Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

TranzAlpine Train

Praised as one of the most incredibly scenic train journeys in the world, the TranzAlpine chugs its way from Christchurch to Greymouth, via Arthur's Pass, daily. Making its way from one coast of New Zealand to the other, from the Pacific Ocean ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

RICHARD S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

absolutely fabulous

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Dan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The scenery was beautiful on the train trip. It gave you a sense of what the country was about. Sue our driver did a great job of telling us about NZ and answered all our questions. I would recommend this trip to everyone and would do it again. Dan O'Neal

Doing what: Arthur's Pass Day Tour including TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch

Gail O

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Enjoyed the 5 day south island tour. The schedule was adhered to and timing was good. The commentaries were pretty good by the bus drivers. However the last 1 1/2 day to and from Franz Josef Glacier the commentary was weak. The bus on day 4/5 was less comfortable and airy than the previous days.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Heejae L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This Tour was awesome! Except last 2 days!

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

ellentoday

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

It has been too much road trip and some overlapping routes. The cleanliness level of the hotel chosen for Queenstown stay is not satisfactory.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

griffjames2

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

This did not live up to our expectations. We had expected four short walks up at Arthur's Pass and all we got was a drive through Otari which I would not show to anyone, two photo stops with no walks, and one walk on the way back at Castle Hill. Lunch was good and the guide/driver very pleasant. However there was no delicious morning or afternoon tea and no several short bush walks as youre guided along riverside paths in the forest.
We had expected to get out and enjoy the fresh air, but simply sat in a train and then in a van. The road trip back was in some ways more scenic than the rail trip but the weather had brightened up at that stage.
This trip was far too expensive for what it delivered and I would not recommend it.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Raymond D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Everything went off without a hitch. Accommodation was very good.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Heather S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is an excellent way to see a good deal of sights in a short time. It fairly packs them in too! The timetabling works out well and all of the bus journeys are enjoyable and include commentary and photo stops when time allows too. The train journey was a highlight for me as were the Mount Cook / Lake Tekapo views. Hotel meals aren't included so be aware of that one.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Jay B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Well organized tour provided through several local providers. Good inclusion of highlights of South Island. First hotel below expectations, second hotel above expectations. Timing for Glacier visit too tight.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Olivia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent trip, all pick-ups on time. Excellent hotels. A lot of hours on the bus - 8 hours there and back for a two-hour boat ride. Scenery and stops for lunch and tea made bus travel good. Sometimes drivers a little cranky, but usually because people late returning from stops. Overall trip went very smoothly, and scenery was truly amazing.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Sunicha S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We were disappointed. Your company made us feel ripped off and stupid !!! The details about the tour on the website and in email that you informed us before the tour start went wrong and made us confused and upset !!! First, you didnt provide hotel pick up and drop off as promised on the first and the last day !!! We just knew that we have to make our own way to bus station before the pick up time one hour !!! And we knew that because we called you !! Your staff told us over the phone that your company mailed by post us two days ago before the tour start to inform the changes !! But we didn't get any mail !!! We have asked the hotel staff ... nobody found any mail !!! I just don't understand why didnt't you call us or email us !!! You asked for those contact detail !!! And my phone was on international roaming service to stand by to get any urgent information from you !!! Second, on website you mentioned that tour will operated by coach. I think it's quite tricky !!! Because coach made us though that you would provide a coach for a specific group of people. But it turn out to be a inter-city bus that opened for the public !! After all, we did research about the cost of everything accommodation, activity, transportation cost and we found out that your company overcharged us 355 per person !!! I know and understand that the travel agent need to make profit from arrangement those kind of things for the customer. But don't you think that too much !!! How can you do that ??? At first I saw your company profile and I though you are a good one. We decided to buy more than one package from you. We bought another two packages Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa from your company. They were good. And the price are reasonable !!!! However, after experience 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train
I decided not to recommend anyone to buy your services anymore !!!

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip was everything we hoped it would be. However, it was different from what we expected. It was not a set tour with a constant group of people. Rather, it was a series of 4 1-day tours with different people joining and exiting. In addition, it was really a 4 days of touring with a day off in the middle. That's OK because we were exhausted after the second day. The tour guide from "Great Sights" was fantastic. The others were good, but not as good as he was. We especially appreciated the attention to details - that we were picked up and taken from location to location (drivers were waiting for us with our names on a sign.) The hotels were fine. In general, our expectations/hopes were met. This was an excellent introduction to the South Island of New Zealand. I feel comfortable considering Viator for our next adventure. THANKS!!!

