Cologne looks lovely from the water, and the best way to appreciate the views is on an afternoon or evening dinner cruise. An evening cruise is particularly pretty at Christmastime, with a traditional festive feast and fairytale views of castles and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a wonderful time! Seeing the Cathedral, bridges, and other magnificent sights in Cologne sparkle with lights during the KD River Dinner Cruise is an image we will always remember! In addition, the friendly people and the party atmosphere onboard made it a fun night. My husband and I would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The cruise was very relaxing, romantic, and an enjoyable way to spend the day. The Sea Life visit was a small aquarium, with a moderate variety of see animals. I gave 4 stars because the return boat was over an hour late on arriving, however I was told that this was partly related to the low water levels on the Rhine. Overall, great experience, and would do it again!

Doing what: Rhine River Cruise to Königswinter with Sea Life Visit or Drachenfels Cliff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice cruise. Diner was good and drinks also

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bleesed with a fine weather, my 10:30 cruise has turned very enjoyable and rewarding.
I had more than enoug time to climb the tower of Cologn Cathedral before the cruise started.
And I leisurely walked along the Rhein to have a wonderful lunch at noon.

Doing what: Cologne Combo: Sightseeing Cruise and Meal at Hard Rock Cafe Cologne

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The River cruise was very enjoyable and money well spent. The meal at the Hard Rock Café? Not so much. One of the draws, for me, of this was the skip the line aspect. Well, when we got to the restaurant after the river cruise there were a grant total of three other people in the restaurant, a woman with an infant and a man by himself. So, there was no line to skip. -

Doing what: Cologne Combo: Sightseeing Cruise and Meal at Hard Rock Cafe Cologne

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The 3 hours cruise was too long

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The cruise was nice but the description implied that drinks and waffles were included which they were not. Everything had to be paid for as extra which was unexpected expense.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The staff on the boat were efficient and handled serving expeditely. The river cruise scenery was concentrated near the end of the cruise and highlighted some of Cologne's city buildings at night. The first part of the cruise was less memorable for scenery but was counterbalanced by the on board entertainment and snack serving. I would say it is worth doing for the price paid.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The dinner cruise was amazing and e had fun. We were realy pleased whit everything. The only draw back was that thw names of the food was written only in German it would have helped if they were written also in English.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Rhine Xmas Cruise. Santa was brilliant. He spent 10 minutes talking to my wife and I (in English), and we didn't even have any children with us. Thoroughly recommend this trip, and it is cheaper booking through Viatpr than booking at the Cruise terminal in Cologne.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

It was a good trip but a bit of a snooze cruise. Glad to get off and visit LInz, a beautiful town. Wished we had known to book a train back and then would have enjoyed the trip more

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Cologne

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Cruise was informative and got to see the famous Rhine. The ticket office was very confusing regarding the departure times for this tour in comparison to our voucher. The meal at Hard Rock was disappointing. We felt like second class citizens as they dumped us in a corner and once we had our food came nowhere near us again. Went elsewhere for later drinks.

Doing what: Cologne Combo: Sightseeing Cruise and Meal at Hard Rock Cafe Cologne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The KD Rhine Cruise was awesome we really enjoyed it and would highly recommend
it and the food was also very good.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Cologne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Lovely trip on a great boat for a Christmas river cruise. Great service, lovely coffee and waffles and Christmas entertainment. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

This was a well organised river cruise with waffles and tea. Santa came around and spoke to all on board in a very friendly and engaging way. We were seated with another family from Australia too who were very pleasant company. The thing to note, however, is that for the short duration of the cruise, the scenery from the boat is not anything special - I'm sure you have to do a day cruise to get the most out of the views.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent afternoon cruise down the Rhine, great Xmas atmosphere on board , with live singers on stage singing Xmas carols and songs, met some great people on board, would do this cruise again

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A great cruise along the river. Excellent value. The only problem we had was finding the actual pier/boat. We almost missed the boat because we kept driving around trying to find it. All in all, a very nice experience.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Dinner Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Not very well organized. Nobody knows about the Combo. The Cruise people did not know about the Hard Rock Cafe meal. They kept the invoice, I had to ask for a copy to use for lunch. The Hard Rock Cafe acted as if they never heard about this pre paid meal. They give you a 5 items Manu to choose from.

Doing what: Cologne Combo: Sightseeing Cruise and Meal at Hard Rock Cafe Cologne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A nice two hour cruise along Rhine river with lots of Advent time delights. Maybe it is not the best time to enjoy surrounding views (as it comes dark early in December), however it still worth visiting to feel that wonderful inimitable atmosphere of the coming holiday!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A very enjoyable cruise, we were greeted by the crew and shown to excellent window seats with a table reserved just for us. Drinks (ie coffee, hot chocolate or tea) arrived together with delicious hot cherry waffles and cream, St.Nickalaus came on-board and the children sang German Xmas songs to music.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Wish the website would have provided more detailed information about the cruise. I didn't know how long the trip actually was until I boarded the ship. The cruise starts at 9:30am and comes back at 8pm. It's a long trip! Also, I wish they would have given an address that I could put into my GPS so I could locate the area better especially since I am not familiar with every part of Cologne. I also suggest getting off of the cruise at the last stop, that way you can see everything along the way. Overall, it was a pleasant trip, I just wish I would have had more detailed information before I booked it.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Cologne

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

KD provided me an unforgettable experience on Rhine Cruise with the most cost-effective service. If I were given a second chance, I will also be eager to choose KD.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Cologne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

We were a group of 14 who went to Cologne primarily for the xmas markets but the highlight of the long weekend proved to be the evening dinner cruise. Real value for money, the food, service and entertainment were all outstanding.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

My family and I did a 1 day rhine river cruise from Cologne and just had a wonderful time. It is well worth the expenditure.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Cologne

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

I left the cruise at Bonn. Obviously I missed the most beautiful spots.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Cologne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message