In 1840, when the French sea captain Jean Francois Langlois sailed into Akaroa Harbor, he planned to establish a French colony on the south end of the Banks Peninsula. After all, on his previous visit, he had made arrangements with a Maori chief for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a full day tour, leaving from Akaroa and heading straight to Queenstown. A tour of the city was undertaken, including a trip to Sumner Bay for lunch. Back to the ship at Akaroa over the mountain for some of the most spectacular scenery I have ever seen. The driver/guide was full of knowledge, and I was very , very impressed with his high level of safe driving, especially over the mountain range where the road was narrow. A great day.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The drive was pretty to the small town of Akaroa. We arrived, and it was an overcast drizzly morning. By the time we got out on the water, the sun came out and the clouds cleared away. We sighted 10-15 dolphins, and were able to get out of the boat twice. The second time, the dolphins were more interested and started swimming through the group. It was fun vocalizing in the water through our snorkels to attract the dolphins. When we got back to the dock, the clouds came back and it started raining hard. We had the perfect window to go out. And the entire staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. I highly recommend the hot water poured into the back of our wetsuit! :-)

Doing what: Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa

Murray T
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Such a pretty scenic drive into Christchurch from Akaroa and Hank our driver returned another way and it to had views to die for .Excellent trip and felt very sad for christchurch when we saw what 22seconds of quake could do. Great day

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a wonderful tour of Akaroa and Christchurch. Christchurch was very sad to see but was certainly an impact on tourists who had been there before, like ourselves. We didn't recognise anything. Our driver stopped many times for photos.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Definitely worth the price and offered a beautiful view of the Harbor. Captain was knowledgable and we were able to see dolphins as depicted in the photo. Suggest private walking tour of Akaroa using tourist info headphones and map as we'll. inexpensive

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful day, tour operator had heaps of local knowledge. Bus Driver was also very good as the roads out of Akaroa are very steep and lots of bends. The bus was very comfortable and smooth. Would highly recommended to anyone wanting to do this shoretour from the cruisers. This would have been the best tour ever.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We were able to view numerous wildlife. The weather was beautiful. The guide/narrator was well versed and entertaining. We thoroughly enjoyed our Akaroa Harbor cruise.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

There is a 1 1/2 hr. drive from the Akaroa dock into Christchurch, but you get to see alot of the beautiful country side. When you are in Christchurch you truly do see what the people are doing to recover from the 2010 earthquake.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

I was part of a group of 6 who went on this tour and it was fantastic. The tour company were extremely efficient from the moment we stepped off the cruise, to making sure we were back on board in time. The drive from Akaroa to Christchurch was spectacular. One of the most picturesque drives I've seen. We arrived in Christchurch and had a little stop in town for refreshments. We continued with our guide who took us on a short tour around Christchurch. Our guides local knowledge was commendable, humorous and very interesting. We were then dropped off for our jet boating adventure on Waimak River. We jet boated over the crystal clear waters weaving in and out of some pretty hairy obstacles. I was amazed to see such control over such a speedy vessel. Our jet boating guide was very friendly and truly gave us a ride of our lives. After clutching the front of our seats for over 30 minutes we were then transported back to Akaroa, through the windy hills of Banks Peninsula with enough time to enjoy the local shops/market, test the pleasant sea water and enjoy a famous New Zealand ice cream. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Akaroa or anyone participating in a shore excursion. It was fantastic as we had time to take in the beauty of Akoroa village, experience the amazing Banks Peninsula, see the city of Christchurch and participate in high speed jetboating on the Waimak River all in one day. Definitely a memorable and worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Akaroa Harbour is a very nice place to visit if you are in Christchurch. We rented a car and drove 1 and 1/2 hours from Christchurch to Akaroa. The view along the journal was spectacular. The cruise was great and we did manage to see penguine and dolphins on that day. We were given a nice post card to remember after the cruise. We had a great trip.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent tour! Not only was it great that the driver picked us up from our hostal but he was very informative and knowledgable about the area as we drove to Akaroa. Non-stop chat-box. He stopped to allow us to take nice pictures on the side of the road. The day was perfect for seeing dolphins. We swam in a pod of about 18 dolphins at one time. Wetsuits make floating almost effortless and the cold water tolerable. One of the best part of our whole trip.

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Swimming with the dolphins was amazing, the driver between Christchurch and Akaroa was very nice and professional. The duration of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Neville C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Akaroa is a very beautiful place. o go there and not do a cruise and see the hector dolphins would be a big miss.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

We stopped in Akaroa for one day while cruising New Zealand. The tour took us from Akaroa to Christchurch. The guide wasn't too knowledgable and seemed a bit disorganized. We stopped at the Botanical Gardens, but we were only given about 15 minutes to see it. A second tour guide met a small group of us in Christchurch. She was much better than the first guide. She drove us through Christchurch and showed us the destruction associated with the earthquake a few years ago. It was very interesting. The highlight of the tour was the farm tour. It was a very small operation, but the farmer couldn

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Sheep Farm Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

We stopped in Akaroa for one day while cruising New Zealand. The tour took us from Akaroa to Christchurch. The guide wasn't too knowledgable and seemed a bit disorganized. We stopped at the Botanical Gardens, but we were only given about 15 minutes to see it. A second tour guide met a small group of us in Christchurch. She was much better than the first guide. She drove us through Christchurch and showed us the destruction associated with the earthquake a few years ago. It was very interesting. The highlight of the tour was the farm tour. It was a very small operation, but the farmer couldn

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Sheep Farm Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message