• USD ($)
  • English
Christchurch is often described as the most English of New Zealand's cities. But for all its self-consciously inherited charm, it can hold its own as a thoroughly modern New Zealand city. Kiwi art has pride of place in the city's gallery, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Convenient pickup on the pier. Driver/guide was very informative. Gave us lots of photo ops along the way.
Great value.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Not much to see at Christchurch. At least, we got the good weather to enjoy the jet boat ride, it was fun.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

We (the group of 6) were very unhappy with our tour guide. First of all, he bought us the wrong tickets to International Antarctic Centre and left. Then we found out that we couldn't ride on the Hagglund all-terrain vehicle because we were given the cheapest entrance bracelets. We had to waste 40 minutes resolving this issue with the Antarctic Centre's personnel. The guide didn't even apologize for his mistake. Secondly, he didn't take us to visit the Christchurch Botanic Gardens because "he didn't have time". We told him numerous times that it was supposed to be included in the tour, and we were waiting for this but he refused to take us there. Instead he took us to the downtown of Christchurch and wasn't SHOWING us the sights of the town, he was just telling us "it was lovely before the earthquake". We didn't gain anything from him as a tour guide; it was the worst tour we had in our trips!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful day, tour operator had heaps of local knowledge. Bus Driver was also very good as the roads out of Akaroa are very steep and lots of bends. The bus was very comfortable and smooth. Would highly recommended to anyone wanting to do this shoretour from the cruisers. This would have been the best tour ever.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A high quality tour taking in the beautiful coves and viewpoints along the Bank's Peninsula and the city of Christchurch raised to the ground in many parts by the terrible earthquake of February 2011. It is still very much a building site with plenty of temporary parking on the land cleared and awaiting re-building. It is a miracle that a lot more people were'nt killed. Also passed Lyttelton the former port of entry (now too shallow). Still plenty to see which one shouldn't miss. Again very price competitive, particularly against the cruise ship alternative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were picked up from our cruise ship on time. Tour of Christchurch was just a quick overview only had 40 min stop in gardens for a walk around. Jet boat ride was amazing we all but had the river to ourselves. I would recommend trip to anyone.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very friendly and interesting staff. We would recommend the company to anyone wishing to experience the dolphins.

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a wonderful tour of Akaroa and Christchurch. Christchurch was very sad to see but was certainly an impact on tourists who had been there before, like ourselves. We didn't recognise anything. Our driver stopped many times for photos.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Beautiful scenery. and the Antarctic exhibit was very interesting.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

an excellent tour. Our driver was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Loved the drive arround the peninsula, very nice landscape but tour always too short to experience more.....

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The boat trip was great and our driver was very experienced however I am not sure it was worth the 2 hour plus trip each way from Akoroa. Until Christchurch is rebuilt there is really no reason to go there all you see are damaged buildings that haven't even been torn down ever after three years.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The guides were very friendly, pleasant, good-humoured and knowledgeable. We enjoyed all of the tours.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message