In 1840, when the French sea captain Jean Francois Langlois sailed into Akaroa Harbor, he planned to establish a French colony on the south end of the Banks Peninsula. After all, on his previous visit, he had made arrangements with a Maori chief for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Max B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A really interesting tour of Christchurch and scenic drive back to Akaroa

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing trip. We saw heaps of sea life and the tour guide was full of local knowledge. I would highly recommend this trip for anyone visiting Akaroa

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wow! What can i say loved Akaroa.And then to take a trip to Christchurch was Great.
The tour was also worth doing.I will be back!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a full day tour, leaving from Akaroa and heading straight to Queenstown. A tour of the city was undertaken, including a trip to Sumner Bay for lunch. Back to the ship at Akaroa over the mountain for some of the most spectacular scenery I have ever seen. The driver/guide was full of knowledge, and I was very , very impressed with his high level of safe driving, especially over the mountain range where the road was narrow. A great day.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The drive was pretty to the small town of Akaroa. We arrived, and it was an overcast drizzly morning. By the time we got out on the water, the sun came out and the clouds cleared away. We sighted 10-15 dolphins, and were able to get out of the boat twice. The second time, the dolphins were more interested and started swimming through the group. It was fun vocalizing in the water through our snorkels to attract the dolphins. When we got back to the dock, the clouds came back and it started raining hard. We had the perfect window to go out. And the entire staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. I highly recommend the hot water poured into the back of our wetsuit! :-)

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a wonderful tour of Akaroa and Christchurch. Christchurch was very sad to see but was certainly an impact on tourists who had been there before, like ourselves. We didn't recognise anything. Our driver stopped many times for photos.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Definitely worth the price and offered a beautiful view of the Harbor. Captain was knowledgable and we were able to see dolphins as depicted in the photo. Suggest private walking tour of Akaroa using tourist info headphones and map as we'll. inexpensive

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful day, tour operator had heaps of local knowledge. Bus Driver was also very good as the roads out of Akaroa are very steep and lots of bends. The bus was very comfortable and smooth. Would highly recommended to anyone wanting to do this shoretour from the cruisers. This would have been the best tour ever.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Akaroa Harbour is a very nice place to visit if you are in Christchurch. We rented a car and drove 1 and 1/2 hours from Christchurch to Akaroa. The view along the journal was spectacular. The cruise was great and we did manage to see penguine and dolphins on that day. We were given a nice post card to remember after the cruise. We had a great trip.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent tour! Not only was it great that the driver picked us up from our hostal but he was very informative and knowledgable about the area as we drove to Akaroa. Non-stop chat-box. He stopped to allow us to take nice pictures on the side of the road. The day was perfect for seeing dolphins. We swam in a pod of about 18 dolphins at one time. Wetsuits make floating almost effortless and the cold water tolerable. One of the best part of our whole trip.

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Swimming with the dolphins was amazing, the driver between Christchurch and Akaroa was very nice and professional. The duration of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Neville C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Akaroa is a very beautiful place. o go there and not do a cruise and see the hector dolphins would be a big miss.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was excellent. We were met at the Akaroa Pier when our cruise ship docked by a very friendly and knowledgeable driver. The day was spent driving through the magnificent sights of New Zealand and visiting the interesting city of Christchurch. Christchurch is still trying to recover from the massive earthquakes they have endured recently and to see how they are doing this is quite remarkable.
Our lunch stop was very unique.
We were thrilled with this tour and can certainly recommend it.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The drive from Akaroa to Christchurch takes about and hour and a half and the scenery is breathtaking. Upon arrivig in Christchurch we were taken to the Botanical Gardens and the Museum next to the Gardens. Each venue needed at least an hour to walk through. We had 45 minutes total and for most on the bus it was a bathroom stop with no way to see or appreciate either. The drive through central Chrischurch which took the brunt of the earthquake, was like tourinng the aftermath of a war zone. Huge parking lots exist where buildings one stood. And many other streets are still barrackaded with massive amounts of debris or buildings are shored up with stacks of shipping containers. The sad part is that it will take another 10 years to rebuild the city and those that could afford it have moved to other areas. There is no time allocated for any sightseeing of Akaroa, a very small, cute village.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Susan A
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Staff were excellent, wetsuits were warm, dolphins were beautiful and came really close - the only reason I give this three stars and not four is because I did another one in Kaikoura that was even better, but if I had not and this was my only chance to swim with the dolphins, I would be totally happy with this experience. It was professional yet friendly. Good work. One tip, which the Kaikoura people did to give them the edge - they had a defogging spray to put inside the masks to keep them clear, and it really worked. Made Kaikoura that little bit better and easier, but it was still great in Akaroa.

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

First, weather was not very good with high winds. However, in general, it almost as if Christchurch is a bridge too far- ie fairly distant from Akaroa. The trip was fine, but given the distances you simply did not have the time to do much in Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message