Slotsholmen is an island in the harbor of Copenhagen. One of the most notable and impressive buildings on it is Christiansborg Slot, a Neo-Baroque palace built on the site of the old castle founded by Absalon, a Danish archbishop and statesman, in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 492 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was great, the best to see Copenhagen fast

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

FREDERIC P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

There are mixed reviews about these bus tours, and also some confusion, as two different companies promote the same concept and their buses look very similar. I went on the 48 tour, and rode every route to get a good overview of the city. I only hopped off twice, at the Little Mermaid and in Christiania. While giving a good overall view of the city, my intent was to get a better sense of areas I wanted to explore further. I found the audio working on all buses, and the information was informative, if not exhaustive. In general, I felt I got a good grasp of the city from riding these buses.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jane D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We love Hop on Hop off buses. The ones in Copenhagen were wonderful and if you use one, you can use almost all of them

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

GAYATHIRI I

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Initially, there was some confusions because there was another company that is red in colour as well. However, if you go to the stop near Radison Royal Hotel, the staff there were very helpful and friendly. An easy tour to just go around the city and other attractions. Worth the money.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rodney H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great of the city and showed us what we needed to see by foot

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

alan488

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour. Only problem was the number of times we had to change buses due to the bus only being a transfer bus from the port to the centre then having to wait 20 minutes for the next bus, and the same waiting time when we had to change buses twice because the driver was having a break.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

William G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Wish it were easier to find the bus stops. Very hard to figure out. If you are trying to find the stop at Tivoli for the first time it is on H. C. Andersen street. I would recommend that you go into the Visitors Center on H. C. Andersen street across the street from Tivioli and ask them to point out the bus stop location to you. We unfortunately wasted a lot of time walking all around Tivoli trying to find the stop until we finally asked at the Visitors Center. Audio sets on the buses worked very well and the stops were convenient. Be aware that there are very many Mermaid Tour buses and very few of the other routes. Also keep in mind that the buses only run until 5:00 which is unfortunate.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Isabell L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tapes did not describe stops efficiently - For instance, what did Black Diamond include? Had to wait a long time for buses, sometimes one-half hour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rina Rani P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

i could not actually manage time on the day i bought ticket for but then i bought tickets again from the bus stands three days latter and took the tour. Should mention that their is such option.
Thanks

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

It began well enough but became frustrating as the downtown core was blocked off due to the visit of a foreign dignitary. We were not able to complete the tours because of traffic jams and closed areas.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Harjinder G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

without the proper signs on the street post, it was extremely hard to find a bus stop. Catching the bus from the shore, piece of cake but from the city, we wasted 2 hours, and it was very hot.that day. Hop -on-off, need a do a better job. we were new in the city, language issue, street signs are difficult to remember. It is like YOU going to CHINA

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

anjbar

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I have been on many of these help on, hop-off tour buses.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Michael s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good guide. Very informative

Doing what: City Tour of Copenhagen

William L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good experience, the hop on hop off tour was wonderful, and we added the boat tour, which is a must. I would recommend

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Fredrick S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a great option to get an overview of the city and the major sights. The buses ran frequently, there were three different routes and we enjoyed the opportunity to sit and see what we wanted to return to. It was easy to get off and get back on, allowing time to see the sights easily. It was too crowded for the bus to stop close to the Little Mermaid, due to the tour buses from the cruise ships in town, but a short walk back afforded the opportunity to get close for pictures. The sound quality was good, but not great, with a variety of languages available.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Hilary D

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Waiting time is too long especially for Christiania and Carlsberg tours. Mermaid tours are plenty but sometimes waiting time is also too long.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

gnolard

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The bus is useful if you only have a day in CPH. It visits most of the places you want to go to but do take it more like a bus tour rather than a hop on off bus because of the frequency. I hop on the first bus at 1000 and by the time I complete the different routes (mermaid + Christian + boat Canal) is about 1400 back to tivoli. So you really do not have much time for anything else.
Go for the boat ride. It and #39;s great and provides a good view of the city.
Some FAQ I did up just for the benefit of those who wants to know a little more.
Q: how many bus companies are there?
A: only two from what I see. Just make sure you know which company you are taking as the company name will be spelled on the bus.
Q: does it matter which company I choose?
A: not really. Both companies provide similar routes and price. I went with CityS******* though.
Q: what and #39;s the frequency?
A: for 3 stops (nearer to the city) is about 30mins while those that are further away is about 1hour.
Q: after I purchase the voucher, can I just hop on any busstop.
A: no. You got to change the voucher for a ticket infront of the hotel listed. There are two booths there. So just go to the one listed on your voucher.
Q: if I purchase the ride without the boat ride, can I still do an add on later?
A: yes. You can do it at the ticket booth infront of the hotel. Just tell the guy you want to add on the boat ride.
Q: do I have to print out the voucher?
A: recommend to print it out as the guy keeps my printed voucher.
Q: are the drivers friendly?
A: frankly, i did not really talk to them. I just hop on n off. Not really a big concern to me.
Q: are the bus audio working?
A: yes. But the ones on the boat are not working too well.
Q: are they any road signs to indicate the stops?
A: Yes. You can notice some erected signboards with the hop on off route on them. These are the stops.

Ok. I think wrote enough. Enjoy your trip to CPH! :)

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Barbara H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

It was great that they gave out headphones so that you could hear the tour in your native language. However, their advertising is misleading: it says that the ticket is good for 24 hours however, during the off season in this case, March, the buses only run 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. which is only 5 hours. And, the frequency is only once per hour so in reality you can only hop off and hop on a couple of times before you are stuck in the middle of nowhere after 3:00. Also, although not within their control, the castles close at 2:00 or 3:00 so we were only able to squeeze one tour in.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tania Barros Brasil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very good tour !!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Elizabeth E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Easy to see all the sights

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Joanne S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

You get to see the main sights but there is confusion over the bus you are meant to be getting, as several companies run the same route and their buses all look the same! There were sometimes long waits for the right bus.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jean S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

We ended not doing this tour as it looked too crowded, people running after the tour guide, not our scene, but I am sure a lot of people enjoyed it.

Doing what: Copenhagen Panoramic City Tour with Tivoli Gardens

mccoral9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the best hop-on hop-off tour I have ever been on. I loved that they would stop and let you get out for 5-10 minutes to get some pictures and then could get right back on without waiting.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

ROGNVALD M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour slightly spoilt by a traffic jam caused by some protest march which locked the traffic in and around the city centre. The commentary on board was really good.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

elenkod

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The best way to see most of the beauties in Copenhagen. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message