Insider's Guide to Christchurch

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

On New Zealand’s South Island, Aoraki (Mt. Cook) soars up to 3,750 meters (12,315 feet) over the country’s Southern Alps. Australasia’s highest mountain, it’s one of the most popular day trip excursions from Christchurch, 330km (205 miles) away to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rachel P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It is a long drive, bring an iPod or something for the journey but a nice day. The weather wasn't in our favor and we weren't able to see Mt. Cook. Morning Tea was great but lunch for me was lacking. I wished for more from the buffet. Even without great weather it was still a nice day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

kathysapp

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our tour bus was initially a little late departing, so our time at Mount Cook was limited, but the meal was rushed but good. Overall, this was a good way to travel from Christchurch to Queenstown and see some great scenery along the way!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Nathan T

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Rush Rush Rush!! The description said you would stop and a winery or a wool place, neither of these happened on our trip! The lunch at the Hermatige was fairly average and if you don't like Asian cuisine then you would go hungry! Driver was not very helpful with us taking our flight and rushed us!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The driver was really knowledgeable and despite the bad weather, the trip was well worth it.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Ranjiv R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very good experience, fantastic and experienced driver!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

girija v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great drive and service. what a beautiful country!!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

William W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The sights were great but the driver was surely. In fact even tough he was suppose to take me to my hotel he dropped me several blocks away with no explanation on how to get there. Thanks to some other tourists I managed to find the place.,,no thanks to the driver.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

June A. G

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Well worth seeing although it is a long drive from Christ Church. Tour guide did a very nice job, I appreciate the small number of participants as opposed to a huge bus with 50 people!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Kathy Y. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this very scenic 4 day tour! Hotel accomodations were very comfortable and clean, taxi/coach were on time like clock work. Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

Peter J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a good trip , we saw some fantastic sights. This was a small group tour, with our selves and two other couples. Stopping at Lake Tekapo was beautiful, we did see half of Mount Cook from a distance, unfortunately the clouds came in when we were at Mount Cook and did not get to see the mountain, but that is Mother Nature for you. This was a good day but a long day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This trip had everything we expected. The transport was great and everything ran like clockwork. Definitely recommend the flight back from Milford Sound - scenery is stunning!

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

Kath1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic tour - driver gave lots of info all the way, stunning scenery - absolutely worth doing this instead of the bus straight there!!!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Amit S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Great stuff. Such a beautiful country.

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

Jackie R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

A wonderful way to travel between towns. The stops at the lakes was the highlight for me. I wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Mikhail K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

All the same like in my two other tours provided by Viator (Milford Sound Overnight Cruise and Gondola Skyline Restaurant in Queenstown) - everything was very good and value for money, but weather destroys some expected high points. For example we had no seen Mount Cook due to rain and fog...

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Liberino M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The logistics for this tour...buses, hotels, etc. were complicated, but everything ran smoothly. The itinerary was great, would have been 5 stars if there were more photo stops.

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

kevin s

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

First day bus had a very annoying electrical fault with the intercom.Second day second bus a/c was broken.If all day on a bus is ok then you might like this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day South Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

Chris Hord Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

For a bus tour, this is the most convenient way to visit Queenstown via Mount Cook. The bus stopped at a few nice spots for us to take photos on the way to Mount Cook and Queenstown. The best part of the tour was definitely the helicopter flight at Mount Cook. The flight is fairly expensive but it is definitely worth the money. We got the chance to get off the flight and play at the top of the snow mountain. If you want to save money, it is better to get the discount voucher at the airport.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Norman M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Very very early starts to get to the destinations listed on the tour, understandable given the large distances travelled. Of particular note would be the time spent reaching Franz Josef Glacier, arrival at 5p.m. still feel disappointed that it was not possible to reach the glacier due to the time constraints, perhaps a 5 day tour could be organised to give an extra day at Queenstown. The voucher for shuttle to connect to bus at Heartlands Hotel was incorrect and we were confronted by a very irate driver in fact he was just about to drive off and leave us - another criticism was shuttle bus from hotel at Franz Josef picked us up as per instructions to drive us to the bus stop where we waited for the bus to collect the people from the hotel that we had just left . Our accommodation was comfortable the voucher system with the exception of the above worked well and our collection from the Tranzalpine train station was efficiently done with a very information driver (Aaron) who gave us information on things to do at Christchurch, which we followed and had a pleasant day. All in all it was a lovely few days in a beautiful country. Even though it was a 4am departure from New Zealand it did not dampen our enthusiasm, and pleasure at what we had seen.

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

Anjali C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Too many commercial stops, it was more a means of transport than a tour.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

George Z Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great time of year to see some of the most beautiful scenery in the country. Long day, but so worth it. Lunch was fabulous.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

LYNN G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great way to see a bit of countryside. Long day but really interesting. Geoff, our driver, had great knowledge of the areas we travelled through. Even though low cloud stopped us from directing viewing Mt Cook I still felt that we had value for money.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message