Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

International Antarctic Centre

Experience everything you want to know about the icy continent of Antarctica at the International Antarctic Centre, from indoor ice storms to ATV rides and penguins. Feeding time at the NZ Penguin encounter is hugely popular, as is the Penguin ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Murray T
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Such a pretty scenic drive into Christchurch from Akaroa and Hank our driver returned another way and it to had views to die for .Excellent trip and felt very sad for christchurch when we saw what 22seconds of quake could do. Great day

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

We (the group of 6) were very unhappy with our tour guide. First of all, he bought us the wrong tickets to International Antarctic Centre and left. Then we found out that we couldn't ride on the Hagglund all-terrain vehicle because we were given the cheapest entrance bracelets. We had to waste 40 minutes resolving this issue with the Antarctic Centre's personnel. The guide didn't even apologize for his mistake. Secondly, he didn't take us to visit the Christchurch Botanic Gardens because "he didn't have time". We told him numerous times that it was supposed to be included in the tour, and we were waiting for this but he refused to take us there. Instead he took us to the downtown of Christchurch and wasn't SHOWING us the sights of the town, he was just telling us "it was lovely before the earthquake". We didn't gain anything from him as a tour guide; it was the worst tour we had in our trips!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Beautiful scenery. and the Antarctic exhibit was very interesting.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

an excellent tour. Our driver was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Travelled with kids, and they simply loved it, lots to see and learn, a must see attraction if you going to Christchurch

Doing what: Christchurch Snow and Kiwi Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We would have liked more time at the Antarctic Center and the museum. We understand the ships schedule precluded longer stays at these places.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Antartic trip was great, but we only had 1 hour at the center. We were driven around Christchurch to see some sights but most of this was the devistation from the earthquake,

We had 2 children with our party of 8 and they were really looking forward to see the Antartic centre, but with on 1 hour they were really disappointed that we had such a short time there. i must say though that the drivers were very informative, I think it would be much better if we were taken to the Antartic centre first
and given 2 hours there, then the drivers could show us the wreckage of Christchurch on the way back to the ship, We changed buses during the trip and they both showed us the earthquake damage, 1 would have been plenty.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

We weren't aware that there was a 3 hour drive to and from Akaroa Port. Our bus broke down and we didn't have time to experience the Antartic Experience. We feel too much was crammed into the Tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The bus ride from Akaroa was beautiful and the earthquake destruction was interesting but the tour was too short. Maybe 3 hours travel. It did not leave the dock until 10:30 and returned about 4:30. A visit to the botanical garden was about 15 minute to use the facilities and look at the garden. Nice museum there that was completely missed. Impossible. The Antarctic center was very good and fun. Guide was good but the tour needs to lengthen about an hour. Why the 10:30 departure when our ship was in at 8? Find another tour operator with a little longer schedule.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

There was someone right outside the port with a Canterbury Leisure Tours sign, so was easy to know what to do, But we could not understand the tour driver from Akaroa to Christchurch and returning to Akaroa. Don't know if it was the bus sound system or how he used it. We could hear the driver from CC to the Antarctic center fine. The tour was fine, but would have been nice to hear the naration with the scenery going and coming.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

The bus we travelled around in had broken rear suspension and we bounced around very uncomfortably. The bus was dirty and needed some inside fixtures repaired. The driver was friendly but appeared disinterested. Christchurch is still devastated from the 2011 earthquake and there is not much to see as the driver kept pointing out where buildings had once been. Very disappointing tour.

Doing what: Discover Christchurch Sightseeing Tour with optional International Antarctic Center Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

There is a 1 1/2 hr. drive from the Akaroa dock into Christchurch, but you get to see alot of the beautiful country side. When you are in Christchurch you truly do see what the people are doing to recover from the 2010 earthquake.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Very enjoyable, good local knowledge from coach driver. Tour of Christchurch "red zone" was thought provoking. Antarctic visit interesting and fun.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message