Travel through the rolling hill country of North Canterbury, enjoying the beauty of its rural pastoral scenes, to Kaikoura where the mountains meet the sea. Only three hours from Christchurch, the rugged coastline around Kaikoura offers ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

One of the best experience I've had swimming with dolphins. Highly recommended. I was initially worried about being cold in the water, but the wetsuits were extremely warm.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale and Dolphin Overnight Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, well organised, tour guide was very helpful, Encounters Kaikoura were excellent, dolphins were amazing, would highly recommend!

Doing what: Kaikoura Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing experience. We were already satisfied with watching one but we got to see two. After that, our driver took our small group to see seals and then to a lovely vinyard for wine tasting. The time we had was used efficiently and fully.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was good trip but the wave was too high and I got sea sickness.
I did not enjoy it that much.
If you are planning to go take sea sickness tablet .
We did not manage to see the whale and we get partial refund.
Boat stuff was very good and very helpful.
The boat was nice.
It was great adventur

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Tour from Christchurch including TranzCoastal Rail Journey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had the most amazing day. Karen was our driver and she was great! We stopped on the way there to do some seal watching and stopped at a winery after and did some wine tasting. We did a lot of tasting in a short period of time, lol. We were most fortunate as we heard there had only been one whale sighted during tours in the prior days. Not us - we saw four!! We saw two sperm whales separate from one another and two humpbacks traveling together. As a result, we saw 2 whale tales. The whale tour crew was great as well. We traveled almost 30 nautical miles to find the sperm whales. As part of our tour we got lunch (fish and chips) which was provided by the whale tour kitchen and it was very good. All in all, a perfect day of whale watching!

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent experience with close to 300 dolphins who were very friendly and playful. The guide and equipment were good. It wasn't nearly as cold as I expected (wet suits kept us warm).

Doing what: Kaikoura Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Insufficient time was allowed in the morning for the coach driver to make his pick-ups. We were the last to be collected and the coach was 30 minutes late due to the Christchurch traffic. Unsure what was happening we tried to call the tour operator for information, but the office was closed. We left a message, but no one returned our call. Due to the late arrival of the coach the journey to Kaikoura was rushed, arriving barely in time for the boat (but all credit to the driver for getting us there just in time). On the return journey the wine tasting at Mud House was very rushed and more time should have been allowed

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

this was my favourite trip.. it was all well organised and the guide was full of information which enhanced our experience .. nice lunch by the sea.. and got to see a whale .. excellent !!

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

Edward
Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We managed to see a few sperm whales and the trip was quite fascinating to see how we track the whales. However, although it was in the fine print that we may not get to go to the winery for a wine tasting, it was still disappointing. Perhaps the driver should have told us at the beginning that we were not going, so that we need not have such expectations.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour was ok, but why 5 days' tour is only 4 days tour with one free day? Heidi and Uolevi

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Wonderfull. Something to do again. Really nice busdriver.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Really can see the whale by 2 times. Lucky!!!
Vinyard is good also

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour, Great tour guide Karen! It was too windy to go out by boat so we were flying! Even though it was rough water we got to see the Sperm whale. Thank you for making it possible!

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message