Copenhagen ATTRACTIONS See all

Kronborg Castle (Kronborg Slot)

Immortalized in print as the setting for Shakespeare’s Hamlet, the imposing fortress perched on the northeastern shores of Zealand, is often better known as its literary alter-ego, Elsinore, and is one of Denmark’s most visited attractions. With ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Started off with really heavy rain as we boarded the bus so we we quite worried. However it stopped almost at once. The tour guide and driver were friendly, chatty and knowledegable giving us comprehensive info on the sights as we went. The first stop was Kronborg Castle, made famous in Hamlet. here we had ample time to have a guided tour of the castle rooms and some of the amazing views across to Sweden. We also had an opportunity to pre-order lunch from out guide, a choice of awesome sandwiches which would be picked up and passed out later. Then on to Fredensborg Palace, where the Royal Family are still in residence. Not allowed inside but ample time for photographs outside and a break for an icecream or coffee at one of the little shops / cafe's nearby. Finally ending up at Frederiksborg Castle, with picture postcard views and photo opportunities outside and extensive guided tours inside at the beautiful rooms. AT all of the castles and sights along the way, so much to see and a wonderful introduction to so much of the history that Denmark has to offer. I'd certainly recommend this as a must for anyone visiting Copenhagen, a truly marvellous day.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

najibaji

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I took this tour in late June 2015. Our tour guide, Tor, was very knowledgeable and friendly. If he didn't know the answer to a question, he would investigate and get back to us with the answer. His information on the times and people involved with the places we visited allowed us to fully appreciate what we were seeing.

The bus pickup location was easily found. It is outside Town Hall Square, just down from the Scandic Palace Hotel on the side opposite Tivoli. The double decker bus was comfortable, the view was good, and the headsets from which you could select a language were functioning and easy to use.

I ordered the lunch that is offered for delivery on the bus. I had the vegetarian sandwich thinly sliced vegetables and cheese on a roll and water. It was tasty, reasonably priced, and I enjoyed the convenience of having it delivered to my seat.

The tour not only provides access to the castles, but allows you to also see the beautiful country side of Denmark outside of Copenhagen.

Be advised if your tour visits the casements system of tunnels and rooms under the castle at Kronborg Castle, it will be DARK. The floors are uneven and rock strewn and the ceilings are low. Take a flashlight or install a flashlight app on your phone which is what I used for use in this area. I had many grateful people closely following my light to avoid stumbling or bumping their heads.

I thought the tour was well worth the time and the cost. I recommend it highly.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Rich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is in a comfortable air-conditioned bus. We had ample time in Kronborg and Frederiksborg. The drive to Kronborg through the countryside is beautiful. We highly recommend this trip. Several reviewers had a difficult time finding the bus. The following may help: the bus probably will not be a Viator bus, and nor will the Guide be a viator guide. Our bus was the tour operator's bus. The bus meets next to City Hall, but not on the Hans Christian Andersen streetside. There is a bench across the street to wait for the bus, right next to a gold and white sign concerning the bicycle park. It is just down the street from the Palace Hotel.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Wayne V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Maria was a wonderful guide and the bus driver sure knew how to handle traffic and narrow spaces and sharp turns. We LOVE LOVE LOVED the Frederiskborg Castle. Magnificent. Extravagant! Loved the history. Loved the tour inside!
We are also glad for having made lots of photos at Kronborg Castle, though we chose not to go inside. Good thing though - so we had time for outside photos. Viewing the summer palace of the Queen was great too, seeing the guards in uniform... We highly recommend Viator for booking excursions/tours and are already looking to book through them when we visit San Francisco later this year.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Agnes B M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A very enjoyable tour! The bus was modern, clean and very comfortable. The driver and tour guide were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. It was a wonderful experience to visit the three castles. Kronborg castle was interesting to me ... as well as Shakespeare's Hamlet ... I learned that James V1 of Scotland / 1 of England was married in the chapel. On my return, I did some research and found out that his bride was Anne of Denmark - not Margaret, and that the marriage was by proxy in Kronborg, with another marriage ceremony later in Norway. (Wikipedia). Anyway, it sparked my interest as I was born in Scotland.
I would definitely recommend this tour and Viator!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