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

John R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Everything went to plan as whole event well organised from the start

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Most of it was very good/excellent. I do prefer smaller group tours, and the scenic train ride wasn't very scenic.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Andrea L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The view during the entire trip was truly fabulous! One thing is you would have almost a day off during this trip which you have to plan yourself. I rent a bicycle in Fox Glacier and spend the 1st days' afternoon enjoyed the sun and the Lake Matheson. After the dinner my friend and I went to the nearby forest for glowworm which was so amazing! 2nd day you would only have the valley walk which was interesting and not dangerous at all, so my friend and I went for the helicopter and enjoyed the view of the Glacier during the rest of day which was soooooo awesome! But I have to say helicopter thing cost me a bunch of money, but who cares right! We still got a lot of time left, but my friend was a bit sick so we spend the rest of time relax and wander around the main road and forest. The 3rd day's main point was the TranzAlpine Train! The highlight of the trip! However, I did spend a lot of extra money during the trip as I got a lot of free time while I love to do anything I could possibly do.

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We can't imagine a more efficient way to see major South Island sites. The tour was unbelievably well organized and ran exceedingly close to schedule. Accommodations, comfort and location were very good. Tour staff, drivers and guides were a real pleasure. That said, it was a whirl wind tour designed to give you the highlights... perhaps encouraging you to come back and spend more time. If that's what you want, this is an excellent choice. If you want a less hurried pace, then maybe look for something else. This options clearly suited our needs and time constraints. But boy we wish we had had a bit more time at some of the beautiful sites that we visited.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Hui Min C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Everything was great except we only had about half hour to see Franz Josef Glacier before it got dark (end of June), so we had to walk briskly from the parking lot through the hiking trail to catch a glimpse of the glacier, and then walk back in semi-darkness. Also note that this is actually an "independent coach tour", which means they book you on the various day tours and intercity buses and you need to be able to follow an itinerary sheet yourself; might be obvious for Europeans and Aussies/Kiwis who have a strong backpacking culture, but it would not be clear from the tour descriptions to Americans and Asians.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Was top notch. All the pickups were right on schedule and the hotels fine. Great scenery.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were very fortunate to have an experienced , knowledgeable and professional guide for the day.
Please pass on our many thanks to Michael

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Bonnie G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was a beautiful day which would make any activity pretty great. Our guide Gavin was very knowledgeable and a excellent source of information about the natural environment surrounding us. One of the best things about this trip is you get to experience the train ride an d vistas, yet get off before it becomes boring. Commentary on the train was good. Scenery was awesome and the lunch was very good at Beally's hotel. It turned out to only be my husband and I in the tour, so we reaped the benefits of a very personalized tour. A great experience.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Peter J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our guide Chris was wonderful, it was just my husband and myself. Train trip was fantastic, Chris met us at Arthurs Pass station and showed us around the National Park, due to the Coast to Coast race being on we had a picnic lunch instead, which was a wonderful idea beside a beautiful lake. I would highly recommend this tour to family and friends, out of ten I would rate this a 10. Thank you Chris for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Uolevi K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour was OK, but why 5 days' tour is only 4 days with one free day? Heidi and Uolevi

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

What a great day! We had guide Sally all to ourselves and boy did she know her stuff! We saw and learned all sorts of details we would never have found on our own. Thank you for a great day out!

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

James L

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Outstanding-highly recommend. Alan our guide was great- lots of knowledge

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Charles H

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Main features of tour (Milford Sound Cruise, TransAlpine train ride,etc) were very enjoyable and impressive. Guides were mostly very informative and sometimes funny. Free day in Queenstown was great. But...I guess we are not really guided tour people. We enjoyed not having to drive ourselves but we would have liked the flexibility of doing our own thing.. I guess we should have kept the rental car after all. For example it was pouring as we headed for Mt. Cook.. Could not see mountain at all and could not go walking as we had planned. If we were on our own we would have skipped Mt. Cook and just headed for Queenstown. That would have gotten us in much earlier.
That reminds me: One of my biggest complaints was that the first 2 days were really long driving days - about 12 hours on the road. Maybe you should consider having people stay in Te Anu as a starting point for Milford Sound. It is lots closer,

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message