive to and from Akaroa Port. Our bus broke down and we didn't have time to experience the Antartic Experience. We feel too much was crammed into the Tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message