GUL T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Must see casttles. Kronborg castle and the gardens are really very beautiful places to see. I'm happy to take thiz tour. I highly recommend the North Zealand and Hamlet Castle tour.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our tours of Frederiksborg Castle and Kronborg Castle were outstanding. The bus driver and tour guide were very informative and pleasant. Our only difficulty was that the bus driver (for whatever reason), dropped us quite far from our starting point and it was quite a walk to our original destination. We made it just fine, however anyone with any difficulty walking would have had a hard time. Our weather was fantastic adding to our most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

debandrews83

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great! An excellent way to take in all you need to know about the Danish Royals and visit outside of Copenhagen on a tight schedule! Our guide Rasmus was great! Excellent knowledge of Roskilde and Kronborg! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen

Sudipro R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Kronborg Castle was the best among the 3 from the outside, while the interior of Frederiksborg Castle was mindblowing. The Fredensborg palace was nice, but you don't get to go inside. The tour was well-organized and the guide was nice. However, we felt it was a very expensive tour, especially considering it was not a long tour, and the entry fee for each castle is only about 12 euro per person as we found out later. No wonder there were only a few people on this tour with us. At this price, they could have at least included the sandwiches and drinks they sell on board for lunch remember: there is no lunch stop.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Elizabeth R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tours of the Kronborg and Frederiksborg castles themselves were interesting and very good.
However, the problems our tour group had was getting back to the bus. At Kronborg, the walk to the bus was a long one and several of us made a wrong turn along the path and had to race across a huge field in a panic to get back to the bus. One of my friends almost got left behind because of this. At Frederiksborg, the bus left us off near the entrance but parked somewhere else. Luckily, as we were walking out, one of my friends saw the tour guide and we followed her. My other friend followed some other people from our tour group and walked in circles before finding the bus.
My suggestion would be to have the tour group meet the tour guide in the castle courtyards and then everyone walks back with her/him. It would save confusion on how to get back to the bus.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Deborah W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

After a little difficulty finding the meeting point, the rest of the trip went smoothly. The drive down the coast road was great. And both Kronborg and Fredricksborg Castles were great. Very different but equally impressive. The driver/guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. I think everyone had a great time.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Keli B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Tour departure was prompt. Bus was clean; driver was extremely professional and incredibly skilled. (Amazed to see him squeeze that big bus through some really tight spots.) Drive along coast was beautiful. Although commentary on bus was nice, I wish the tour guide had actually given us a guided tour of the castles, Kronborg in particular. Because the tour length doesn't permit a lunch stop, sandwiches were available for purchase. Good sandwich and good value. Overall the tour was a good value for the money; enabled me to visit three major attractions outside of the city of Copenhagen quickly and easily. Recommend.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Marina G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We really liked this tour. The castles are very beautiful. We were inside Kronborg Castle and inside Frederiksborg Castle, and we saw the Fredensborg Palace from outside. The tour guide was knowledgeable and nice. We recommend this tour.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

ENG NUNO C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Frederiksborg slot is very nice. So was the photo stop at Fredensborg slot, where we were fortunate that the stop coincided with the changing of the guard. I did'nt like Kronborg slot. The castle is very much in need of some work and the rooms have very few furniture. Also there is a lack of explanations for the tourist at each room. Per, the bus driver, was a very helpful fellow, though we think that he talked too much, giving "information" and not guiding, as he several times insisted on saying. On the way back, people are normally tired and profit the trip to rest. But Per insisted on giving "information" through the loudspeakers of the bus, holding the microphone in one hand and the wheel on the other, which seemed to us that was not very safe.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Margie DL Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

had a lovely time! got to see the inside of 2 castles and the grounds of a palace that included changing of the guards ceremony. the only down side for me was that i did not see the statue of holger the dane at kronborg castle as there was not enough time. inspite of this, i would still highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Geoffrey H Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The tour maximised the sightseeing in the available time If more time was available, I would have liked to see inside Kronborg castle - maybe the tour could start 45 mins earlier

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Kimmy C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

