Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

Christchurch Tramway

Hop aboard a vintage tram for a leisurely tour of central Christchurch. It’s the most relaxing, fun way to get your bearings and see the city's attractions and landmarks. The trams leave from Cathedral Square in downtown Christchurch. The route ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bob O Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A most enjoyable way to have dinner. The fact that we were on the move was not a problem. We had a good meal

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was fantastic. Thank you to our driver and guide Barry. He is a wealth of information with a terrific sense of humour. The tour enables the tourist to see the diversity of Christchurch and surrounds. Great value for money. Memorable.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

Diane U

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A Very relaxing evening and nice food. I was a little disappointed as I thought we got a commentary of the CBD as we went along but soon found out that was day time only. Apart from that very pleasant and friendly staff.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Carl D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The dinner was very nice. The food and service were both excellent and it was a fun ride with a chance to make some new friends. However, be aware that there is no narration about what you may be seeing from the tram, as they don't want to interrupt conversations. Very nice, but considering the area's recent history, some background/narrative would be nice.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Micheal L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Disappointed that the commentary going arund Christchurch was very limited, would like to have heard more.. The meal was excellent and the service level superb, really enjoyed the evening.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Kelvin Tan Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Worth to try it, as nothing much to explore in the city. Food and drinks was superb, with friendly duty manager and staffs to provide an unforgettable experience to dine in tram.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Colleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful way to see Christchurch. Recommend it to everyone. Highlight was the magnificent botanical gardens. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and very experienced. The weather was not great but we were undercover most of the time.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Fascinating review of the sites of Christchurch. Insightful tour leader

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

d4fwilson

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had a great guide who knew a lot about the history of Christchurch. We particularly liked the Gondola and the restaurant at the top. Wonderful views of Christchurch, great and inexpensive food, lots of souvenirs to buy. The hop-on, hop-off tram was also fun as we wended our way through construction sites and saw the huge effort being made to rebuild Christchurch. Very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour and to experience the tragedy in Christchurch from the earthquake

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

David P United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The service was excellent, the food was good not great and tram track was terrible. They only have a few blocks of track restored and we got tired over just going back and forth during our trip. They allow a bathroom break after an hour of going forward and reverse. We took the opportunity to leave at that point and find another activity. I would not recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Pamela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent way to see highlights of Christchurch. The gardens are a must. Wish I had more time to explore. The punting on the Avon was a fun excursion--very touristy but still fun. The gondola was broken down when we got there--a first for our driver. He then prompted to find some other touring around there for us to do while waiting for the gondola to reopen--which it did not. Disappointing. The company however did refund the gondola portion right away. The hop-on hop-off tram was also a fun way to tour some of the inner city sites. Very easy and informative.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

Jillian M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Super way to see Christchurch. Puntng on the Avov, caterpillar tour through the gardens and a gondalar ride to a gloreous view with a fiendly knowledgable guide. Great value

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

ANN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was the best city tour I have ever been on the driver Reg was excellent and kept his cool mid adversity

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

Micheal L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Excellent meal well presented and staff very obliging. I was advised to wear a suit but found myself the only one with a tie on, so anyone else can ignore that as it seems you can dress how you like. Unfortunately there was no commentary at all we just moved around Christchurch without any indication of here we were or what we were seeing. There are still massive building programmes going on after the earthquake so not all a pretty sight.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Courtney N

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Nice food, fun way to see the city. The staff are lovely.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

raymond b M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

HAD A GREAT TIME AND GREAT MEAL

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent dinner and service. Nice riding around while eating.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

strugatch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Best way to see Christchurch. Punting on the Avon was so much fun, the Botanic Gardens tour was wonderful, and the hop-on hop-off tram was excellent.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

griffjames2

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

It was a very interesting concept and a pleasant evening which I thoroughly enjoyed. A table for two is a bit cramped and the tram circuit is not big so you do see the same place a number of times. It does show you the devatastation still remaining from the earthquake. Service was good and most people enjoyed their food. They definitely want you to enjoy the dinner and customer satisfaction is key to their service. I was very pleased that I did this tour.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

harry d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved it . I might say it has been the nicest meal of our 5 night stay in Christchurch a very enjoyable evening

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Christene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Was a great way to see Christchurch CBD and have a relaxed meal and drink. The manager Philip was just a treat he was attentive and very funny. Food was really good and done in such a small kitchen on the tram I thought was very clever. The Tram did 4 loops of the city and you get to stretch your legs half way through. There is a longer loop but due to traffic we only did the one shorter one. This did not matter as you chat and eat and forget you are on a tram as the driver is very smooth and also tops at some of the scenic points along the way.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message