• USD ($)
  • English
Prior to the devastating earthquakes of 2010 and 2011, central Christchurch was a teeming district with historic buildings, lively bars, and games of chess in the open squares. All of that changed, however, when central Christchurch came crashing to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was great and the instructor was awesome :)

Doing what: Christchurch Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The weather was average but in the end the mist and cloud gave the trip more character. In fact, if the weather was any poorer, they said they'd cancel the trip and refund the costs.
The pilot was friendly and gave us some interesting commentary throughout the trip.
The chopper itself was modern and had heaps of glass so we got a great view of the city.
It really gives you a good perspective of the devastation of the city after the most recent earthquake.

Doing what: Christchurch Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wonderful views. Nice facilities at the top

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

Cat
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Good fun for the family for a few hours. Great views in from the gondola and from the lookout at the top.

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Nothing in Christchurch is open on Christmas Day!! We arrived on a cruise ship, who also offered this as an excursion for 3x this cost. Since we were off and running we got the best times to ride all three. It is a good trip to see the city at all angles.

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

John V
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

What a magnificent views

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

Kay M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I was on a cruise and in Christchurch for one day only. The gondolatrampunt ticket was a brilliant way to see the best of Christchurch. Plan your day around the time of your booking for the punt which you must do that day. The tram drivers give a great commentary. I did the gondola ride last on my way back to the port of Lyttelton which is a gorgeous little village and also well worth a visit.

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

Craig N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A must do!

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

Doreen V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Absolutely stunning views! This is the only way to take in the spectacular scenery! Slow, steady ascent and descent. I would have preferred a little more history from the Time Tunnel!

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

Jan B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

My wife and I had the tram and gondola package and it was awesome. There is a lot to see in Christchurch. I strongly recommend the gondola ride up the hill, the views are 360 degrees - awesome. The tram is a unique way of seeing the city and the commentary is informative, the driver tells you all about the history of Christchurch as you go around the streets. This is a MUST DO thing when you are visiting Christchurch.

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

Neville C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Although a little scary, the Gondola ride was spectacular. Dinner in the restaurant was very good and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Sadly it rained for the whole time we were in Christchurch. We did go on the gondola and enjoyed the ride thru the rain to the top. We had lunch in the cafe and watched in amazement as clouds continuously rolled over the top of the mountain and blocked out the view. Because of the consistent rain the Avon river was in flood and we could not do the punt ride. We have requested a refund of this part of the tour and are waiting for Viator to process this.

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

GAIL N
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Bought trio ticket tram ride and punting down avon great value but down side we were docked on cruise ship in lyletton travel on shuttle to center of christchurch then bus to tram then return to christchurch to catch shuttle back to where we had just been Future effort to let cruise passengers off at terminal about six min out of the way would be welcome all in all pleasant short day difficult to find much earthquake damage second quick visit but still retains all of it charm

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The views from the top are beautiful!

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

Paul C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Very nice tour through the city and up to the lookout and the harbour. Wouldn't recommend the Antarctic Centre unless you have children with you.

Doing what: Discover Christchurch Sightseeing Tour with optional International Antarctic Center Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message