Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

International Antarctic Centre

Experience everything you want to know about the icy continent of Antarctica at the International Antarctic Centre, from indoor ice storms to Hagglund rides and penguins. Feeding time at the NZ Penguin encounter is hugely popular, as is the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour..a wonderful drive into Christchurch from the port. Well worth the drive as you see such lovely scenery. The Antarctic Centre was great especially the blizzard storm at -18 degrees. Recommend this tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Stuart R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were very lucky to be the only two people on the tour so had complete attention from the guide, he was brilliant from beginning to end.

Doing what: Discover Christchurch Sightseeing Tour with optional International Antarctic Center Admission

Elisa F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Tour was good except not enough time factored in for lunch break in the day. The International Antarctic is a must. Very good item in the intinerary. The drive to Christchurch from Akaroa is spectacular. Plenty to see, would have liked more time in Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Anthea J

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The bus ride was way too long. Due to the earthquakes, the port was a long way. 3 hours on the bus is what ruined this tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Lyndall S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Late leaving the port on our tour due to inefficient tender system from cruise ship. No fault of the tour company. We left minus 2 passengers but the tour operator transported them to Christchurch and met us at the Antarctice Centre! Picturesque drive both ways to and from Christchurch. Arctic Centre visit was cut short due to loss of time waiting at port - definitely worth 2-3 hr visit. Drive through Christchurch again was hurried but we were time pressured. Our driver was full of information. Great day out.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

nana2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Long day of touring. Beautiful drive to Christchurch but too much time viewing earthquake damage. Would have loved more time in Botanical Gardens and Museum both of which were wonderful. Antarctic center interesting adventure. Wish we had more time there too.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Keith E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip to the International Antarctic Centre was fantastic and we wished we could have stayed there much longer. We were pleased to go to Christchurch but we felt so much for the people who suffered the earthquake 5 years ago. The damage was extensive.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Hubbert L

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

We knew lunch was not included in this excursion, but still expected them to have a break where we could buy it somewhere. They did not give us a chance to eat until after 3 in the afternoon. There was a stop around 10 in the morning where we could have purchased some sandwiches had we known there'd be no lunch stop, but we were not warned. Many people cannot go this long without eating without getting physically ill. Any tour operator should know better than to let people go hungry that long.

Also, there was no commentary on the bus ride. I assume we saw Banks Peninsula - we saw some gorgeous views - but nobody identified it as such.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

R CRAIG A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The tour involved a long bus ride but the driver made it very interesting. The Antarctic Center was a great experience. There was a little coordination problems at the start of the tour but it did not significantly detract from the experience.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

cdusmjrn

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Unfortunately we got a late 1/2 hr start due to some folks being tardy for the tender. The tour operator opted to wait for 4 people and hold up 16 others. This put the driver in a squeeze to get everything on the itinerary completed and get back to the ship before the last tender. Antarctic Center was well worth the ride and to see the remnants of the damage to Christchurch was interesting.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

newyorkmaya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

this tour was wonderful. the antarcic center is not to be missed.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

arprice1

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Could have spent longer at the Antartic Center. Very good!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Anthony S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Our guide spent too much time showing us damaged buildings from the earthquake and vacant blocks of land where buildings used to be. We also stopped for 30minutes to view the Botanical gardens and Museum in Christchurch, that time would be better spent at the Antarctic Centre where time was limited and we did not get to see everything and only had 5 minutes to get something to eat. Tour guides need to concentrate more on the Antarctic Centre.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Myles G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Tour didn't start till 10.30am. There were too many things packed into this tour and not enough time. Also didn't help the fact that some people were late in arriving at the start and the bus waited for them. Not enough time to do anything - too much time spent driving through the ruins of Christchurch and not enough time at the Antarctic Centre only 1.5 hrs. Advice would be to start the tour earlier say 9.30am, skip the stop at the museum 20 mins wasn't enough time and have more time at the Antartic Centre.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Gregory H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

this tour was like watching a movie on fast forward, you are rushed everywhere on a small very bouncy bus, not worth doing. you will be disappointed.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

susan d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Was everything promised, and really enjoyed the history given by our bus driver as well, book the tour you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

John-Edward A United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We are glad we were able to make this excurion but it is too bad that it takes so long to get to and from Christchurch. We were glad tho that we did get to see the City and the International Antarctic visit was interesting and enjoyable as well.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Joyce P. L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The driver made an extra effort to listen to our desires. The city tour was interesting with all the earthquake damage still visible, and the guide had the information and statistics about it for us. The Antarctic Center was great fun! I'd do it again!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Shimon G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

The bus had terrible sound system. The bus driver spoke in a low voice and when I asked him to speak up, he was very rude saying "what do you want me to shout? I will lose my voice!". A very bad tour with a terrible and rude guide.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Karen B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

First, International Antarctic was wonderful. I've been there and it was most realistic. Enjoyed the simulated storm. Ride in land transportation fun. Well planned, well executed, accurate, realistic. Drive to Christchurch long, but necessary since ship harbored in Akaroa. Bus tour of Christchurch much too long. Once you've seen structurally failed buildings, either obvious or not, it's not necessary to see it for 1 1/2 hours. Would have preferred more of the Antarctic exhibit and more narrative on way to Christchurch. Ask driver not to tell the tour how pressed for time we are and how much we'll miss. Just adds to anxiety, not to tour enjoyment.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Murray T New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Such a pretty scenic drive into Christchurch from Akaroa and Hank our driver returned another way and it to had views to die for .Excellent trip and felt very sad for christchurch when we saw what 22seconds of quake could do. Great day

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message