On New Zealand’s South Island, Aoraki (Mt. Cook) soars up to 3,750 meters (12,315 feet) over the country’s Southern Alps. Australasia’s highest mountain, it’s one of the most popular day trip excursions from Christchurch, 330km (205 miles) away to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

great driver! the tour was very good too. loved the scenery along the way.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Michael C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

we missed our bus and the company rebooked us for the next day. since this was our means of transport to Queenstown, this saved our trip

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Jing C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a Fantastic trip we had! Thank You very much The Road Trip for organising this Amazing and Exciting tour for our family. My wife and I are very grateful for having a great tour guide, and he has become a friend of ours. Our tour guide was eager to show us all the beautiful scenery and activities that are available at the south Island. We can feel that he loves New Zealand and is passionate of New Zealand's natural wonders and cultures, and we feels that there is no better tour guide to have than someone who really knows and loves New Zealand.
Thank You The Road Trip and Simon and we will be back.

Doing what: Private Tour: 8-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch Including Franz Josef, Wanaka and Queenstown

garywyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great scenery including Mount Cook.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Andrew M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Comfortable bus, and regular stops along the way for photos and refreshments. Our driver's Mark commentary very informative and interesting. The views at Lake Pukaki and Mt Cook were fantastic. We were fortunate to have clear sky around the mountain.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Kathleen M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour overall was superb. It's a long day but a lot is packed in. The day started off rainy so I wasn't sure how much we would see but as the day went on, the sun came out and once we got to Mount Cook National Park it was beautiful. I really enjoyed that part of the day and the climb up to see the Tasman Glacier was amazing. Our guide was also helpful along the way.

I was expecting a little more direction throughout the day and timings weren't particularly clear. The microphone system also didn't work very well meaning we missed some of what he was telling us - I like to know as much as I can about the places I'm visiting so that was a bit frustrating.

Overall though, a superb day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Rachel P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It is a long drive, bring an iPod or something for the journey but a nice day. The weather wasn't in our favor and we weren't able to see Mt. Cook. Morning Tea was great but lunch for me was lacking. I wished for more from the buffet. Even without great weather it was still a nice day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

kathysapp

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our tour bus was initially a little late departing, so our time at Mount Cook was limited, but the meal was rushed but good. Overall, this was a good way to travel from Christchurch to Queenstown and see some great scenery along the way!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Nathan T

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Rush Rush Rush!! The description said you would stop and a winery or a wool place, neither of these happened on our trip! The lunch at the Hermatige was fairly average and if you don't like Asian cuisine then you would go hungry! Driver was not very helpful with us taking our flight and rushed us!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The driver was really knowledgeable and despite the bad weather, the trip was well worth it.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Ranjiv R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very good experience, fantastic and experienced driver!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

girija v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great drive and service. what a beautiful country!!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

William W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The sights were great but the driver was surely. In fact even tough he was suppose to take me to my hotel he dropped me several blocks away with no explanation on how to get there. Thanks to some other tourists I managed to find the place.,,no thanks to the driver.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

June A. G

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Well worth seeing although it is a long drive from Christ Church. Tour guide did a very nice job, I appreciate the small number of participants as opposed to a huge bus with 50 people!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Kathy Y. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this very scenic 4 day tour! Hotel accomodations were very comfortable and clean, taxi/coach were on time like clock work. Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

Peter J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a good trip , we saw some fantastic sights. This was a small group tour, with our selves and two other couples. Stopping at Lake Tekapo was beautiful, we did see half of Mount Cook from a distance, unfortunately the clouds came in when we were at Mount Cook and did not get to see the mountain, but that is Mother Nature for you. This was a good day but a long day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This trip had everything we expected. The transport was great and everything ran like clockwork. Definitely recommend the flight back from Milford Sound - scenery is stunning!

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

Kath1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic tour - driver gave lots of info all the way, stunning scenery - absolutely worth doing this instead of the bus straight there!!!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Amit S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Great stuff. Such a beautiful country.

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

Jackie R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

A wonderful way to travel between towns. The stops at the lakes was the highlight for me. I wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Mikhail K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

All the same like in my two other tours provided by Viator (Milford Sound Overnight Cruise and Gondola Skyline Restaurant in Queenstown) - everything was very good and value for money, but weather destroys some expected high points. For example we had no seen Mount Cook due to rain and fog...

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Liberino M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The logistics for this tour...buses, hotels, etc. were complicated, but everything ran smoothly. The itinerary was great, would have been 5 stars if there were more photo stops.

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

kevin s

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

First day bus had a very annoying electrical fault with the intercom.Second day second bus a/c was broken.If all day on a bus is ok then you might like this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day South Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message