• USD ($)
  • English
Praised as one of the most incredibly scenic train journeys in the world, the TranzAlpine chugs its way from Christchurch to Greymouth, via Arthur's Pass, daily. Making its way from one coast of New Zealand to the other, from the Pacific Ocean ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Everything was great except we only had about half hour to see Franz Josef Glacier before it got dark (end of June), so we had to walk briskly from the parking lot through the hiking trail to catch a glimpse of the glacier, and then walk back in semi-darkness. Also note that this is actually an "independent coach tour", which means they book you on the various day tours and intercity buses and you need to be able to follow an itinerary sheet yourself; might be obvious for Europeans and Aussies/Kiwis who have a strong backpacking culture, but it would not be clear from the tour descriptions to Americans and Asians.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Was top notch. All the pickups were right on schedule and the hotels fine. Great scenery.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour was OK, but why 5 days' tour is only 4 days with one free day? Heidi and Uolevi

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Main features of tour (Milford Sound Cruise, TransAlpine train ride,etc) were very enjoyable and impressive. Guides were mostly very informative and sometimes funny. Free day in Queenstown was great. But...I guess we are not really guided tour people. We enjoyed not having to drive ourselves but we would have liked the flexibility of doing our own thing.. I guess we should have kept the rental car after all. For example it was pouring as we headed for Mt. Cook.. Could not see mountain at all and could not go walking as we had planned. If we were on our own we would have skipped Mt. Cook and just headed for Queenstown. That would have gotten us in much earlier.
That reminds me: One of my biggest complaints was that the first 2 days were really long driving days - about 12 hours on the road. Maybe you should consider having people stay in Te Anu as a starting point for Milford Sound. It is lots closer,

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Everything was great and perfectly arranged. Prior info and opt ins for additional components (e.g. The helicopter rides) would have made it better.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Really great way of seeing the S Island with so much beautiful scenery. I just wish it had been longer, or there was an easy way of making it longer. For an adrenaline junkie like me, one free day in Queenstown wasn't enough. Also, the drive to the Franz Josef glacier is a long one, so if you go in winter, you don't end up with much time there, which was a shame.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

This was a great way to see the highlights of the South Island and the free day in Queenstown was perfect for people wanting to try the various adventure sports The trip was very well organised and would be suitable for all types of traveller.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Overall a fantastic trip which is worth the considerable time spent travelling by coach. Amazing scenery and great hotels. Would have liked a little more time at Fran Josef .Thanks for a great holiday.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

It was very well organized and we loved it

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

David R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Had a wonderful time. Buses were very comfortable. drivers were friendly and informative. We learned a lot about New Zealand and were very well looked after.All the hotels we stayed at were well maintained and in central locations. People's needs were well looked after. Once again thank you for a great trip.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Because our original flight from Sydney was cancelled we had to ask that our travel arrangements be modified by 24 hours .and this was done swiftly and efficiently . Well done !.On each leg of our trip we found the Driver/couriers to be courteous and knowledgable .We particularly enjoyed our free day in Queenstown....a shangri la hidden in the mountains.Atruly memorable trip..

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Because our original flight from Sydney was cancelled we had to ask that our travel arrangements be modified by 24 hours .and this was done swiftly and efficiently . Well done !.On each leg of our trip we found the Driver/couriers to be courteous and knowledgable .We particularly enjoyed our free day in Queenstown....shangri la hidden in the mountains.Atruly memorable trip..

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

I did your 5 day tour with my grand daughter recently, and enjoyed it all thoroughly. The weather was a bit wet, so we missed seeing Mitre Peak and Mt Cook. However, mircaculously it was fine at Franz Josef, and that was great. Having the extra free day at Queenstown was great. We really used that! The coaches were comfortable, and all the drivers friendly. The motels were fine too. having meals not included was a bit of a shame, but I guess that is the nature of the trip Regards Loved NZ Judy

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Everything was so well organized by Viator. Overall the trip was fantastic. We had a great time in NZ.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Jeff B
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Queenstown hotel could have been a little nicer, but it was close walking to anything in town. The driver fron Christchurch to Queenstown was great...he had great knowledge and was fun and nice to everyone.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message