Cologne ATTRACTIONS See all

Cologne Old Town (Altstadt)

Old Town is in many ways, the heart and soul of the city. It's near the Köln Dom, surrounded by "the Ring," a ring of streets, botanical space, and promenades following the path of the old city's walls. Inside the ring and along the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was absolutely marvellous. We were delighted with the quality and style of the whole morning. The food was lovely, the service great and the boat was stunning. We had a great view and could even see the live entertainment. I would highly recommend this trip and Viator to anyone considering booking something of this nature. THANK YOU everyone from 6 very happy people in Cologne

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Carl W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic welcome as soon as we boarded the ship. Very friendly staff, good food and reasonable drinks prices. Shame about the weather but it was in December :-

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Peter C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Good fun, good food, lovely weather for December.

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excelent I would recoment it to everybody who wants to travel to Cologne.
The Rhine river crousse , beautyful.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Paul S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A nice way to familiarize oneself with the various parts and attractions of Koeln.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Steve K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The headsets were not working and was frustrating to get information as trying to get the headsets to work on the hop on hop off bus.
The Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise was very nice and relaxing.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Charlie S B

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Great way to get an overall view of the riverfront and learn a little about evolution of Cologne. Did not do the bus tour as the city was so walkable and I could take my time without having to keep up with the bus. Plus, traffic was heavy in some parts/time so walking was faster!

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Ramona D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Good way to get an overview of Cologne.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Randy P United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The length of this tour 48 hours gives you plenty of time to see the sites of Cologne. The Cathedral is he highlight along with the Roman-Germanic Museum which is next door. The Canal cruise is nice but it could be a little longer. Take a full trip around first as is good with most Hop On Hop Off Tours and get an idea where you want to spend time. Recommend this Tour..

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Casey B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

River tour was short and no audio explaining the sights, but was neat to see the city from the water. The bus tour was very informative and a good way to see the city in a short amount of time.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Terry C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Difficult to find the office, then a long wait, not much of interest to see except the Dom

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Dale G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

This is a quite small tour consisting of only 16 stops. The tour itself was interesting and seemed to cover the city well. My biggest complaint was that nowhere in the tour voucher did I find information that said one had to get the voucher exchanged for tickets in order to get on the bus. When I went to locate the departure site for a different event, I then found out the voucher was exchanged there for tickets for the hop on hop off bus tour. In the meanwhile I paid for a second set of bus tickets because the driver looked at our voucher and said that we were not at the right hop on hop off tour. As I found out after exchanging my voucher for tickets, this was exactly the same company as the one that did not accept or recognize our voucher. Other cities with this type of tour have accepted our vouchers as the tickets. I ended up paying twice for this tour.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Kim H

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

We found that the signs for this bus were not very visible at all and had to ask at the information office where the stops were located to be able to start this tour and then to find out that you had to validate your Viator ticket with the Rhine River Cruise first before you could do the Hop On Hop Off Bus - there was nothing on our tickets to let us know this, which lead us to walking around for a long time to find this information out.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

David B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The river cruise was an excellent way to ge a feel for the Rhine and for Cologne. The commentary was very informative and easy to follow along. The two day open top bus pass was great as well. We used the first trip on the bus to get our bearings and find out where the main attractions and activities were. We then went back to the things we really wanted to see. The Cathedral is a Must and you need to allow at least 2 hours to do it properly. Bus guides were friendly and informative. On some bsues there was recorded commentary listened through headphones.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

axel s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

FANTASTIC LUNCH WITH GREAT COMPANY, ENTERTAINMENT FIRST CLASS LOVED IT

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Rachel S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The cruise was nice but the description implied that drinks and waffles were included which they were not. Everything had to be paid for as extra which was unexpected expense.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

Linda H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The actual boat trip and the Christmas entertainment were great however.....the package included a hot drink and waffles. We were told once on board we were not entitled to it and had to buy drinks, even though we questioned it, they were adamant our tickets didn't include the beverages. It spoilt the occasion and was a bit embarrassing but Viator are looking into it for me so fingers crossed it can be resolved!!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

Jeffrey G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The staff on the boat were efficient and handled serving expeditely. The river cruise scenery was concentrated near the end of the cruise and highlighted some of Cologne's city buildings at night. The first part of the cruise was less memorable for scenery but was counterbalanced by the on board entertainment and snack serving. I would say it is worth doing for the price paid.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

B A PROCTOR P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Rhine Xmas Cruise. Santa was brilliant. He spent 10 minutes talking to my wife and I (in English), and we didn't even have any children with us. Thoroughly recommend this trip, and it is cheaper booking through Viatpr than booking at the Cruise terminal in Cologne.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

COLIN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

brilliant...............asked for great seats.............got 4 seats @ front of boat

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

philip k

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Nice way to spend a couple of hours seeing the City from a different view. The boat is fantastic and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food and drink is not expensive and a good variety available. Overall a great afternoon and would recommend it.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good indeed, well organised, they were aware we were coming and had prepared for a member of our part who was in a wheel chair

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

Valerie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Lovely trip on a great boat for a Christmas river cruise. Great service, lovely coffee and waffles and Christmas entertainment. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

jim d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a great time, staff fab, boat lovely,everything brill. I would recommend this trip

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message