If you could do this tour yourself and in your own time, you'd be better off. This tour covered a lot, but in a short amount of time. We boarded a bus that had audio commentary, and though this provided interesting insights, they were few and far between. Our tour guide did not provide much interesting commentary during the tours of the castles either. Also note there is no stop for lunch, you can only place an order for sandwiches on board the tour, so it may be worthwhile to pack something beforehand. The first castle was Kronborg Hamlet castle which was plain but rich in history. We then had a very brief stop of 15 minutes at Fredensborg Palace, where we managed to see changing of the guards. Frederiksborg was the last castle visit and was a good stand out, but again, the stop was very quick. We only managed to pace the castle and then have a quick peek into the garden. If you have a full day morning till late afternoon or 2 days, you can organise yourself to get to these castles and you may enjoy it more with the additional time. You'll probably be able to pick up more interesting facts from the brochures too.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Erin B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Overall it was good. I was disappointed at how rushed it felt, especially at Kronborg Castle. I found myself running back to the bus and 6 minutes for a whole bus to use the bathroom is definitely rushing it!
I would have potentially taken the train myself had I known how rushed it would feel, but probably wouldn't have been able to cover as much that way.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Douglas K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

We took the regional train to Copenhagen central station and walked to the meeting place for the tour. When we arrived at the designated place though, there was no bus or representatives from the tour company to be seen. We walked back and forth in front of Tivoli and finally I asked someone and he told us it was a half mile back in the direction we had come from. So we walked back and still found nothing. I asked a representative for one of the hop on hop off tours and he gave me excellent instructions for finding our bus. It was of course back in the other direction the half mile that we had just walked. We finally found the bus and soon after the tour started.

The tour would visit three castles, two of which we would take a tour of (the third was just a photo stop). We drove along the coast of Denmark which featured seaside vistas and arrived at Kronborg Castle, which is the setting for Hamlet. It started to rain when we arrived but the tour company had umbrellas for everyone which was handy and appreciated. Kronborg Castle had a medieval feel to it and had wonderful views of the sea. My only comment about this stop is that the tour guide refused to wait when some in our party were using the restroom so we had to run to catch up. Our next stop was at Fredensborg Palace, which is a summer residence for the Danish Royal family. We only stopped here for 15 minutes to take some photos.

We stopped for lunch at an informal café type restaurant which was average but did the trick for satiating our growing hunger. The lunch stop wasn’t until 1:45 pm which I felt was a bit late. After lunch we visited the 17th century Frederiksborg Castle, built in Renaissance style with a touch of Baroque. It is now a national museum containing paintings, tapestries, furniture, porcelain and silver. The castle was huge and hours could have been spent here but our tour was fairly thorough and enjoyable. We arrived back in Copenhagen at 5:30 pm.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Nanie F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

We booked our day trip to the Kronborg Castle using Viator.com. On the day of excursion, we brought our vouchers and followed the instructions /map to the bus meeting point. We were there at 10am (bus was supposed to leave at 10:30am), we waited for twenty minutes and saw no signs of bus so we got worried. We asked the agent of a Hop On and Hop Off bus to discover that Viator.com had been providing bad instructions (apparently it happened to other tourists the day before) and the actual meeting point was 10 minutes away. The agent made few calls to the tour company and finally reached the bus driver...who was nice enough to detour the bus to come pick us up so we won't miss the tour. So on that note, I am not sure if I can trust Viator.com.

The excursion itself was nice. We first visited the Kronborg castle with a guided tour. Then we passed by the Fredensborg Palace (stopped for 15 minutes), and spent more time at the Frederiksborg Castle. We didn't have the time to visit the garden at the Frederiksborg Castle, that was a bummer. Overall, it was a pleasant day trip.

The bus was a double decker and can accommodate 50+ people. We only had 10 on our bus, which made our tour extremely relaxing and flexible. I cannot imagine if the bus were full...

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

rich

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Like the website says, If you love castles. The bus/guide get you there, you're on your own after that. Kronborg Castle and Frederiksborg Castle are great places to visit but I think this can be done with the Copenhagen Card and a little extra walking at no added cost.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message