On an evening tour from Christchurch you are treated to a truly memorable cultural performance with a traditional Maori Concert consisting of action songs, poi dances and hakas. Take the opportunity to engage in an evening of local customs and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Loved seeing the kiwi's and the performance was neat ! We had plenty to eat as well

Doing what: Willowbank Dinner and Maori Concert from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour was very informative , we enjoyed the show , the staff were were very friendly and the meal was generous however not to our liking .

Doing what: Willowbank Dinner and Maori Concert from Christchurch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

It would have been better if at least the actors looked like Maori. We attended something similar on the north island a few years ago and it was much more original. Too much effort trying to get audience participation.

Doing what: Christchurch Maori Concert and Kiwi Viewing

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

we had done this several years ago and this time i found it to be quite disappointing especially the food. there was not enough for the table of ten. i would recommend willow bank to anyone but unfortunately not the concert

Doing what: Willowbank Dinner and Maori Concert from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

This was so much fun. The meats served for dinner were delish. The theatrical show that you are pulled into was a lot of fun. I enjoyed the interaction and moving to different areas of the Village. I highly recommend this show to people visiting Christchurch. A nice touch at the end where you can meet and have your photo taken with the Locals all very fun and friendly people. You wont regret this theatrical adventure. Be sure to have your camera ready.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Funny and kind of kitschy. Did not do the dinner and glad we did not. The wildlife was interesting and the girl who did the tour was full of good info about the birds of New Zealand.

Doing what: Christchurch Maori Concert and Kiwi Viewing

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

This was fairly entertaining and instructive. The lighting outside was too low to take decent photos and the kiwis were almost impossible to see in the dark (OK, they are nocturnal but some red lights could help!). The dancing and singing were good, as were the stick-swapping and ball-twirling.

Doing what: Christchurch Maori Concert and Kiwi Viewing

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

To short for the price. Not what we expected. Been to one in north island. beat this one hands down! Get your act together Chch

Doing what: Christchurch Maori Concert and Kiwi Viewing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Excellent interactive village tour! The only negative was that it rained on us the entire time we were outside! The authentic buffet dinner at the end was a nice touch.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

The Maori performance was the best part. The dinner was average. I thought it was going to be a large group of people. The guide for the wildlife tour did not seem like he wanted to be there. And although you barely get to see Kiwi, you don't get any good pictures of them because you can't use a flash. The driver for the tours was excellent though.

Doing what: Willowbank Dinner and Maori Concert from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great evening made extra special by my husband being made chief. Lovely seeing the Kiwi.

Doing what: Christchurch Maori Concert and Kiwi Viewing

Tony C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

I can't rate how good it was as I never actually went despite my booking, payment and confirmation. I turned up with my wife to the main office in Christchurch on 10 May to reconfirm my booking and to organise the free bus pickup from my CBD hotel to discover that daily shows had been cut to one day a week and this had been the case since the end of March. I was extremely disappointed as I had been looking forward to it for some time and had saved it for the end of our NZ holiday. I appreciate that this system is automated, however, the program error requires immediate attention. We spoke for a long duration to Mike Tamaki, the creator of the villages located throughout NZ. These venues tell a separate chapter of Maori history relative to The Chronicles of Uitara. He was very apologetic about the error and gave me a full refund, one of his books that he wrote on the Chronicles of Uitara-Lost in our Own Land and a Jade pendant each. Mike explained the concept of the venues, the details of the Christchurch venue and when I return to NZ I definately intend to attend these villages for the theatrical shows. I did drive to the village out of curiosity to see it from the outside and it looked interesting and is spread over approx 26 acres, where each set of historic buildings provides a separate scene as part of the historic journey. I wish Mike and his team all the best with his new Chronicles of Uitara projects at the other locations throughout NZ. I expect that each is a must see for young and old providing an educational and satisfying experience. See you there in the future.

Neil S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

The Maori concert was a lot of fun. The meal was OK, but have had better. The Kiwi and Kea experience was excellent!

Doing what: Willowbank Dinner and Maori Concert from Christchurch

Charles B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

For an insight into some of New Zealand's history, this is a very good tour! The "acting" is quite realistic and the movement from one era to another as you progress through the years is very interesting. Dinner is excellent with a range of dishes on offer.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message