• USD ($)
  • English
Christchurch is often described as the most English of New Zealand's cities. But for all its self-consciously inherited charm, it can hold its own as a thoroughly modern New Zealand city. Kiwi art has pride of place in the city's gallery, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was great and the instructor was awesome :)

Doing what: Christchurch Helicopter Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Sadly it rained for the whole time we were in Christchurch. We did go on the gondola and enjoyed the ride thru the rain to the top. We had lunch in the cafe and watched in amazement as clouds continuously rolled over the top of the mountain and blocked out the view. Because of the consistent rain the Avon river was in flood and we could not do the punt ride. We have requested a refund of this part of the tour and are waiting for Viator to process this.

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

It was enjoyable, the restaurant at the top is reasonably priced.

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very friendly and interesting staff. We would recommend the company to anyone wishing to experience the dolphins.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a good trip , we saw some fantastic sights. This was a small group tour, with our selves and two other couples. Stopping at Lake Tekapo was beautiful, we did see half of Mount Cook from a distance, unfortunately the clouds came in when we were at Mount Cook and did not get to see the mountain, but that is Mother Nature for you. This was a good day but a long day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great if you like - I mean, really like - dolphins. The trip went well, staff were proficient and competent in explaining the natural history of these dolphins. They emphasized that, as wild creatures in their natural environment, guarantees of behaviour could not be made. In the event we had only limited contact with these mammals and, although this met the terms of our booking, they voluntarily provided a partial refund. If you like dolphins this firm presents itself as knowledgeable and of high integrity. I strongly commend and recommend them.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

Mandy M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I found this tour very interesting. The staff were very friendly. We saw several dolphins close to the boat but unfortunately none of them stayed close by so we couldn't actually swim with the dolphins. We got refunded $50 because of that which was great. On the way back we also got some hot chocolate. I'd go again if I was ever in the area again.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The weather was average but in the end the mist and cloud gave the trip more character. In fact, if the weather was any poorer, they said they'd cancel the trip and refund the costs.
The pilot was friendly and gave us some interesting commentary throughout the trip.
The chopper itself was modern and had heaps of glass so we got a great view of the city.
It really gives you a good perspective of the devastation of the city after the most recent earthquake.

Doing what: Christchurch Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great crew and experience. Met lovely people from all around the world and also met 6 Hector's dolphins! Hot chocolate and a gingernut biscuit on the way back was greatly appreciated. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wonderful views. Nice facilities at the top

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We had a great time. The sights are amazing and the guides were helpful. The water was a little brisk, but the wetsuits were fine. The dolphins came around, but weren't very interested in sticking around very long with us that day, but we still enjoyed ourselves. We were very happy with the experience, but the guides said it wasn't a full enough of an adventure and gave us a partial refund! Great experience.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

Cat
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Good fun for the family for a few hours. Great views in from the gondola and from the lookout at the top.

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

BOOK DIRECTLY. The trip was freat but bookiing via Viatour was a mistake. I didn't receive any information about how fr it was from Christchurch, one hour, and I alsmost missed the tour.It was lucky I had a car. Also Viatour provided no address or directions on arrival and I had to wing it as I was in a hurry and no phone connection.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This was an incredible trip. We got to swim with quite a few dolphins and the guide was very informative. The dolphins were swimming right up to us and then around us. I wasn't scared at all even in the deep water. We were in the water for about 45 mins. You get thick wetsuites so you don't get cold

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Tour was fantastic. Everything went smoothly, all transfers and admissions. We highly recommend this tour in order to enjoy the splendour of the south island.

Doing what: 7-Day South Island Coastal Splendor Tour from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message