Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

Christchurch Botanic Gardens

Christchurch is known as the garden city, an Anglophile settlement of well-tended gardens and tree-lined streets. Pride of place in this flower-loving town goes to the Botanic Gardens, attractively set within a loop of the winding Avon River.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable day, especially loved the punting. View from gondola was amazing.,

Doing what: Punting on the Avon River with Optional Christchurch Gondola and Botanic Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great value package. The punting down the Avon is not to be missed.

Doing what: Punting on the Avon River with Optional Christchurch Gondola and Botanic Gardens Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

The bus we travelled around in had broken rear suspension and we bounced around very uncomfortably. The bus was dirty and needed some inside fixtures repaired. The driver was friendly but appeared disinterested. Christchurch is still devastated from the 2011 earthquake and there is not much to see as the driver kept pointing out where buildings had once been. Very disappointing tour.

Doing what: Discover Christchurch Sightseeing Tour with optional International Antarctic Center Admission

John V
Netherlands

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

We thought we would stop for longer periods of time at more places.

Doing what: Discover Christchurch Sightseeing Tour with optional International Antarctic Center Admission

Paul C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Very nice tour through the city and up to the lookout and the harbour. Wouldn't recommend the Antarctic Centre unless you have children with you.

Doing what: Discover Christchurch Sightseeing Tour with optional International Antarctic Center Admission

Suzanne
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

I have done this tour before but had not done the Antarctic Center, which was fantastic.

Doing what: Discover Christchurch Sightseeing Tour with optional International Antarctic Center Admission

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Fairly basic tour of Christchurch and nearby areas. It could be better, but it covers most of the key sights.

Doing what: Discover Christchurch Sightseeing Tour with optional International Antarctic Center Admission

Kenneth A
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

The bus driver did not communicate very well what there was to see in Christchurch other than lots of suburbs and shops. There was no information on tourism, history or information about Christchurch.

Doing what: Discover Christchurch Sightseeing Tour with optional International Antarctic Center Admission

Ray L
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

The guide was difficult to understand - he had a heavy English accent. His knowledge of Christchurch was very good, if you could understand him. He was polite but did not have any enthusiasm for his job. It is just a job for him. He said that his job is truck driving. Unfortunately, I was not very happy with the tour operator. As we were the only couple to take the optional International Antarctic Center admission, the guide wanted us to make our own way back to our accommodation. We were not happy about this. We were picked up from our accommodation in the first place! When I asked what public transport would take us back to our accommodation, the guide did not know - he just expected to leave us at the Antarctic Centre to make our own way back to our lodgings in a strange country! The guide then contacted who I presumed to be his boss and said he would pick us up in 2 hours and take us back to our accommodation. He did do this. This tour left a sour taste with us.

Doing what: Discover Christchurch Sightseeing Tour with optional International Antarctic Center Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message