Praised as one of the most incredibly scenic train journeys in the world, the TranzAlpine chugs its way from Christchurch to Greymouth, via Arthur's Pass, daily. Making its way from one coast of New Zealand to the other, from the Pacific Ocean ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent trip, all pick-ups on time. Excellent hotels. A lot of hours on the bus - 8 hours there and back for a two-hour boat ride. Scenery and stops for lunch and tea made bus travel good. Sometimes drivers a little cranky, but usually because people late returning from stops. Overall trip went very smoothly, and scenery was truly amazing.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We were disappointed. Your company made us feel ripped off and stupid !!! The details about the tour on the website and in email that you informed us before the tour start went wrong and made us confused and upset !!! First, you didnt provide hotel pick up and drop off as promised on the first and the last day !!! We just knew that we have to make our own way to bus station before the pick up time one hour !!! And we knew that because we called you !! Your staff told us over the phone that your company mailed by post us two days ago before the tour start to inform the changes !! But we didn't get any mail !!! We have asked the hotel staff ... nobody found any mail !!! I just don't understand why didnt't you call us or email us !!! You asked for those contact detail !!! And my phone was on international roaming service to stand by to get any urgent information from you !!! Second, on website you mentioned that tour will operated by coach. I think it's quite tricky !!! Because coach made us though that you would provide a coach for a specific group of people. But it turn out to be a inter-city bus that opened for the public !! After all, we did research about the cost of everything accommodation, activity, transportation cost and we found out that your company overcharged us 355 per person !!! I know and understand that the travel agent need to make profit from arrangement those kind of things for the customer. But don't you think that too much !!! How can you do that ??? At first I saw your company profile and I though you are a good one. We decided to buy more than one package from you. We bought another two packages Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa from your company. They were good. And the price are reasonable !!!! However, after experience 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train
I decided not to recommend anyone to buy your services anymore !!!

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip was everything we hoped it would be. However, it was different from what we expected. It was not a set tour with a constant group of people. Rather, it was a series of 4 1-day tours with different people joining and exiting. In addition, it was really a 4 days of touring with a day off in the middle. That's OK because we were exhausted after the second day. The tour guide from "Great Sights" was fantastic. The others were good, but not as good as he was. We especially appreciated the attention to details - that we were picked up and taken from location to location (drivers were waiting for us with our names on a sign.) The hotels were fine. In general, our expectations/hopes were met. This was an excellent introduction to the South Island of New Zealand. I feel comfortable considering Viator for our next adventure. THANKS!!!

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Everything went to plan as whole event well organised from the start

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Most of it was very good/excellent. I do prefer smaller group tours, and the scenic train ride wasn't very scenic.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The view during the entire trip was truly fabulous! One thing is you would have almost a day off during this trip which you have to plan yourself. I rent a bicycle in Fox Glacier and spend the 1st days' afternoon enjoyed the sun and the Lake Matheson. After the dinner my friend and I went to the nearby forest for glowworm which was so amazing! 2nd day you would only have the valley walk which was interesting and not dangerous at all, so my friend and I went for the helicopter and enjoyed the view of the Glacier during the rest of day which was soooooo awesome! But I have to say helicopter thing cost me a bunch of money, but who cares right! We still got a lot of time left, but my friend was a bit sick so we spend the rest of time relax and wander around the main road and forest. The 3rd day's main point was the TranzAlpine Train! The highlight of the trip! However, I did spend a lot of extra money during the trip as I got a lot of free time while I love to do anything I could possibly do.

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We can't imagine a more efficient way to see major South Island sites. The tour was unbelievably well organized and ran exceedingly close to schedule. Accommodations, comfort and location were very good. Tour staff, drivers and guides were a real pleasure. That said, it was a whirl wind tour designed to give you the highlights... perhaps encouraging you to come back and spend more time. If that's what you want, this is an excellent choice. If you want a less hurried pace, then maybe look for something else. This options clearly suited our needs and time constraints. But boy we wish we had had a bit more time at some of the beautiful sites that we visited.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Everything was great except we only had about half hour to see Franz Josef Glacier before it got dark (end of June), so we had to walk briskly from the parking lot through the hiking trail to catch a glimpse of the glacier, and then walk back in semi-darkness. Also note that this is actually an "independent coach tour", which means they book you on the various day tours and intercity buses and you need to be able to follow an itinerary sheet yourself; might be obvious for Europeans and Aussies/Kiwis who have a strong backpacking culture, but it would not be clear from the tour descriptions to Americans and Asians.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Was top notch. All the pickups were right on schedule and the hotels fine. Great scenery.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour was OK, but why 5 days' tour is only 4 days with one free day? Heidi and Uolevi

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Main features of tour (Milford Sound Cruise, TransAlpine train ride,etc) were very enjoyable and impressive. Guides were mostly very informative and sometimes funny. Free day in Queenstown was great. But...I guess we are not really guided tour people. We enjoyed not having to drive ourselves but we would have liked the flexibility of doing our own thing.. I guess we should have kept the rental car after all. For example it was pouring as we headed for Mt. Cook.. Could not see mountain at all and could not go walking as we had planned. If we were on our own we would have skipped Mt. Cook and just headed for Queenstown. That would have gotten us in much earlier.
That reminds me: One of my biggest complaints was that the first 2 days were really long driving days - about 12 hours on the road. Maybe you should consider having people stay in Te Anu as a starting point for Milford Sound. It is lots closer,

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Everything was great and perfectly arranged. Prior info and opt ins for additional components (e.g. The helicopter rides) would have made it better.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Really great way of seeing the S Island with so much beautiful scenery. I just wish it had been longer, or there was an easy way of making it longer. For an adrenaline junkie like me, one free day in Queenstown wasn't enough. Also, the drive to the Franz Josef glacier is a long one, so if you go in winter, you don't end up with much time there, which was a shame.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

This was a great way to see the highlights of the South Island and the free day in Queenstown was perfect for people wanting to try the various adventure sports The trip was very well organised and would be suitable for all types of traveller.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Overall a fantastic trip which is worth the considerable time spent travelling by coach. Amazing scenery and great hotels. Would have liked a little more time at Fran Josef .Thanks for a great holiday.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message