On New Zealand’s South Island, Aoraki (Mt. Cook) soars up to 3,750 meters (12,315 feet) over the country’s Southern Alps. Australasia’s highest mountain, it’s one of the most popular day trip excursions from Christchurch, 330km (205 miles) away to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The driver was really knowledgeable and despite the bad weather, the trip was well worth it.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very good experience, fantastic and experienced driver!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great drive and service. what a beautiful country!!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The sights were great but the driver was surely. In fact even tough he was suppose to take me to my hotel he dropped me several blocks away with no explanation on how to get there. Thanks to some other tourists I managed to find the place.,,no thanks to the driver.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Well worth seeing although it is a long drive from Christ Church. Tour guide did a very nice job, I appreciate the small number of participants as opposed to a huge bus with 50 people!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this very scenic 4 day tour! Hotel accomodations were very comfortable and clean, taxi/coach were on time like clock work. Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a good trip , we saw some fantastic sights. This was a small group tour, with our selves and two other couples. Stopping at Lake Tekapo was beautiful, we did see half of Mount Cook from a distance, unfortunately the clouds came in when we were at Mount Cook and did not get to see the mountain, but that is Mother Nature for you. This was a good day but a long day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This trip had everything we expected. The transport was great and everything ran like clockwork. Definitely recommend the flight back from Milford Sound - scenery is stunning!

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic tour - driver gave lots of info all the way, stunning scenery - absolutely worth doing this instead of the bus straight there!!!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Great stuff. Such a beautiful country.

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

A wonderful way to travel between towns. The stops at the lakes was the highlight for me. I wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

All the same like in my two other tours provided by Viator (Milford Sound Overnight Cruise and Gondola Skyline Restaurant in Queenstown) - everything was very good and value for money, but weather destroys some expected high points. For example we had no seen Mount Cook due to rain and fog...

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The logistics for this tour...buses, hotels, etc. were complicated, but everything ran smoothly. The itinerary was great, would have been 5 stars if there were more photo stops.

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

First day bus had a very annoying electrical fault with the intercom.Second day second bus a/c was broken.If all day on a bus is ok then you might like this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day South Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

For a bus tour, this is the most convenient way to visit Queenstown via Mount Cook. The bus stopped at a few nice spots for us to take photos on the way to Mount Cook and Queenstown. The best part of the tour was definitely the helicopter flight at Mount Cook. The flight is fairly expensive but it is definitely worth the money. We got the chance to get off the flight and play at the top of the snow mountain. If you want to save money, it is better to get the discount voucher at the airport.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Very very early starts to get to the destinations listed on the tour, understandable given the large distances travelled. Of particular note would be the time spent reaching Franz Josef Glacier, arrival at 5p.m. still feel disappointed that it was not possible to reach the glacier due to the time constraints, perhaps a 5 day tour could be organised to give an extra day at Queenstown. The voucher for shuttle to connect to bus at Heartlands Hotel was incorrect and we were confronted by a very irate driver in fact he was just about to drive off and leave us - another criticism was shuttle bus from hotel at Franz Josef picked us up as per instructions to drive us to the bus stop where we waited for the bus to collect the people from the hotel that we had just left . Our accommodation was comfortable the voucher system with the exception of the above worked well and our collection from the Tranzalpine train station was efficiently done with a very information driver (Aaron) who gave us information on things to do at Christchurch, which we followed and had a pleasant day. All in all it was a lovely few days in a beautiful country. Even though it was a 4am departure from New Zealand it did not dampen our enthusiasm, and pleasure at what we had seen.

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Too many commercial stops, it was more a means of transport than a tour.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

George Z
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great time of year to see some of the most beautiful scenery in the country. Long day, but so worth it. Lunch was fabulous.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

LYNN G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great way to see a bit of countryside. Long day but really interesting. Geoff, our driver, had great knowledge of the areas we travelled through. Even though low cloud stopped us from directing viewing Mt Cook I still felt that we had value for money.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The journey is excellent.

Doing what: Christchurch to Wanaka via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Susan S
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

This tour was great and we did get to see a lot of great countryside - however I feel this tour wasn't timed very well. We got into Queenstown after dark, then left at 7:15am so had no time at all to explore the city properly which was extremely disappointing. Would have rather fewer pit stops or missing some other things on the way to get a few hours of light in Queenstown. The lunch stop on this day was at Mt Cook for 1hr 40mins. Too long. Can't do anything in the museum for lack of time, so would be better to have lunch and get back on the road for gain of sunlight hours in Queenstown. Again, there was the same problem in Franz Josef Glacier although we did have an hour of sunlight - would have been nice to have a bit more exploring time. On the third day - the timings were too rushed. We stopped for lunch at 2pm at a Salmon farm, though only had a 30 minute stop! They couldn't make us anything in that time frame so we had to have a pre- made sandwhich. All in all it was a very lovely and enjoyable tour. The tour guides were great and extremely informative. The only issue was had we known we would have had so little time in the Queenstown, we would have stayed an extra night as there are no timings etc. given when you book, you have no idea when you get where.

Doing what: 3-Day South Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

John K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Had a great although long day out. Unfortunately windy weather precluded any flying, but the weather was otherwise good and the views were great. Driver was very informative and chatty. As visitors to New Zealand, we learned a great deal about life there.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

The weather did not cooperate -- we could see only a small portion of the mountain before the clouds covered it. Also worth noting that you do not get near a glacier. Had wonderful discussions with the tour guide, though, mostly on native Maori themes -- learned a lot!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message