Travel through the rolling hill country of North Canterbury, enjoying the beauty of its rural pastoral scenes, to Kaikoura where the mountains meet the sea. Only three hours from Christchurch, the rugged coastline around Kaikoura offers ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Natalie R I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I don't know if I booked something wrong or misread but I did not expect to be completely by myself for the tour, I thought that I would be part of a tour group. Other than that the places and the sights and activities were great! I would love the same tour but with more people to meet!

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

OMG! We saw two sperm whales surface very close up and saw them dive back down. Watching that tail wave to you as they disappeared was amazing. Dolphins as well so it couldn't have been any more thrilling. The downside is that I was seasick but who cares. I would not have missed it for anything. Fish and chip lunch was really good too.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

Aaron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Everything went well, Hank, our personal driver, was there punctually in the morning, to pick us up. We had a nice ride north to Kaikoura. The whale watching was great, although a lot of people got seasick. We saw lots of birds and two, almost three sperm whales!
The train ride back to Christchurch was comfy, we were very tired though because of the jetlag, so we slept most of the ride home.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Tour from Christchurch including Coastal Pacific Train Journey

mai.shihah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wish that the transit in Taupo Lake was longer...10 minutes was like touch and go...and should not be listed as highlight of the tour...

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

sharvari.go Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Lifetime expr ...watching whale first time

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

pigglywiggly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic, the best tour we took in two weeks, the scenery on our trip was outstanding , don't miss it. It was not a 5, it was a 10

Doing what: Kaikoura Quad Bike Tour from Christchurch

david

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Got to see 2 Sperm Whales, the 2nd really quite close. Slick organisation although the 'trainee' doing the commentary has a little work to do on fact checking.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

Frances R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was just the 3 of us booked onto the tour over the winter season so we were picked up by Des in his car and had our own ersonalised tour experience which was great! He kept us well informed of many sights along the journey from christchurch to kaikoura, unfortunately the dolphin swim was cancelled, however we swapped to go on the albatross tour which was great and viator refunded the difference in cost. Gary the skipper was a great host and even found us some dolphins! As we had time to kill before the tour, Des took us and showed us the seal colony and done other bits in kaikoura. All in all a great experience and would definitely recommend :

Doing what: Kaikoura Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Ivette B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Our tour was switched to something else because the company didn't have enough bookings to go whale watching

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

Jeremy Tsz Yik K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

One of the best experience I've had swimming with dolphins. Highly recommended. I was initially worried about being cold in the water, but the wetsuits were extremely warm.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale and Dolphin Overnight Tour from Christchurch

Jonathan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, well organised, tour guide was very helpful, Encounters Kaikoura were excellent, dolphins were amazing, would highly recommend!

Doing what: Kaikoura Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Mari N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing experience. We were already satisfied with watching one but we got to see two. After that, our driver took our small group to see seals and then to a lovely vinyard for wine tasting. The time we had was used efficiently and fully.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

Alkhattab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was good trip but the wave was too high and I got sea sickness.
I did not enjoy it that much.
If you are planning to go take sea sickness tablet .
We did not manage to see the whale and we get partial refund.
Boat stuff was very good and very helpful.
The boat was nice.
It was great adventur

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Tour from Christchurch including Coastal Pacific Train Journey

jmetzger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had the most amazing day. Karen was our driver and she was great! We stopped on the way there to do some seal watching and stopped at a winery after and did some wine tasting. We did a lot of tasting in a short period of time, lol. We were most fortunate as we heard there had only been one whale sighted during tours in the prior days. Not us - we saw four!! We saw two sperm whales separate from one another and two humpbacks traveling together. As a result, we saw 2 whale tales. The whale tour crew was great as well. We traveled almost 30 nautical miles to find the sperm whales. As part of our tour we got lunch (fish and chips) which was provided by the whale tour kitchen and it was very good. All in all, a perfect day of whale watching!

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

David R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent experience with close to 300 dolphins who were very friendly and playful. The guide and equipment were good. It wasn't nearly as cold as I expected (wet suits kept us warm).

Doing what: Kaikoura Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Anne C

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Insufficient time was allowed in the morning for the coach driver to make his pick-ups. We were the last to be collected and the coach was 30 minutes late due to the Christchurch traffic. Unsure what was happening we tried to call the tour operator for information, but the office was closed. We left a message, but no one returned our call. Due to the late arrival of the coach the journey to Kaikoura was rushed, arriving barely in time for the boat (but all credit to the driver for getting us there just in time). On the return journey the wine tasting at Mud House was very rushed and more time should have been allowed

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

lesleyevans44

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

this was my favourite trip.. it was all well organised and the guide was full of information which enhanced our experience .. nice lunch by the sea.. and got to see a whale .. excellent !!

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

Edward Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We managed to see a few sperm whales and the trip was quite fascinating to see how we track the whales. However, although it was in the fine print that we may not get to go to the winery for a wine tasting, it was still disappointing. Perhaps the driver should have told us at the beginning that we were not going, so that we need not have such expectations.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

Uolevi K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour was ok, but why 5 days' tour is only 4 days tour with one free day? Heidi and Uolevi

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

Jackie v

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Wonderfull. Something to do again. Really nice busdriver.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

SHUN YAU W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Really can see the whale by 2 times. Lucky!!!
Vinyard is good also

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

Birgit H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour, Great tour guide Karen! It was too windy to go out by boat so we were flying! Even though it was rough water we got to see the Sperm whale. Thank you for making it possible!

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

mana

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

we saw a male Sperm whale,it's awesome!!

Doing what: Kaikoura Albatross Encounter Tour from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message