Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

Willowbank Wildlife Reserve

Have a memorable hands-on meeting with New Zealand's unique animals at the Willowbank Wildlife Reserve. Mixing lighthearted entertainment with more serious conservation issues, there are Maori cultural performances in the evening and dinner ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Loved seeing the kiwi's and the performance was neat ! We had plenty to eat as well

Doing what: Willowbank Dinner and Maori Concert from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Travelled with kids, and they simply loved it, lots to see and learn, a must see attraction if you going to Christchurch

Doing what: Christchurch Snow and Kiwi Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

We were disappointed with the driver and his knowledge and communication skills of the area. He was a concern with his driver fatique , we felt he needed Driver Fatique management training. Our concern came on our way back to Akaroa around the winding hills and the weather was wet. He definetly needs training in all areas and be reassuring the safety of all. Not a Pleasant experience

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Willowbank Wildlife Reserve

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour was very informative , we enjoyed the show , the staff were were very friendly and the meal was generous however not to our liking .

Doing what: Willowbank Dinner and Maori Concert from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Interesting exhibits, with penguin feeding and commentary especially enjoyed. Ride on Hagglund altogether too wild for over 70's like ourselves - threw us around too violently to be appreciated. Wildlife Centre guided visit to native bird section was enthralling, close proximity to native and rare birds a real privilege.Dinner at the Casino was lovely.

Doing what: Christchurch Snow and Kiwi Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

It would have been better if at least the actors looked like Maori. We attended something similar on the north island a few years ago and it was much more original. Too much effort trying to get audience participation.

Doing what: Christchurch Maori Concert and Kiwi Viewing

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

the tour was ok as I was with teenager children. But the city is still not alive because of earthquake. So my group was me and my children only.

Doing what: Christchurch Snow and Kiwi Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

The Antarctic Centre and Willowbank Wildlife Centre are both great sights, but this tour was unfortunately somewhat disappointing. While we arrived at the Antarctic Centre before the 3pm departure time stated on the website, we barely had an hour there, missing out on some of the key attractions, before having to depart for the Wildlife Centre. The tour at the Wildlife centre began at 4:30pm for an hour, by which time the Reserve had closed (winter hours), and our driver was ready us rush off to the dinner destination. Dinner was fine, although in keeping with the rest of the tour, rather hurried. Again we were only allotted about an hour, and had only just got our mains when our driver returned to take us back to our hotel. Even though we would have made it back to our accommodation well before the 8:30pm finish time, only a small extension was offered, as the driver had another job to attend. We decided to make alternative arrangements.

This tour had a lot of potential, but perhaps the description needs updating, or additional information to let people that activities in the winter or off season (if that was the reason) are different to those stated. For example, the dinner wasn’t at the Wildlife Reserve, as described on the website. If you have very limited time in Christchurch, this tour might be worth considering. However, if you’re less restricted, neither of the sights are too difficult to get to on your own and there’s a free shuttle to the Antarctic Centre from the center of town.

Doing what: Christchurch Snow and Kiwi Tour

Mark W
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The Antarctic Centre is alot of fun for kids and has some very interesting information for adults. We enjoyed the penguins, the Ice Storm room and reading about life in the Antarctic. The Haggalund is definitely worth doing. Willowbank was ok but wouldn't rave about it. We did get to see our first KIwi though. We had a bit of spare time before dinner so our driver took us on a little tour of the city and showed us some of the devastation caused by the Earthquake which we wouldn't have seen otherwise. We had dinner at the Casino which was really nice.

Doing what: Christchurch Snow and Kiwi Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

we had done this several years ago and this time i found it to be quite disappointing especially the food. there was not enough for the table of ten. i would recommend willow bank to anyone but unfortunately not the concert

Doing what: Willowbank Dinner and Maori Concert from Christchurch

Michael B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

It was a quiet day, so not all of the attractions were running as scheduled - except our tour guide made sure they did. The snow room and hagglund ride are a must - the 4D adventure comprised of getting squirted in the face with water (that was the 4th D)

Doing what: Christchurch Snow and Kiwi Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Though the earthquake closed the Antartic Center, the tour operator did a great job of providing alternative arrangements. Our driver, Ross, was outstanding -- friendly and personable.

Doing what: Christchurch Snow and Kiwi Tour

Haagse Harry.
Nederland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

This is all you must seen in Christchurch...

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message