Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

International Antarctic Centre

Experience everything you want to know about the icy continent of Antarctica at the International Antarctic Centre, from indoor ice storms to ATV rides and penguins. Feeding time at the NZ Penguin encounter is hugely popular, as is the Penguin ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Our guide spent too much time showing us damaged buildings from the earthquake and vacant blocks of land where buildings used to be. We also stopped for 30minutes to view the Botanical gardens and Museum in Christchurch, that time would be better spent at the Antarctic Centre where time was limited and we did not get to see everything and only had 5 minutes to get something to eat. Tour guides need to concentrate more on the Antarctic Centre.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

this tour was like watching a movie on fast forward, you are rushed everywhere on a small very bouncy bus, not worth doing. you will be disappointed.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Was everything promised, and really enjoyed the history given by our bus driver as well, book the tour you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

John-Edward A
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We are glad we were able to make this excurion but it is too bad that it takes so long to get to and from Christchurch. We were glad tho that we did get to see the City and the International Antarctic visit was interesting and enjoyable as well.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The driver made an extra effort to listen to our desires. The city tour was interesting with all the earthquake damage still visible, and the guide had the information and statistics about it for us. The Antarctic Center was great fun! I'd do it again!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

The bus had terrible sound system. The bus driver spoke in a low voice and when I asked him to speak up, he was very rude saying "what do you want me to shout? I will lose my voice!". A very bad tour with a terrible and rude guide.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

First, International Antarctic was wonderful. I've been there and it was most realistic. Enjoyed the simulated storm. Ride in land transportation fun. Well planned, well executed, accurate, realistic. Drive to Christchurch long, but necessary since ship harbored in Akaroa. Bus tour of Christchurch much too long. Once you've seen structurally failed buildings, either obvious or not, it's not necessary to see it for 1 1/2 hours. Would have preferred more of the Antarctic exhibit and more narrative on way to Christchurch. Ask driver not to tell the tour how pressed for time we are and how much we'll miss. Just adds to anxiety, not to tour enjoyment.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Murray T
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Such a pretty scenic drive into Christchurch from Akaroa and Hank our driver returned another way and it to had views to die for .Excellent trip and felt very sad for christchurch when we saw what 22seconds of quake could do. Great day

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

We (the group of 6) were very unhappy with our tour guide. First of all, he bought us the wrong tickets to International Antarctic Centre and left. Then we found out that we couldn't ride on the Hagglund all-terrain vehicle because we were given the cheapest entrance bracelets. We had to waste 40 minutes resolving this issue with the Antarctic Centre's personnel. The guide didn't even apologize for his mistake. Secondly, he didn't take us to visit the Christchurch Botanic Gardens because "he didn't have time". We told him numerous times that it was supposed to be included in the tour, and we were waiting for this but he refused to take us there. Instead he took us to the downtown of Christchurch and wasn't SHOWING us the sights of the town, he was just telling us "it was lovely before the earthquake". We didn't gain anything from him as a tour guide; it was the worst tour we had in our trips!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Beautiful scenery. and the Antarctic exhibit was very interesting.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

an excellent tour. Our driver was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message